Frequent Tokyo traveler, please share affordable food recommendation

ctan84

Oh I see. Thanks for sharing.

But if you did recall in my reply to your question on Kansai recommendations, I don’t follow influencers/blogs/Michelin guides. Neither do I have deep pockets, so I’m happy with just a handful of reservations that are below ¥40,000/pax per meal, spread across a 2-3 weeks’ trip. :LOL:
40k yen / meal to me is deep pockets liao loh. My 3-star Kaiseki experience last year was just under 20k yen / pax nia. Max I ever paid was I think was 25k yen nia for a 20+ course Jap-Italian dinner .

FireEmblem

I booked my flights n hotel 6 mths in advanced so is cheap. Hotel + flight 2 pax 3k for 10 nights. JAL.

And yes will be having omakase at ginza 1 night.

Japan nowadays is not book early is cheap, can be more expensive too as many people think this way so those early, the hotel put higher rates.

When nearly to date of stay and the hotel still did not managed to sell enough rooms, this is when they slash rate.

Go check again when nearer to your stay, you maybe surprise can get similar accomodations at cheaper prices.

I do this frequently, book on agoda first, then nearer to departure, look again, when find cheaper good deal, I cancel the original booking replace with this new one

IAmChiobu12M

The cheapest Omakase I had is around 6500yen (got 10% discount if you go before 5pm). Its a omakase set dinner with all-you-can-eat tuna!

You will first complete your meal that consists of 13-14 items including sushi, starters and soup etc. Then you can order as many tuna sushi/sashimi/handrolls as you want!

But usually after the main meal, I aldy 80% full :D
Please share!!!

IAmChiobu12M

Japan nowadays is not book early is cheap, can be more expensive too as many people think this way so those early, the hotel put higher rates.

When nearly to date of stay and the hotel still did not managed to sell enough rooms, this is when they slash rate.

Go check again when nearer to your stay, you maybe surprise can get similar accomodations at cheaper prices.

I do this frequently, book on agoda first, then nearer to departure, look again, when find cheaper good deal, I cancel the original booking replace with this new one
I found mine. Way more expensive so heng I book earlier. But yes some is cheaper but not what I want.

0bserver

Going there 2 weeks time, all the planning leave it to my friend who went Japan 6x but never explored Tokyo before. She's big spender so not sure if is food there really chop carrot or she just decided to anyhow book.

Gonna be there 11 days, and 4 prebook dinner alone cost me $450sgd PER pax so I wanna make sure rest of the days are cheap and good.

I ask her why all the meals so expensive her excuse is Tokyo is never cheap. But so far this 4 meal she book per pax, each meal per pax already average 150sgd liao. I already buay tahan though I believe is good experience so I thought ok sua just try.

Please share what y'all eat and I want something is for normal budget one. I'm not 20k edmwers lol. Not gonna 11 day eat so expensive all 3 meals.

Never explore Tokyo how to know Tokyo is never cheap???

nasfieldjohn

Going there 2 weeks time, all the planning leave it to my friend who went Japan 6x but never explored Tokyo before. She's big spender so not sure if is food there really chop carrot or she just decided to anyhow book.

Gonna be there 11 days, and 4 prebook dinner alone cost me $450sgd PER pax so I wanna make sure rest of the days are cheap and good.

I ask her why all the meals so expensive her excuse is Tokyo is never cheap. But so far this 4 meal she book per pax, each meal per pax already average 150sgd liao. I already buay tahan though I believe is good experience so I thought ok sua just try.

Please share what y'all eat and I want something is for normal budget one. I'm not 20k edmwers lol. Not gonna 11 day eat so expensive all 3 meals.
Yr fren really makan chiu with high crass dinner
Jipun is safe enough for solo travel lar

TrollAndOgres

If omakase 200 is quite expected but i think just eat once ok le ba.

When i went i juz had all the cheaper food. Combini, fast food etc. I was also pregnant in trimester one hence also had no appetite lol so didn't have any craving for nice food.

lalalalalala

Idm spent a bit to reward myself and enjoy since my last traveling was 6 yrs ago.

But within reasonable range. And is Sakura season take cruise and and watch performance seems quite shiok so ok try once.

Whereas Peter luger only Tokyo have if not is at USA liao. Won't have chance go there anytime soon.

Ok la we went travel 3x before alr. We are very close.
actually if you like sakura i find kyoto has better place to see. the tokyo places usually abit crowded.

alternatively you can take local train to yokohama (~30mins). the harbor area has a small park along the jetty with nice sakura trees. there are people but alot less than all the hype locations in tokyo

over there also got cup noodle museum and chinatown to visit

also forget to mention, if you are buibui you can try this ramen called jiro ramen. the portion is huge, order normal one already very filling. you can google. this ramen shop started a whole trend of this kind of ramen

ctan84

Agoda now also smart liao. Those low prices usually don't have free cancellation one. The prices with free cancellations can be as much as 40% higher siah.

Monstruo^

The cheapest Omakase I had is around 6500yen (got 10% discount if you go before 5pm). Its a omakase set dinner with all-you-can-eat tuna!

You will first complete your meal that consists of 13-14 items including sushi, starters and soup etc. Then you can order as many tuna sushi/sashimi/handrolls as you want!

But usually after the main meal, I aldy 80% full :D
You still rem the name?

FireEmblem

Agoda now also smart liao. Those low prices usually don't have free cancellation one. The prices with free cancellations can be as much as 40% higher siah.

Book first if think price is acceptable loh.

Nearer to departure search again see have better deals or not

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.