Fujitsu Laptop Users Thread

joelau

Hi S7110 users. Where is the built-in microphone ? I can't find it. Tried to turn mic on also cannot hear any sound.

misscwp

joelau said:
Hi S7110 users. Where is the built-in microphone ? I can't find it. Tried to turn mic on also cannot hear any sound.

:s13: :s13: this is tricky.. open your laptop, just above your lcd, in the middle. that's the mic.. try it.. :)

misscwp

viperay said:
did u c the black latch?
behind it is the mic.. its hidden inside.. tricky eh.. :D

:s13: :s13: Yeah, he is right. The black latch, or the black hook. Try turning on the sound recorder and then speak to it..

joelau

I see... so it's hidden, cannot see a usual pin hole. Yeah it's working. Thanks guys.

viperay

Siyu said:
as above.

it worked well on my 3 yr old desktop that has 128 ati radeon 2themax graphics card but cannot run on my 1 month old lappie? why? :s11:

found the answer for u

Heroes Requirement

personally, i will suggest using pc to play those high power, space and ram consuming games eg, Heroes 5, LOTR BFM1&2.
reason being pc is able to support these games as laptop's graphics card for most brands are built in and unable to give the best result as a pc can give.

even using my pc, playing the lotr battlefield for middle-earth 2, my graphics will still get choppy and laggy. another result y i wun use a laptop for intensive gaming.

ask any gamers, they will still choose a pc for gaming.
u can upgrade ur graphics card, processor, sound card etc in a pc but not in a laptop.

u can onli upgrade ram and hdd space in a laptop.

2cents worth.

just a qn for u:
is heroes 5 nice? cos after browsing thru for u, the graphics seem nice & i guess my pc is able to support.. :D
i played heroes 1 ages ago.. quite like it but didnt follow the series as much as i followed the c&c and sanguo games..

Siyu

viperay said:
found the answer for u

Heroes Requirement

personally, i will suggest using pc to play those high power, space and ram consuming games eg, Heroes 5, LOTR BFM1&2.
reason being pc is able to support these games as laptop's graphics card for most brands are built in and unable to give the best result as a pc can give.

even using my pc, playing the lotr battlefield for middle-earth 2, my graphics will still get choppy and laggy. another result y i wun use a laptop for intensive gaming.

ask any gamers, they will still choose a pc for gaming.
u can upgrade ur graphics card, processor, sound card etc in a pc but not in a laptop.

u can onli upgrade ram and hdd space in a laptop.

2cents worth.

just a qn for u:
is heroes 5 nice? cos after browsing thru for u, the graphics seem nice & i guess my pc is able to support.. :D
i played heroes 1 ages ago.. quite like it but didnt follow the series as much as i followed the c&c and sanguo games..

i got a hunch that my integrated graphics card is the reason why i can t play.. sigh.

yup yup quite a big improvement from heroes 3 when it was 2D now much better the graphics.
and u know what, i played c and c and 3 guo too!!! recently the san 11 i played.. wah lao so chim. i used lui bei took 4 cities liao gave up. the micro management taking too much time. hahaha

viperay

Siyu said:
i got a hunch that my integrated graphics card is the reason why i can t play.. sigh.

yup yup quite a big improvement from heroes 3 when it was 2D now much better the graphics.
and u know what, i played c and c and 3 guo too!!! recently the san 11 i played.. wah lao so chim. i used lui bei took 4 cities liao gave up. the micro management taking too much time. hahaha

oh.. yah, its the integrated graphics card.. that's y laptop is not meant for heavy gamers like u and mi :D
the sanguo i playing is sanguo quan yin zhuan.. got series 3 - 6 original.. :s13:
the version 6 graphics quite nice..
maybe i shld go buy the heroes 6 to play liao..
i given up hope on my lotr bfm2.. cos play around an hr +, it lags and become choppy... :s27:

kaiser76

viperay said:
from nus/ntu will be 3yrs parts, labour and accessories. :D
outside onli first yr labour and accessories, 3yr parts.
If i buy from the NUS scheme, must I go back to the Co-op for servicing? Or can i bring direct to Fujitsu Svc Centre? Must bring matriculation card, or any form of student ID?

joelau

Hardware maintenance manuals

It will be good if we can get our hands on hardware maintenance manuals, sometimes very curious to take out the hdd but dunno where to start. I don't think available for download at fujitsu web site.

I remember can download hardware maintenance manuals for Thinkpads, those that show you how to take out each and every component.

viperay

kaiser76 said:
If i buy from the NUS scheme, must I go back to the Co-op for servicing? Or can i bring direct to Fujitsu Svc Centre? Must bring matriculation card, or any form of student ID?

u can choose to go to NUS Co-op / Fujitsu Svc Centre for repair..
i think must bring your invoice and ur student id..

viperay

joelau said:
It will be good if we can get our hands on hardware maintenance manuals, sometimes very curious to take out the hdd but dunno where to start. I don't think available for download at fujitsu web site.

I remember can download hardware maintenance manuals for Thinkpads, those that show you how to take out each and every component.

but those thinkpad manuals are for those out of warranty? as far as i know, u have access to HDD and RAM on most fujitsu laptops. Its at the bottom of the laptop. but if u upgrade either one, fujitsu will not cover the warranty for tt particular hdd / ram that u added or upgraded.

kaiser76

viperay said:
u can choose to go to NUS Co-op / Fujitsu Svc Centre for repair..
i think must bring your invoice and ur student id..
Problem is that I'm thinking of asking my cousin to purchase for me. but he is final yr student in NUS. So after he graduate then how? Warranty also void? He will grad by June07. Means my warranty only 9mths?

joelau

viperay said:
but those thinkpad manuals are for those out of warranty? as far as i know, u have access to HDD and RAM on most fujitsu laptops. Its at the bottom of the laptop. but if u upgrade either one, fujitsu will not cover the warranty for tt particular hdd / ram that u added or upgraded.

Hardware service manuals are available for all Thinkpads, even the latest T60. The manual shows how to take out each and every screw/wire/board/etc.

This type of service manual is like a bible to the end user, should he wish to self service after the warranty lapsed.

Who knows after the 3 yr warranty expired i might have to change the lithium cell on my own, fix in a bigger HDD, etc.

joelau

kaiser76 said:
Problem is that I'm thinking of asking my cousin to purchase for me. but he is final yr student in NUS. So after he graduate then how? Warranty also void? He will grad by June07. Means my warranty only 9mths?

Should be based on invoice lah.. can't expect ppl to study there forever. Somemore it's international warranty. I remeber on the invoice there's a wording to keep the invoice for 3 yrs.

bh0322

I am using S7020 at the moment, I discovered that beneath my keyboard it is actually keeping dust unders those tabs. Is there anyway I can clean the dust by taking the key board tabs out and then clean it?

Or anyone have better ideas on how to maintain that area?

Diavonex

bh0322 said:
I am using S7020 at the moment, I discovered that beneath my keyboard it is actually keeping dust unders those tabs. Is there anyway I can clean the dust by taking the key board tabs out and then clean it?

Or anyone have better ideas on how to maintain that area?

Use a vaccuum cleaner; reduce the suction a little

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.