Fujitsu Laptop Users Thread

viperay

i am having heat problem with my laptop too.

and is battery covered in the warranty?
it became unchargable.

heat problem? call service centre ask lor..
the warranty if i'm not wrong is 3yrs parts, 1st yr labor and accessories..
depending where u buy cos i heard uni students' warranty is different..
beta call service centre and ask lor..
battery is under accessories.. :)

RoMaNtIC

heat problem? call service centre ask lor..
the warranty if i'm not wrong is 3yrs parts, 1st yr labor and accessories..
depending where u buy cos i heard uni students' warranty is different..
beta call service centre and ask lor..
battery is under accessories.. :)

ok..
thanks a lot :)
will call them tomorrow i guess. :)

cheongking888

i just bought model s7211.. any1 using this particular notebook model??

me too, I got it from Comex.

the Vista Home seems not to be able to detect many 'older versioned' hardwares.

might be thinking of downgrading the Microsoft office 2007 to 2003 cos it cannot support my office's outlook as i got problem sending email by "forwarding or replying all".

jimmy_sg

Hi all, i just got s S7211 from comex with 4gb ram upgrade. When my VIsta loads, it only show memory of 3300mhz of ram anyone has idea what went wrong? I comfirm that 4gb of ram was installed.

zachareth

zachareth

i am having heat problem with my laptop too.

and is battery covered in the warranty?
it became unchargable.

Battery covered for 1yr. Heat problem i dun know why cuz mine completely problem free. Maybe the heat problem is related to ur battery and once battery replaced it will go away.

zachareth

The 32-bit editions of Windows XP and Vista do not show the total amount of memory installed. Instead it reports the total amount of memory installed minus the memory allocated to hardware, such as a graphics card, and other hardware resources. This behaviour is normal with the 32-bit editions of Windows XP and Windows Vista, and has no performance impact.

This has been discussed previously.

Not true that 4GB is useless. The last unseen bit of Ram is reserved for hardware. If u use discrete graphics then u wun see peformance improvement but if u use integrated then that reserved Ram is good as the OS will not touch it.

Vtectican

Not true that 4GB is useless. The last unseen bit of Ram is reserved for hardware. If u use discrete graphics then u wun see peformance improvement but if u use integrated then that reserved Ram is good as the OS will not touch it.

Thanks for your post zachareth. Just need to clarify that I never say 4GB is useless. As I have mentioned those "unseen" RAM have been assigned to hardware (which is utilizing). Most or all the Fujitsu Laptop are using integrated graphics card.

zachareth

Thanks for your post zachareth. Just need to clarify that I never say 4GB is useless. As I have mentioned those "unseen" RAM have been assigned to hardware (which is utilizing). Most or all the Fujitsu Laptop are using integrated graphics card.

I apologise Vtectician. I quoted the wrong person. I actually was trying to quote Balzebub who said the RAM was useless.:)

zachareth

umm vista 32bit OS can only see up to approx 3gb of ram, anything above that it can't see. So putting in 4gb is a waste of $$? My sister also bought a S6510 from the PC fair, the upgrading to 4gb is just a marketing/sales gimmick lah. If you want to make full use of the 4gb of ram, upgrade to Vista 64bit lor. This has nothing to do with Fujitsu lah.

Yah this is the guy I was trying to quote.

LonerZm

I not sure if Vista SP1 can solve the 4GB RAM problem... because other notebook with pre-installed SP1 got no problem with recognizing 4GB RAM...

BlackBear

I not sure if Vista SP1 can solve the 4GB RAM problem... because other notebook with pre-installed SP1 got no problem with recognizing 4GB RAM...

Sorry if I got the wrong idea as I've not read down the pages.

Windows Vista 32bit will only read 3gb RAM even before or after SP1 even if you have 4gb installed.

Whereas, Windows Vista 64bit will show 4gb RAM if you've 4gb RAM installed.

The difference is between 32 and 64 bit.

Windows Vista 32bit with 4gb RAM will be useful in the future when Microsoft has resolved the conflict.

BluBlur

Vista32 SP1 will recognize the full 4.00GB in System Properties.

However, the effective memory available to programs is only approximately 3.0 to 3.25GB. You can see the actual figure in Task Manager --> Performance. The rest is reserved for hardware.

It is a limitation of the current hardware architecture, thus there won't be any fix to fully utilise 4.00GB or more of memory in 32 bit operating systems.

BlackBear

However, the effective memory available to programs is only approximately 3.0 to 3.25GB. You can see the actual figure in Task Manager --> Performance. The rest is reserved for hardware.

It is a limitation of the current hardware architecture, thus there won't be any fix to fully utilise 4.00GB or more of memory in 32 bit operating systems.

So in 32bit system 3gb is the maximum for overall? and 1gb for hardware?

LonerZm

but will the allocation of RAM usage to programs vary between 3GB and 4GB?

e.g.

4GB RAM - effective memory available is 3-3.25GB
3GB RAM - effective memory available still 3GB or slightly lower?

RoMaNtIC

Battery covered for 1yr. Heat problem i dun know why cuz mine completely problem free. Maybe the heat problem is related to ur battery and once battery replaced it will go away.

i think the problem is with the fan.
As i have been using AC power till now, and the heat problem still persists.

And, my fan have been generating loud noise during startup.

vaganza318

anyone has problem completing clean os installation before...after forwatted its initializing windows its freeze at 6 mins...when savingsome components...wat could be problem?repeatedly has same prob even hdd change

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.