Do you guys who owned a Galaxy Note 5, does it had the sleeping issue

• Yes, I had the sleeping issue

Votes: 140 77.3%
  • No, I do not encounter at all

Votes: 41 22.7%

• Total voters

gintokichung

Hi guys im one of the users that has the sleep wake issue.. however about a day ago instead of doing a restore to factory settings... i went intk the "clear cache partition" mode to clear the conflicting cache system files of note 5 and it solved my problem.. you guys can google it and try it to see if it works for you guys.

keemmeng

Will this wipe out all the data on the phone ?

Hi guys im one of the users that has the sleep wake issue.. however about a day ago instead of doing a restore to factory settings... i went intk the "clear cache partition" mode to clear the conflicting cache system files of note 5 and it solved my problem.. you guys can google it and try it to see if it works for you guys.

gintokichung

Will this wipe out all the data on the phone ?
No it doesnt.. it only clears system files that are seem useless.. usually after a software update it may come into conflict with such system files which causes lags and freezes.

Gametaku

My Note 5 has the "Wake" problem too. Dont expect ur Note 5 issue to be fixed with just 1 visit to their service center.

Samsung service center very KNN 1 lah. Brought my Tab S down for servicing recently. Random restart about every 10 min but very hard to replicate the issue . Factory reset-ed swee swee for them before bring it down for servicing. The counter CSO asked me hand the Tab S over and return for collection within 1 hr. I asked "how come so fast...dont need do factory reset hor..i already did that." Then he just claimed they were going to do some "special" software reset.

Collected the Tab S 1 hour later. CSO smile smile and told me problem fixed. Checked on spot but wasnt convinced that the prob was fixed. Could not replicate the issue so LL hv to leave. Went home tested and the restart problem was still there. WTF lor.. went back to CSO and he says.. "How come problem not fixed ah? We did a factory reset for u leh..shld be fixed by now". Wah lan eh told u i factory reset liao before coming down. CSO aked me to leave my Tab S there and they will try what they did previously again.. grrrl.

Took a long time convincing them to check my Tab S for hardware issue. In the end, they replaced the motherboard and battery for me. Collected it 1 week later.

Moral of story: Samsung CSO will just ask u reset reset/factory restore ur Note 5. U have to make 2-3 trip down before they will genuinely check ur Note 5 for hardware issue. They will just presume u installed junk app that causes conflict with their device OS. -_-

lxb_70

Wait for more days or week to see the prob come back or not. Some guys here cleared cache after few days sleeping issue again

Sent from the dark side of the moon using GAGT

human_shieldz

My Note 5 has the "Wake" problem too. Dont expect ur Note 5 issue to be fixed with just 1 visit to their service center.

Samsung service center very KNN 1 lah. Brought my Tab S down for servicing recently. Random restart about every 10 min but very hard to replicate the issue . Factory reset-ed swee swee for them before bring it down for servicing. The counter CSO asked me hand the Tab S over and return for collection within 1 hr. I asked "how come so fast...dont need do factory reset hor..i already did that." Then he just claimed they were going to do some "special" software reset.

Collected the Tab S 1 hour later. CSO smile smile and told me problem fixed. Checked on spot but wasnt convinced that the prob was fixed. Could not replicate the issue so LL hv to leave. Went home tested and the restart problem was still there. WTF lor.. went back to CSO and he says.. "How come problem not fixed ah? We did a factory reset for u leh..shld be fixed by now". Wah lan eh told u i factory reset liao before coming down. CSO aked me to leave my Tab S there and they will try what they did previously again.. grrrl.

Took a long time convincing them to check my Tab S for hardware issue. In the end, they replaced the motherboard and battery for me. Collected it 1 week later.

Moral of story: Samsung CSO will just ask u reset reset/factory restore ur Note 5. U have to make 2-3 trip down before they will genuinely check ur Note 5 for hardware issue. They will just presume u installed junk app that causes conflict with their device OS. -_-

To be fair to them, that's all they can do anyway. But what i'm more concern with is how come their hardware so problematic de.

renfred89

To be fair to them, that's all they can do anyway. But what i'm more concern with is how come their hardware so problematic de.

I using note 1 to note 4, also nv visit the servicecentre once.. where got so cui like what you said? Haha. . :D

johncute

I noticed whenever there are notifications on the lock screen, press the home button to unlock the screen, it will lag. Maybe can try disable notifications on the lock screen?

raindance

I uninstalled a whole bunch of Samsung and singtel apps and have not had the sleeping beauty issue since. Fingers crossed!

Alexz_Hong

Just did a factory reset and wipe cache again to see if it would help.

first week occurred almost once everyday. did a wipe and reset and it got better. I only see it once in a while, like once every few days, or sometime don't see it happen for over a week. But definitely still happening once in a while.

After the reset ytd night, this morning kena again. :s13:

will continue to monitor. hahaha.

oz_yuber

I just sold the Note Edge and got a Note 5 on Sunday evening. Pretty fantastic phone I must say.

Deep sleep, kena'd after I did a call and during the call I shut the screen off manually to continue talking on earpiece. Then the phone refused to wake up for quite a long time :(

gintokichung

After 5 days of cache partition wipe... slp issue is backkk. I realised it came back after i switch my phone unlock mode again from finger print to normal swipe unlock.

human_shieldz

Samsung is lucky they have all the newer hardware technology at their disposal, else if they are like HTC and with this kind of skinning, their phone performance would probably be like all the unheard China brands lol.

lxb_70

After 5 days of cache partition wipe... slp issue is backkk. I realised it came back after i switch my phone unlock mode again from finger print to normal swipe unlock.
oh, then clear cache again lor... keep clearing, maybe will help. imho

lockks

So far I used Samsung
Note 2 battery bloated.
Note 3 motherboard died on the last day of warranty. Went to exchange a new one.
Note 4. Battery spoil causes phone keep hanging.
Now I know note 5 got sleeping issue, nah. If they don't settle it, I will buy iPhone 6s.
Samsung just can't get things right.

Lucky I stay put didn't buy note 5 at launch.
hopefully it is not motherboard problem else whole batch of Samsung phones need to be recalled. Samsung sg seems to be keeping mute.
You all should launch a big complain through the press.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.