Garmin Nuvi 1350

Isha1412

Hi everyone,

Was thinking of getting this Garmin GPS from Amazon.Before buying, some questions:

Since it is not a localized set, there is no junction view or lane view right?
Is there a way to convert it like the 205W / 255W / 265W Garmin Nuvi to SG/MY firmware?

When I was on the garmin sg site, there is a new update to 1350 SG/MY
Am i able to use this update on the 1350 US set?

Thanks for your help

redstorm

Hi everyone,

Was thinking of getting this Garmin GPS from Amazon.Before buying, some questions:

Since it is not a localized set, there is no junction view or lane view right?
Is there a way to convert it like the 205W / 255W / 265W Garmin Nuvi to SG/MY firmware?

When I was on the garmin sg site, there is a new update to 1350 SG/MY
Am i able to use this update on the 1350 US set?

Thanks for your help

There is a way to modify your firmware to that of the localised one but there are risk involved. Doing it wrongly will result in your set becoming an expensive paperweight. You warranty will also be affected. Even if you managed to get it done, there is no guarantee that your mod set will perform satisfactorily. I have seen mod set behaving erractically during navigation.

No, you cannot upgrade the localised firmware for your US set. Doing so can also result in an expensive paperweight.

dinosaur2776

yeah,i tried on my 1390 and it got bricked. in the end, hundreds of dollars down the drain.:s8:

if u know how to, do it lor but at ur own risk.

zonester

I bought the Garmin Nuvi 1350 from IT Show today. Just one question: I thought one distinctive feature is the junction/lane view, but as I drive home using this device (I live in the West), I don't see any junction view at all !

Is there a need to configure something? Or are the junction views far and few between?

Tsystem

I bought the Garmin Nuvi 1350 from IT Show today. Just one question: I thought one distinctive feature is the junction/lane view, but as I drive home using this device (I live in the West), I don't see any junction view at all !

Is there a need to configure something? Or are the junction views far and few between?

Hi there, I got mine too from the IT show as well. Juntion/lane view is only available for major junctions.

kao

I have the same device. Rest assures it works. It's help in Expressway and other junctions. I think it works 90% is most junctions..

Basically what it does is to show you to filter left or keep right depending on your destination.

Gcl123

hi all,

would like to check how u all update map in garmin nuvi 1350. i bought at it fair and i found out inside does not contain anything that can connect to pc.
only gt car charger.
so possible to teach me or a brief summary how to update map?
and also how do i type in malaysia address? i would like to find the hotel but unable to. i go POI and keep unable to. hope someone can help me with that too. thanks a lot

my6600

hi all,

would like to check how u all update map in garmin nuvi 1350. i bought at it fair and i found out inside does not contain anything that can connect to pc.
only gt car charger.
so possible to teach me or a brief summary how to update map?
and also how do i type in malaysia address? i would like to find the hotel but unable to. i go POI and keep unable to. hope someone can help me with that too. thanks a lot

only got charger? inside should have come with usb cable.

nicholasL

Bro, any USB cable also can be used for the GPS to poke into the PC..

Just need to find the right hole. :)

Bro, any USB cable also can be used for the GPS to poke into the PC..

Just need to find the right hole. :)

Hi, just to add on, you need a usb B to mini usb (not micro usb) cable. It's those cable for 2.5" portable harddisk. Some cameras and handphones use that wire too. So you probably already have one lying around. if not you can probably get one for a few bucks cheap.

Since we are on the Garmin 1350, I just got it from the show too. my question is how do i use the eco route feature? I need to set the city fuel economy and the highway fuel economy.. where do i get that kinda info? it's not anyway in my car user manual.. i'm driving a nissian teana by the way.. anyone got any suggestions?

And another complain, i think the touch screen sucks, especially when typing addresses. it's unresponsive at times and not accurate.. anyone got the same problem?

ycchee

Since we are on the Garmin 1350, I just got it from the show too. my question is how do i use the eco route feature? I need to set the city fuel economy and the highway fuel economy.. where do i get that kinda info? it's not anyway in my car user manual.. i'm driving a nissian teana by the way.. anyone got any suggestions?

And another complain, i think the touch screen sucks, especially when typing addresses. it's unresponsive at times and not accurate.. anyone got the same problem?

I also bought my 1350 from IT Show and have been using it for about a month. The touch screen is fine. You need to use your fingernail to poke.

Reflow

I bought a Garmin 1350 recently from Challenger for $219 (member) and think that it's probably the best GPS i've ever used. My colleagues thought so too, I've already bought a total of 3 extra sets for them.

I also bought my 1350 from IT Show and have been using it for about a month. The touch screen is fine. You need to use your fingernail to poke.

The only difference that it is a capacitive touchscreen, not the one like iPhone where it reacts to your fingers. Capacitive touchscreens reacts to everything with pressure.

I dont think a USB cable is included for the 1350.....

http://www.garmin.com.sg/products/ontheroad/nuvi1350/
Click In The Box

Comes with a USB to MicroUSB cable and USB to Car charger Port.

PatchAdam

I bought a Garmin 1350 recently from Challenger for $219 (member) and think that it's probably the best GPS i've ever used. My colleagues thought so too, I've already bought a total of 3 extra sets for them.

The only difference that it is a capacitive touchscreen, not the one like iPhone where it reacts to your fingers. Capacitive touchscreens reacts to everything with pressure.

You are wrong, resistive ones are the one which reacts to everything....
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Touchscreen#Resistive

Hmmmm sure did not have this in my set... and the 1350 uses a mini USB not micro... u sure u gt the correct cable?

Reflow

You are wrong, resistive ones are the one which reacts to everything....
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Touchscreen#Resistive

Hmmmm sure did not have this in my set... and the 1350 uses a mini USB not micro... u sure u gt the correct cable?

you're right about the touchscreen but they work fairly similarly. and yeah its the micro. i said wrongly also. i get mixed up with the terms.

sjidaniel

Hi guys, I just bought the 1350 and it works great.

However, I do not know how to use the traffic update functions that come along with it.

Any comments anyone?

Mussad

bought from Challenger got any free gift ? :s11:

tk

Hi guys, I just bought the 1350 and it works great.

However, I do not know how to use the traffic update functions that come along with it.

Any comments anyone?

i dun think 1350 got traffic update lah.. :look:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.