[GE2025] Extensive changes to electoral boundaries due to population shifts; only 5 GRCs, 4 SMCs left intact

NTB2DO

Don't you know that the Strawberries nowadays mostly already have their entire life path paved out ?

Before they were born already got a big fat insurance policy waiting for them.

They will straightaway become millionaire when they turned 21.

In short, you don't have to worry for them. Worry for yourself better.
I understand quite a lot of new graduates are facing problem getting decent jobs...

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...l-time-work-though-more-had-higher-pay-survey
More fresh graduates were unemployed – 12.9 per cent in 2024, up from 10.4 per cent in 2023. This group refers to those who are unemployed and looking for a job or about to start work or business ventures.

More of them were also in part-time or temporary work – 6 per cent, up from 4 per cent in 2023 – or doing freelance work (1.6 per cent, up from 1.5 per cent in 2023). Most graduates in this group were in such roles voluntarily, the survey noted.
So they are actually not better off now than the previous generation..

AuraKUPO

But then back then housing price was also more than 10x cheaper. So they earn more, they need to pay more.

Back to square one.
But now they got so many options to choose. Last time staying in condo is out of my option. Now, they have EC, dbss, condo, resale, bto. And each category comes in different pricing.

So next time will be, at 21yo got 1mil as a starter. Job earn 20k a month. Parents give 2k as pocket money from 12yo to 25yo. Savings should have at least 5mil. Investment roi should be 20% per year.

Tbh, I really don't see a single reason to worry for them.

jericho75

its funny to me that parents cannot think far for their own generation.
or maybe they feel all their kids able to afford 1million hdb each :spin:

i always go telegram bto groups spy on those ppl. now those young ppl already kpkb they cannot afford bto or need extensive loans to afford one. now hit like 450k to 500k for ulu location 4 rm bto. 2012-13 time was 270- 340k only. and salaries do not increase so much.

muji4832

chuakboon

The next step for pap is really open the gate wider Liao. u all the so called original sinker will be gone after ten to twenty years

yobyella

truly the PAP has failed us completely, so why are we still voting for them?? why not be brave for once?? How many 5 years can one have?

This line i already heard thousand times. Buy majority sinkies just dont want oppies. Wats wrong with sinkies?:unsure:

buzzlightyear852

The next step for pap is really open the gate wider Liao. u all the so called original sinker will be gone after ten to twenty years

pap do not want to resolves issues so they just play with numbers now.

they will MASSIVELY import fts to replace all the pioneers

i alrdy foresee a big disaster going to happen to our transport system in the following years

NTB2DO

But now they got so many options to choose. Last time staying in condo is out of my option. Now, they have EC, dbss, condo, resale, bto. And each category comes in different pricing.

So next time will be, at 21yo got 1mil as a starter. Job earn 20k a month. Parents give 2k as pocket money from 12yo to 25yo. Savings should have at least 5mil. Investment roi should be 20% per year.

Tbh, I really don't see a single reason to worry for them.
LOL my time (early '90s when I started working), 5 rm bto was not even $100k.. My starting pay as graduate was close to $2k. Now even if graduates' starting pay has increased by 2.5 time (to $5k), HDB bto price has increased at least 5 times more (to >$500k for 5 rm)!

NTB2DO

This line i already heard thousand times. Buy majority sinkies just dont want oppies. Wats wrong with sinkies?:unsure:
Because quality of opposition parties matters to voters too.

For eg if you are living in HDB estate, MP is in charge of running Town council which in turns manages your estate. While PAP MPs can rely on established estate management companies to assist them, such companies are reluctant to work for opposition party members (remember AHTC saga?). How many would dare to risk having MP who doesn't have the experience and knowhow to manage their estate?

No matter how unhappy we are, self interest still come first. (Nothing wrong with that btw.)

mryang

Pap character assault during GE25

1. Workers' Party (WP) and the Aljunied-Hougang-Punggol East Town Council (AHPETC) Saga:

The PAP has repeatedly brought up the issue of financial mismanagement in WP-run town councils, particularly AHPETC, where they accused the WP of poor financial oversight. The WP had to defend itself against allegations of improper payments and governance failures. This issue was often raised in public debates and parliamentary sessions, with PAP ministers asserting that the WP lacked the experience and ability to govern at a national level.

WP MPs, like Pritam Singh and Sylvia Lim, were targeted by PAP leaders for their roles in the saga. The attacks aimed to discredit the WP as being incapable of managing public funds and undermined their credibility as the leading opposition party.

2. Progress Singapore Party (PSP) and its Founding Members:

The PAP has criticized PSP, especially its founder, Dr. Tan Cheng Bock, who was a former PAP MP before breaking away to form PSP. The PAP has often used his past affiliation with the ruling party against him, questioning his motives for founding a new opposition party and suggesting that he was only interested in regaining power.

PSP members, including former PAP members who joined the party, were also frequently portrayed as opportunistic or disloyal, with PAP leaders questioning their commitment to serving the people rather than seeking personal political gain.

3. Character Assassination of Opposition Leaders:

During debates, PAP leaders have been accused of using personal attacks on opposition leaders to distract from policy discussions. For example, during parliamentary debates, PAP ministers have often brought up past incidents or comments made by opposition MPs and used them as ammunition to cast doubt on their judgment and reliability.

In some cases, PAP ministers have questioned the loyalty of opposition leaders to Singapore, casting them as unpatriotic or out of touch with the needs of the people.

4. The Issue of National Security and Opposition's Role:

PAP has sometimes framed opposition parties as being less committed to national security. In particular, they’ve accused the WP and PSP of being too critical of the government’s handling of security matters or of being weak on defense. This often plays on fears around stability and the country’s safety, questioning whether opposition parties could be trusted in such a crucial area.

These attacks often form part of the PAP’s broader strategy of positioning themselves as the party of experience and competence, while trying to weaken the opposition’s standing in the eyes of voters.

krikering

PAR, RDU, PPP making the most noise now
Aiya, just hope they target the areas that PSP/SDP/WP are contesting ba. Please no multi-corner fights in those areas.

RDU last elections target jurong GRC, etc. all these areas where PSP did not contest due to lack of outreach ( they still new around that time), hope they can stick to it.

The other parties please don't kachiao, elections timing then come up to disturb. Don't pull opposition name down now please.

NTB2DO

Frankly speaking they stand no chance of winning. Only die-hard oppo (~ 30% of all voters) will vote for them.

And should they get into multi-cornered fight, I'm not sure if they can even win enough votes to keep their deposits or not..

pushtopen

their best interests are to :

1. present policies that tackle bread and butter issues rather going off chasing stupid values inherited from the us like anti-woke/dei

because the voter base is only 3m+ strong and is not diverse enough, attracting these fringe votes aren't enough

and there you have GMS chest beating proclaiming his anti LGBT stance like a clown

they need to learn from the best and leave such things in the grey, unless when pressed. even when pressed, obfuscate or complicate so nobody knows your stance but when pressed again clarify you have made your comments and swing either way the flow of the conversation is going

2. minimize drama and only ensure positive spin stories - engaging a pr firm helps or having candidates well versed in pr ****ery

3. stop talking like they're entitled to or own the constituencies, like it's a piece of meat waiting to be carved up

mryang

Actually not puzzling
Many ppl just stay in their comfort zone and don’t want changes.
I have seen enough examples ard me

these are the ppl who will accept whatever sheet pap shoved to them
Really 给人卖了还帮人家数钱...sigh

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.