[GE2025] PAP Discussion Thread

Boiaukin

I believe the PAP will continue to perform well because many Singaporeans tend to express their opinions vocally, but when it comes time to vote, they often support the PAP.

dambio

If you watch drama usually poor people are money hungry and scary, can do anything just to get rich.
prefer middle income salaried worker as candidate.
Aren't those ppl in power now r as u said? 😂

miko66

Very dramatic..

I'm cocksure all of them wanna serve the people wholeheartedly and ready to be servants to sinkies ya

psyger-zero

Imagine if pap candidate says this:

I come from a well to do rich family, my father is a politician, my mother is lawyer
"well,everyone has a car,we have 2 cars,my wife has one,i have one,we are professionals so we need to drive"

Eliwood

Edmw same same but opposite. All 20k pm but kbkp abt $5 cai png lol.

Csb is strong with sinkies haha.

dontwastetime

Edmw same same but opposite. All 20k pm but kbkp abt $5 cai png lol.

Csb is strong with sinkies haha.
Sporean is stupid

Even PAP supporters knows if retrench at 40s 50s, likely no job due to ageism

But still vote pap who not only failed to stop this but made it worse with open leg policy

Why are sporeans so stupid why ?

tanbrave

I believe the PAP will continue to perform well because many Singaporeans tend to express their opinions vocally, but when it comes time to vote, they often support the PAP.

It's ok to support, but not the gst part.How many like to support higher chai png price, lower pay? These are vote getter or loser.But some cannot relate or remember the connection, goldfish brain type.Eventually, they realise, but then too late liao.Some boomer saw the chicken 🐔 wings, forget.Then when they return to collect back the whole chicken back 🐔,panic. Think they need to top up their farm 🤯.

Eliwood

Sporean is stupid

If 40s retrenched , scared no job due to ageism

But still vote pap who not only failed to stop this but made it worse with open leg policy

Why are sporeans so stupid why ?

Maybe the answer isnt that sinkies r stupid then.

Could be only minority faced this situation lol, hence majority are thriving.

tuxguy

Means sinkies support high cost of living

Means sinkies support current manpower policies

Means sinkies endorse and agree and policies addressing declining TFR

Means sinkies support ever raising transport fares with increasing transport companies profits

Means sinkies support asset management policy and like the huatness PAP brings

virtualape

If wp loses its grc/smc, I think at best is around 70-72%. Their last vote share was around 60%. Almost impossible to hit 80%.

If wp maintains, pap vote share will slip abit. Perhaps 57%? But still command the majority.

If other oppos win something, probably 55%

ShinnAsuka

will just ask them one question to answer. "how you feel being parachuted into a grc if you are elected because there is no strong opposition"?

Evcats

The shift in voter sentiment toward Lawrence Wong—even among previously pro-opposition circles—boils down to a mix of strategic rebranding, generational change, and perceived relatability. Here’s why he might pull more votes than LHL did:

1. The "Underdog" Effect (Even Though He’s PAP)

• LHL = Political blue blood (son of LKY, groomed for leadership).
  • LW = Unexpected successor (wasn’t the first-choice DPM, survived a near-miss in 2011 GE).
    Opposition-leaning voters often root for "non-legacy" figures, even within the establishment. LW’s rise feels less entitled and more earned—a narrative that softens anti-PAP sentiment.

2. Relatability: The "Everyman" Illusion

• LHL’s Style: Aristocratic, statesman-like ("I know what’s best").
  • LW’s Style: Awkward-but-likeable ("I’m just trying my best").
    His cringe TikTok dances, unpolished speeches, and "I’m not perfect" vibe make him seem less "wayang" than typical PAP elites. Even critics admit: "At least he doesn’t talk like a textbook."

3. Opposition’s Weak Hand

• Workers’ Party (WP): Stuck between attacking PAP and not looking like sore losers.
  • Other Parties: No credible PM alternative (PSP’s Tan Cheng Bock is 84, SDP’s Chee Soon Juan still polarizing).
    Result? LW benefits from "least-worst option" logic. Protest voters think: "If PAP must win, better him than another elite."

4. Policy Repackaging

LW’s "Forward Singapore" initiative is classic rebranding:

• Same PAP policies, but framed as "listening to you".
  • Small concessions (e.g., tweaks to housing/CPF rules) marketed as "major reforms".
    Opposition can’t easily counter this without looking nitpicky.

5. The "Post-LKY" Dividend

LHL governed under his father’s shadow—every criticism of him felt like criticism of Singapore’s founding. LW has no such baggage. Voters project their hopes onto him: "Maybe he’ll be less authoritarian?" (Spoiler: He won’t, but the perception buys goodwill.)

6. Opposition’s Own Goal

By over-focusing on PAP scandals (Ridout Road, Iswaran) instead of articulating a vision, they’ve let LW define the narrative. His response? "I’m here to fix things"—a blank canvas voters fill with their wishes.

The Catch? It Won’t Last.

LW’s honeymoon will end when:

• He makes unpopular decisions (e.g., another GST hike).
  • The economy stumbles (global recession, job losses).
  • Voters realize "new face" ≠ new policies.
But for now? He’s the Teflon PM—criticism slides off because "he just started mah!" Smart politics, but the real test comes when voters’ patience runs out.

Final Thought:
LW’s secret weapon isn’t charisma—it’s low expectations. After decades of LHL’s polished statesmanship, Singaporeans are disarmed by a leader who feels human. Whether that translates to long-term votes depends on if he can deliver more than just vibes.

Miss.Molly

My point remains the same.
The casino is supposed to relieve the residents of more tax when they were pushing for it to be built initially.
End up it did not really make any major difference.
So if you remove the tax revenues from casinos and other businesses that form part of that ecosystem (assume they were not built), how do you make up the shortfall?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.