[GE2025] PSP Discussion thread

krikering

Its not like SDP avg vote share is above 40%
40% despite extensive gerrymandering + short campaign period is not that bad taking into account the fact they lacked a lot of resources/manpower liao I feel.

They just need to completely renew the party, like what LTK did in 2001 when he took over JBJ.

Difficult thing is WP as a brand name, actually been around for a long time since David Marshall's time whereas PSP only formed 6-7 years ago only.

Even SDP is close to 45 years old and had their hey-days back in 1991.

GundamG

honestly i feel 60% of the voters are not interested in politics and they just dun go media read anything. they just vote for PAP for the sake of voting. no need to engage young people or invest in media becos the west side are more ignorant about politics.

jeffprobst

40% despite extensive gerrymandering + short campaign period is not that bad taking into account the fact they lacked a lot of resources/manpower liao I feel.

They just need to completely renew the party, like what LTK did in 2001 when he took over JBJ.

Difficult thing is WP as a brand name, actually been around for a long time since David Marshall's time whereas PSP only formed 6-7 years ago only.

Even SDP is close to 45 years old and had their hey-days back in 1991.
PSP came in strong during GE2020, full of promise and momentum. But by 2025, something just didn’t click. Gerrymandering definitely played a role, but I suspect the candidate profile also mattered. With many senior figures fielded, younger voters may have struggled to relate. A generational disconnect, perhaps?

Also, let’s be honest, national focus has long been skewed towards the East. The West gets little attention, and I admit that even I was not familiar with the demographic dynamics there. Maybe it’s time for all of us to pay closer attention to how the political landscape is shaped across the island, not just in one direction.

angelichound

honestly i feel 60% of the voters are not interested in politics and they just dun go media read anything. they just vote for PAP for the sake of voting. no need to engage young people or invest in media becos the west side are more ignorant about politics.
that's the advantage u get when ur the default option

charleslee1989

Any proof of that?

Their comms seem to have failed to win over the people.
because I know them personally?

My feedback for PSP are these:

1. Get more younger candidates. Many of PSP's candidates except for Stephanie are above their 50s and 60s. The young are the new generation of swing voters. Put more younger candidates to do more outreach. That is what worked for WP.

2. It is time for PSP to move on from TCB. Not that TCB is bad, I actually like him. But this is to prevent the PSP from being a one-man party and sharing the same fate of SPP (Chiam See Tong's party).

3. As Jurong640 said, PSP's social media game is very weak. They need to hire someone to overhaul their social media and make it more attractive.

yup... all these has been fed upwards...

GundamG

i did ask my female colleagues living there who they vote for. They simply say MIW, they dun even know who is the opp party. they dun go media read politics also, they just watch korean drama and shop at shopee during their free time.

charleslee1989

PSP came in strong during GE2020, full of promise and momentum. But by 2025, something just didn’t click. Gerrymandering definitely played a role, but I suspect the candidate profile also mattered. With many senior figures fielded, younger voters may have struggled to relate. A generational disconnect, perhaps?

Also, let’s be honest, national focus has long been skewed towards the East. The West gets little attention, and I admit that even I was not familiar with the demographic dynamics there. Maybe it’s time for all of us to pay closer attention to how the political landscape is shaped across the island, not just in one direction.
interesting view!

charleslee1989

i did ask my female colleagues living there who they vote for. They simply say MIW, they dun even know who is the opp party. they dun go media read politics also, they just watch korean drama and shop at shopee during their free time.
because their lives is good......once they become working mothers, they will smell the coffee!

kmkimlo

Did a SWOT analysis using ChatGPT:
Chat-GPT-Image-May-5-2025-12-47-00-PM.png

Above is automatically generated by ChatGPT

no.. there is a critical piece missing. They have to also up sell the portion on estate management/town council, amenties upgrading/plan.

IIRC, there is a edmwer who mentioned that his mom almost voted for PSP until she hears that LMW only wanna talk talk talk in parliament. she afraid her lift for overhead bridges will not be build.

Tenpai

Meanwhile North and South voters all waiting for a good opposition party to contest their area. North probably has to contend with SDP & RDU while South has to deal with PAR :ROFLMAO:

oddeye82

I agree with most of the suggestions here.
1) get in more younger candidates (like Stephanie, she got very good exposure in this election) or volunteers
2) focus more on social media and attract younger voters and those who can vote for the 1st time in the next election.
3) time to revamp the team after losing in this election, don’t let people think PSP = TCB or old people party
4) don’t be too extreme, maybe some people don’t like LMW’s kind of politics argument.

Hope the refreshed team can come back stronger in the next election, don’t give up, give us who are staying in the west a choice. Go PSP!

SecretAgent

Main thing is Singaporean as whole not politically savvy.

PAP knows that, monopolize on that and make sure Singaporeans stays ignorance.

They been living inside the shell for all their lives.

They cannot ever fathoms lives without pap.

They don't know what a multi party parliament with diversity creating multi faceted interest channels to all niches, nooks and crannies to the entire society.

Pap of the current generation are pure technocrats hanging on to LKY's vision. He also knows of the dangers of stagnation. Lawrence wong is of a secretary background. He shows signs of potential of breakthroughs but that is STILL yet to be seen. He is still trying hard to engage.

WP also falls down the pitfalls of being typecast as the opposition for opposing sake now. They have becomes pap lite over the years. A bit like the shadow government which is allows by the pap should things failed

A tri-party parliament will totally balance and counteracts each other and equal distribute interest among Singaporeans. An ample representation.

Singaporean don't see that. We will always be living within the box.

I don't oppose for the sake of opposing. I still have friends from PAP too. I agree with them on good policies. I also explained them a multiple party benefits. They understand me. But they can't accept it too. Even if it is really for the good.

Everyone who drop their paper vote in must know this.

SecretAgent

To the pap and supporters, congratulations your party won. Singapore didn't.
You can see it in the looks of LW that he isn't that happy either. Just won that's all.

There's a point in the time during campaigning that can see he's panick.. about Gan kenna cold shoulders and ncm.

Pap lost too. Look at those.. the brightest, goody, perfect gal in the classes.. that one living next door and shouldering old and young... When she says she just can't when asked why she doesn't want to join pap. It is a representation that pap lost. And alot more too.

Lawrence knows this..

And also when old guards willing to stand out because it is the duty to ensure. If things are fine, why even bother?

There won't be any bright futures imho.. it will be filled with fake friendliness just to fulfill kpi and that represents their interest.

We will not be lucky everytime.

IAmChiobu12M

Whoever vote PSP out are all assholes. Lmw 尽心尽力 help us fight for our rights and these are what people did to them??? Shame on these humans.

IAmChiobu12M

1. Get more younger candidates. Many of PSP's candidates except for Stephanie are above their 50s and 60s. The young are the new generation of swing voters. Put more younger candidates to do more outreach. That is what worked for WP.

2. It is time for PSP to move on from TCB. Not that TCB is bad, I actually like him. But this is to prevent the PSP from being a one-man party and sharing the same fate of SPP (Chiam See Tong's party).

3. As Jurong640 said, PSP's social media game is very weak. They need to hire someone to overhaul their social media and make it more attractive.
This i agree. People around me dk anything about politics and just say pap ftw knn. For me is caz I read edmw everyday. At first when I started in hwz I thought why everyone here so bitter that was 10 years back. Then I slowly realised the cold hard truth and agree with many things said here which is why 5 years ago I started an account. But when I bring such topics out real life all will shoot me lol.

Audio8

No more funding from LHY, that's why PSP so weak.

RedOrion

They need to find new generals.... need people who can talk and walk the talk as well.

that independent candidate Jeremy can talk...but whether both sides can align their views... another question...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.