493119723_1244952910536803_2450668192685662857_n.jpg

493942179_1244952920536802_3247779326378430816_n.jpg

494141134_1244952923870135_5838054072383793423_n.jpg

494130534_1244952993870128_4406989403139693426_n.jpg

Tan Suee Chieh FB Post:

Introduction to the Open Letter to Mr Gan Kim Yong

As Singapore approaches General Election 2025, it is timely to reflect on leadership, governance, and public trust.

This open letter to Mr. Gan Kim Yong — Deputy Prime Minister, Chairman of the Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS), and former Chairman of the Singapore Labour Foundation (SLF) — is the fourth I have written to him over the past eight months.

The first three letters, written between August and September 2024, raised serious concerns about the proposed sale of Income Insurance to Allianz. Despite the significance of the issues raised, I received no responses.

Today, Mr. Gan is not only Chair of MAS but also seeking election as the lead candidate of the PAP team in Punggol GRC. In this new role, transparency and engagement with citizens are not optional — they are essential.

Mr Gan’s position in the Allianz-Income episode was pivotal. As MAS Chair, he oversaw regulatory aspects of the deal. As former SLF Chair — during the period when critical capital injections into Income were made to protect its social mission — he was directly involved in shaping the strategic foundations that were later put at risk.

Given his deep institutional knowledge, Mr Gan is uniquely placed to explain how these events unfolded — and why they departed so sharply from earlier undertakings.

The collapse of the deal after public outcry revealed more than a flawed transaction. It exposed deeper issues: fragmented oversight, shifting narratives, and a failure to uphold past assurances to the public.

While engagement last year was limited, this election offers Mr. Gan an opportunity:

To explain openly to account honestly, and to help rebuild trust in the processes that rebuild trust in the processes that safeguard Singapore’s cooperative and public institutions.

In raising these questions, I do not assume Mr Gan lacks perspective or good intentions.

But citizens deserve — and must demand — full and candid explanations when public trust has been put at risk.

It is in this spirit that I have written the accompanying open letter, and I invite Mr. Gan, and all Singaporeans, to engage with it thoughtfully and seriously.

PAP4ever

is it wrong to say.. i rather gamble my chances than to know i will lose all my games with the current house?

Greygrey

I do agree with WP on all the topics(cost of living, jobs, affordable hdb, etc) highlighted during their rally and my family initially supported them as well.

However, the inclusion of Palestine in their manifesto indicates that they're crossing the boundary between religion and politics. Singapore should just be a neutral country. We can send all the humanitarian logistics and assistance, but we shouldn't deal with the nonsense of getting involved and recognizing Palestine as a state
This has been covered many times. It is not the Palestine issue per se but about MOE directives on this issue.

dgeralds

Mr. Tan Suee Chieh. You are a true Singaporean. Thank you for letting Singaporeans know that you tried your best but it fell on deaf ears.

I SALUTE YOU MR. TAN SUEE CHIEH FOR STANDING UP FOR SINGAPOREANS!
You were a resident before and then became a citizen. You were naturally a PAP supporter. Yet you stood for truth and exposed PAP's reckless behaviour. You are now a true Singaporean.

I SALUTE YOU AGAIN. THANK YOU MR. TAN SUEE CHIEH.

jimmy

Respectfully this is the open model that government should work. Quite unfortunately as it seems, it wasn’t and decisions were decided internally and the deck of explanations were then developed to support the decisions.

Mancunian2

Pls lah, where is the potential PM who stood for GE at east coast last election?

Gan is going to be another one, he will not be DPM after GE
pap never position GKY as PM-designate
in fact, they hinted he is going to retire sooner rather than later

Greygrey

We will never have a fair level playing field in any competition whether it is election or singing as i said earlier. no 50-50 maybe 48-52 etc

If a singer is talent and can attract the crowds , he will eventually win it one day. Dao Lang 刀郎 story is a good example.

Similar here , in an area where EBRC crave out , That does not bother the guys in 1959 because they indent to contest all seats for all Singaporean.
EBRC purpose for craving out is to maintain the ratio of resident to MP at a consistent level. Every 5 years new voters come in old voters gone etc...

If you are only able to contest in certain areas , then u will find it a BIG disadvantage.
If you are contesting in all areas, then u will not find it as a BIG disadvantage.

The truth is WP agenda is to provide an alternative voice rather than lead Singapore. That is a problem on its own.
Don't jump the gun. There is no alternative voice now.... what more about leading...... people are desperate to find their voice admist the incumbent rhetoric that they are the best and nobody need to come disturb..... don't welcome 'strangers" dun need competition for their ranks etc.....

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.