[GE2025] SDP Discussion Thread

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

BradenHeat

I just feel singaporeans have been too protected im the past and are thus not hungry enough anymore, thats why. We have to keep competing on global stage to survive. We are a open trade country and you cannot expect us to close off like china or malaysia if needed. They have resources.

the higher income richer boomers who huat , are protected. Not all for the rest of us.

Again no one is saying closing to trade, stopdoing strawman and red-herring to prove yourpoints.

Keep it at birth rates

Even with PR converts, from china and unfortunately India.... why is it still dropping ?

The simple answer is the cost of living, and folks like myself, cannot bear the burdern of having kids and even struggle to maintain housing loans

But that being said, of cos still got foreigners who only hire their own. Already got control measures but need more lah.

stop those white collar packages in MNC you see from banking and Tech sector, you will see how many slots open up.

Folks need to realize, the birth rate decline is part of the bad policy implemented before my batch , the single child policy.

Coupled with the pre-bto huat boomers, and the current 10 year series of immigrants ,

who can undercut our salaries, zero commitments to National Security and service....

IF you're a slightly under middle income family, would you you think the monthly fees for just 1 kid and the future is strong ?

the elites dont give a rats arse if we survive or not, because thats how they learned from the selfish boomer gen : we're used to that golden age huat era, therefore we are entitled.....

thus you see all the useless policies and politicians

Laneige

Are we having election or lecturing or educating session again
Why is it always us
Why must have foods as insect

Oh wait .. csj???? Then must be saying must see whose coming is it
Election so need to say such things also?

pspandwp

You go look at our birth rate first.

IB, listen to this truth

BUILDING smaller and smaller HDB at higher at higher prices are NOT conducive for procreation

IB, don't twist this fact

NOBODY is saying aliens FTs PRs are no good but the message is TOO many aliens FTs PRs are certainly no good

IB, don't conflagrate with the stupid statement that 3m+ aliens PRs FTs are ok

WHEN local born for 60 years is never more than 3m, having 3m+ aliens FTs PRs for 100% certainty is a very big sociological mistake

BTW NSF and NSR have no meaning when less than 3m local born are already infested with 3m+ aliens FTs PRs

the conclusion is white policies cause the low TFR and this is the truth

lalalalalala

pretty sure the initial idea of foreigners is to upskill and skill transfer to locals.

but imo pappy didn't control this and it led to importing foreigners because of cheaper wage and the situation now where sinkies are shunned because we need higher wage due to the higher cost of living in sg

imo this mainly started after they signed the ntuc link point agreement with the banword country

Sango123

On the quantity or quality part... i actually thought we need more blue collar workers to fill jobs that no Singaporeans want to do. We do not need more quality workers who is coming here to fill PMET jobs.

dolpma

MODERATORS/ TS- kindly must edit " this thread title"=misleading/deceptive with atrocious grammar.

CSJ didn't believe "Sgp need foreigners to survive".
CSJ had QUOTED OTHERS who said this phrase, which he disagrees with & clarifies.

Edit to

CSJ quoted others who said “Singapore need foreigners to survive" & he disagrees/clarifies.

consigliere

Using birth rate as an excuse thus they can influx more FT/FW even when locals have difficulty securing job back home

They are not here to create jobs and opportunities but rather to snatch jobs and opportunities from the locals

Hence resulting to high inflation and high living cost
if there’s not enough foreigners here would those high paying tech companies setup businesses here? Local just not interested in shift work, 24x7 standby kind of work.

BradenHeat

They are starting to. You got go japan recently?
Another red-herring.....

Japanese has always been silent- anti gaijin, who looks different in color, but they wont ostrish them entirely or treat them as sub-human,... just not that favaourable for certain higher earning.

my wife's cousin, birth 2 kids, and both are viet kieus....govt took care of them, but they're still over worked in their respective fields.....

my point is, as the pyrimid base flips [ the higher older gens are at the top, the tip of the triangle who are the younger gen, are now at the base or the bottom ]

its simple math.

its not countries need FT or more population.

but rather each countries need better cushion and commitment for the couples, to own a house, a safety net of 10 years for the kids' medical and schooling.

those 2 arent even met for most, under combined 8k, how to pay off loans and emergencies ?

theres still the couples' parents [ 2 side, 4 in total boomer and oldies ] = more mouths to feed...

do you get math ????

yesman2978

Tell me which country have no aging population and no low birth rate?

Infact SG is not the only country with low birth rate and Aging population

Do you see other country with Aging population and low birth rates keeping using this slogan and keep bringing in foreigners?

SG is just a small dot in the world map, do we really need so many FT/FW here?

Resulting to overcrowded everywhere we went be it malls and transport is packed and cramp, to the extent of jobs are going to FT/FW rather than locals
Talent surplus countries. A lot of countries are still multiplying like rabbits

Especially those countries where the main religion encourage having children and don't allow contraceptives

BradenHeat

if there’s not enough foreigners here would those high paying tech companies setup businesses here? Local just not interested in shift work, 24x7 standby kind of work.

shift work and 24/ 7 ,how many of them actually stayed long term ? in singapore ...?

i can assure you its the same burn out rate , and hence mNC moved to global run by the sun type of shift, each country supporting department on standby for the other side of the world.....

its not that people aren interested, but theres only so much a physical human body can do......

theres no need to say [ local not interested] , then you think those grab or PHV drivers who are degree holders or masters or ex-managers like to drive ??????

focus1974

I just feel singaporeans have been too protected im the past and are thus not hungry enough anymore, thats why. We have to keep competing on global stage to survive. We are a open trade country and you cannot expect us to close off like china or malaysia if needed. They have resources.
Think of policies like your shower tap , it can be turn from slow trickle to full shower , from cold to hot.
Understand this difference. Nobody rejects foreigners and PRs, but we certainly need to let them know their place in society. Quite amusing to have PRs for more than 5 years and not take up citizenships. Don't let people exploit your PR previlege like that. (this one is another issue.)

Now.. the statement here for you to digest.

Policies should be using foreigners and PRs to COMPLEMENT the shortfall in singaporeans workforce.

I just feel singaporeans have been too protected im the past and are thus not hungry enough anymore, thats why. We have to keep competing on global stage to survive.
China and US and Europe actively protects their jobs from foreign workforce as well.
Their locals are too well protected and not hungry anymore?

khratit

Then we got to build HDB blocks 50 storeys high with each unit area 50m2 or less like HK.
That's the reality

Older blocks must get ready for en bloc and so called upgrade "top up"

2.4 million 5 rm bto is coming

daveteo88

Largi best, is run away, from local sinkie gals , or divorcees even after their 3rd marriage.
Those who got some standard got AMDK and rich sinkie chase. But those who got no standard type need help to find husband. We need to give more birth and stop taking so many new citizens.

dolpma

Lots @#$%^ arguing Sgp really nids foreigners. Crux: which types of foreigners?

Part1) VERY LOW-WAGE: need less-skilled foreigners for low-wage jobs shunned by locals- agree.
Part2) MID-INCOME: need foreigners who COMPETE with locals for jobs- disagree.
Part3) HIGH EXPERTISE: need foreigners whose SPECIALIST EXPERTISE are lacking in locals-agree.

Are most/all our foreigners in Part1) & Part3) only? Or many foreigners in Part2 above?

articland05

After 60 years of ruling whom the gahmen we have voted keep emphasising Singapore need foreigners to survive

It was mention in CNA

is this the party you looking for?
this is true....sadly
too bad we nv piak hard enough :frown:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.