General S-REITs Discussion Thread

thretiredDad

Too many local investors make the mistake thinking that dividend investing equals REIT investing and got burned.

There are so many other good dividend stocks on SGX that are not REITs. Some I am currently vested in are:

DBS/OCBC/UOB
Comfort Delgro
Sembcorp
St Engr
Capland Invest
etc

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...chit-chat-thread-part-2.5285485/post-99399354

My post from Jan 2016. He reduced his concentration on REITs long ago.....
Yes luckily he diversified away from purely REITs and trust, so that he can still gpgt his latest return in Edmw in thread talking about stock investing

limster

Yes luckily he diversified away from purely REITs and trust, so that he can still gpgt his latest return in Edmw in thread talking about stock investing
I don't think its luck. I think he was prepared to review his portfolio and realised that S&P500/tech was outperforming his portfolio, and he was prepared to admit his portfolio could be improved and shift direction a bit to diversify. Congratulations to him.

congrats its a good return. My plan is to buy more world ETFs next year and do less stock picking!

I'm reading the various local bloggers reporting their 2021 returns... seems that most of them underperformed the standard world index as well. Maybe blogging is bad for your returns if it causes you to trade too often in order to post portfolio updates....
I had a similar realisation end 2021 that if I'm not beating MSCI World and S&P500, then maybe I should start investing more in them. Better late than never, and it seems to have worked out!

On the other hand, there are some social media figures that continue to hold on to their fixed belief that US market going to crash, TSLA to $30, and BABA to the moon. Maybe because they publicly state their position in social media and feel they will lose face if they admit they are wrong? Where my money is at stake, I got no problem admitting my mistakes and making changes for the better. :cool:

elvintay07

Sooner or later, I see Singapore become 小中国. Not because China invaded us. It will be become the China and the US companies will whack out all the kachang puteh SG companies

Like the Haidilao, Huawei, MAC, Starbucks, BYD, Xiang Xiang, Tesla, Apple, etc…The small kacang puteh companies will 100% kana wiped out. You can see those simi Tan Chong Motors blah blah game over.

Personally I think Singapore system is rigged. Government sector earns a lot, the mnc earns a lot. The middle income and the usual group likely suffer.

elvintay07

Can you share which system is not rigged?
I think our civil service number is far more than China, US where they have more big enterprises. So SG will never get hit if we continue to be a great country. A lot of government or government affiliated entities will do the heavy lifting.

limster

I think our civil service number is far more than China, US where they have more big enterprises. So SG will never get hit if we continue to be a great country. A lot of government or government affiliated entities will do the heavy lifting.

So China and US are examples of systems that are not rigged? :ROFLMAO:

limster

even though US pre-market is red, FLCT hit $1.05 today. maybe US market down increases likelihood of more rate cuts....

I have finally broken even with FLCT (excl dividends) after keeping calm and collecting dividends over the last few years.

:ROFLMAO:

demoforce1

even though US pre-market is red, FLCT hit $1.05 today. maybe US market down increases likelihood of more rate cuts....

I have finally broken even with FLCT (excl dividends) after keeping calm and collecting dividends over the last few years.

:ROFLMAO:
congrats bro

limster

FLCT steady at $1.03 today.

The most interesting is Capitaland 9CI and CICT C38U. I have been adding a bit of both the last few weeks but price has shot up since then.

There are rumours of merger/consolidation with Mapletree, maybe some people have got more info than others.....

9CI $3.02 today. Rumours getting stronger? 🤔

elvintay07

Got struggling meh? I think waiting for more news of either increase in DPU or drop in interest rates. Today Suntec went up because increase in DPU.
I think almost all at fair value already except sampan reits. If Keppel DC reit can drop further, then very shiok. FCT suddenly becomes cheap because they think JB will kill Singapore and we only shop from JB from now on

weng0202

I think almost all at fair value already except sampan reits. If Keppel DC reit can drop further, then very shiok. FCT suddenly becomes cheap because they think JB will kill Singapore and we only shop from JB from now on
CICT holding strong and mapletree panasia on the rise as well. All is good so far.

elvintay07

All reits gone case? What are you talking about?
Suntec, Starhill, Lendlease and many more at 52wk high
Paiseh bro. I don’t hold this kind of sampan reits except for Suntec. But don’t really like the sponsor so will be selling. Haha.

Yes, they are 52 weeks historical high but still cui from their pre covid valuation. This is what I am referring

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.