Genting FAQ - Part 3

desmond007

Plan 2-3mths ahead...u so last minute of course no room available.

With the opening of outdoor theme park...
non peak also crowded.

vaxvms

What is the private cab rate to Chin Swee Temple one-way (i doubt there is two-way).
Intend to have vegetarian meal there in my next visit (Sun 21 to Tue 23 August).

I wish to skip cable car + snake 12x escalators to reach the temple.
normally old arcade exit near richdad have some taxi drivers resting

u can try ur luck there

eugenelite

oh btw, for the folks who don't know yet...the price of the durian at genting shot up liao.

previously was 75/kg...now it's 90/kg for MSW :mad:

beast78

Alrdy mentioned many times liao, they hv manpower crunch at the moment.
Trying to understand the manpower crunch here...

So does that mean that the hotel is not operating at 100% capacity due to the manpower crunch? Which is leading to less rooms being available and hence the reason why hotels are fully booked even during non peak season?

Any insights as to why the manpower crunch? Low wages, long hours? Too far away from home?

Smarty2

So does that mean that the hotel is not operating at 100% capacity due to the manpower crunch? Which is leading to less rooms being available and hence the reason why hotels are fully booked even during non peak season?

Any insights as to why the manpower crunch? Low wages, long hours? Too far away from home?
If u r hoping more nights and better hotel rooms available, will need to wait much longer - the current state of their manpower crunch there, it doesn't matter whether it's peak or low season the pre COVID good times in terms of more nights + better hotels (ie. Resorts, Highlands, G.Grand, Crockford) will not return that soon.

https://www.rwgenting.com/en/hot-deals/FWHpackage.html☝️☝️
The reason why they just introduced this Standard MYB room option tells u all their current manpower situation.

kenong1980

Total room 7000+
Opened rooms only 5000+

vaxvms

oh btw, for the folks who don't know yet...the price of the durian at genting shot up liao.

previously was 75/kg...now it's 90/kg for MSW :mad:
let them earn lah...............mountain top and mid mountain px no same leh

mountain leg also diff

KL /PJ /Cj cheaper

beast78

Total room 7000+
Opened rooms only 5000+
Actually I don't really understand the manpower crunch.

Other businesses with low revenue need to cut cost, OK can understand.

But casino rakes in millions every day. Why cannot afford to hire more people and open up more rooms for potential customers who will spend money. Definitely the spending from the increased tourists would cover the additional manpower costs many times over.

ghregular

so lucky can recovered lost vehicle.......maybe uncle Lim put pressure on police

to me genting highland is safest place in MY ..........so still safest for nowwwwwwwwwwww
ya impt is feeling safe.
sometimes i went back fr sky avenue casino to maxims then my wife later walked back herself at 3am didnt feel afraid at all. but i m not sure abt outside. still i wont drive to genting its tiring.

beast78

ya impt is feeling safe.
sometimes i went back fr sky avenue casino to maxims then my wife later walked back herself at 3am didnt feel afraid at all. but i m not sure abt outside. still i wont drive to genting its tiring.
Wah I won't dare to leave my wife alone like that.
Low crime doesn't mean no crime.

Smarty2

Actually I don't really understand the manpower crunch.

Other businesses with low revenue need to cut cost, OK can understand.

But casino rakes in millions every day. Why cannot afford to hire more people and open up more rooms for potential customers who will spend money. Definitely the spending from the increased tourists would cover the additional manpower costs many times over.
1st: bcuz when COVID hit plus neverending lockdowns-after-lockdowns fr 03/2020 - end-2021, they retrenched whole bunch of all hotel workers (ie. housekeeping, frontdesk, etc...) especially fr FWH. It will take a long while to hire/ rehire/training/retraining back suitable workers especially for a 7K room capacity hotel like FWH.

2nd: Malaysia service sector especially hotel industry heavily dependent on outsourced blue-collar foreign workers like fr Bangladesh, Indonesia, Myanmar etc...need to go thru lots of red-tapes fr gomen there in order to get foreign workers fr those countries - the way gomen depts/ministry run there is also publicly well-known.

The same manpower issues bogging down their casino operations too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.