[GLGT] ‘Many of my colleagues who rage quit are now struggling’: Netizens advise Redditor against quitting

sAVaGEmP5

Yes indeed, thats why ppl like me they know they can squeeze and being targetted all the time obviously.. U think they dare to overload someone who is irresponsible or someone they cannot control and end up getting backfired?

But yes quitting without another job is not the smartest thing to do..
U still dun get it, thinking u are very responsible.

U owner of the firm, how many shares or in % u own?

Really kum gong. N want to give u suggestions to improve, but nvm watch u suffer more shiok.

blues7

I tell you no ex colleagues will tell you to go back one....
long long ago maybe

nowadays, no

nobody is indispensable

learnt this at work, an ex-colleague in middle management loved to use this as his catch phrase

he thought his position was iron-bowl

who had the last laugh?

company kena downsized, and bought over

he took side with what appeared to be stronger team

end up, they didn't get the company, he was kicked out once new owner took over

wonder how he felt about being indispensable

i left way before that

hahahhahh

PrinceY

U still dun get it, thinking u are very responsible.

U owner of the firm, how many shares or in % u own?

Really kum gong. N want to give u suggestions to improve, but nvm watch u suffer more shiok.
Im not blaming anyone for what i did, yes im kum gong.. I already said its not the smartest things to do what.. u can say me low EQ.. The thing is some weak/good ppl like me, u can easily spot one.. No matter how strong we act, one can tell from a glance what type of person we are one and when we are powerless ppl will just step all over us one..

And thats what the employer leverages on such employees and can squeeze until their balls turn blue n me dont even dare to let out a fart.. dont say those with debts/loans and family or commitments.. the most they can do is tahan and find another better job like what many suggested..

U think speaking up is so easy? Some never donate child charity booklet also scared their child tio marked, the NCM educator saga, mind u the room all are educators also all diam diam until NCM is down and vulunerable then dig out a decade ago stuff and say him.. why all these ppl dont report him back then and ask for apology but rather hold until a decade later then say?

So in ur opinion, i should go threaten or prove that im indispensable and fight back the useless manager then consider a win?? but the thing is no one is indispensable and clearly im in no position to do that..

Edit: Before i quit of course i also hope for a change, like giving feedback to the manager and see if things get better.. but some things just dont change and u can tell how half hearted the reply/actions is which dishearten me even further.. always telling me hard to get replacement etc and nitpicking even when im perfectly ok with that candidate, but other vacancy no problems filling up asap.. and is not one company, can say most of my company always act like that one, cause they know they can walk all over me.. and its not something i can change.. u tell me purposely miss deadlines play punk play toxic, i will probably worried to death first than letting that happening even.. few times i see whatsapp/teams notification on weekend and off i go to work again even though i tell myself to only work during working hours and i have all the right to ignore or act blur, but i just couldnt do that..

marshalTan93

Rage quit..... Rest 1 mth....find job within that month.

Now perm serpent wif 2x last pay.

See how you network & who you know.

Visor9999

Don't believe in reddit or EDMW la

You see: people say vote for opposition. In the end, many still living in abundance and voted for pap.

That’s nothing to do with pap. Abundance is due to strong sgd which means MAS job

GenXYZ

As a ex-rage quitter myself, is would advise against rage quitting in current economy especially those with a lot of responsibilities
but if everyday feel like dying when going to work then quit bah for mental sake…
this is why i always advise younger guys to live a c heap lifestyle. don't be silly buy car and condo you cannot afford. build massive reserves, not hard to do if you're in STEM. so that when the time comes, you dont have to choose between mental health and starving. take a break, look for new jobs and come back feeling recharge. No pressure during downtime.

paycheck comes: keep some liquid in bank account, then dca into btc, voo and other index funds.

SimpleToo

this is why i always advise younger guys to live a c heap lifestyle. don't be silly buy car and condo you cannot afford. build massive reserves, not hard to do if you're in STEM. so that when the time comes, you dont have to choose between mental health and starving. take a break, look for new jobs and come back feeling recharge. No pressure during downtime.

paycheck comes: keep some liquid in bank account, then dca into btc, voo and other index funds.
Yea agree with you… I often tell people to have some savings, personally I seen a lot of people who spent every single drop of their money and getting themself trapped on the job despite dissatisfaction…

saving for assets is essential to oneself to get out of sticky situation

ceestudent

Before quit must make sure papa mama can support you lah. No support from parent, better tahan bah.

StoicGuy

If you intend to leave then just do your current job professionally without any emotion.

No emotion = no anger = no rage

Then take time to find a new job, slowly.

The problem with rage quit is that you will accept any job which may not be ideal and potentially toxic out of desperation.

Then you are stuck in a vicious cycle..

Kiwi8

Actually in principle the analogy that it is easier to find another job while being in a job is true.

But then again sometimes some people really needed to leave a toxic environment.

jeffprobst

job market very brutal now. so if can lun, just lun. but if affecting you mentally, then just walk away. it not worth it.

jeffprobst

Actually in principle the analogy that it is easier to find another job while being in a job is true.

But then again sometimes some people really needed to leave a toxic environment.
Many recruiters and hiring managers do unfairly associate being unemployed with being less desirable, even though someone might have left a toxic or unsustainable role which, in reality, shows strength, self-awareness, and integrity. But unfortunately, the hiring system often rewards optics more than context.

And yes, when you're perceived as "in demand" (e.g., currently employed), you're often taken more seriously. It's a frustrating dynamic, but one that exists.

Kiwi8

Many recruiters and hiring managers do unfairly associate being unemployed with being less desirable, even though someone might have left a toxic or unsustainable role which, in reality, shows strength, self-awareness, and integrity. But unfortunately, the hiring system often rewards optics more than context.

And yes, when you're perceived as "in demand" (e.g., currently employed), you're often taken more seriously. It's a frustrating dynamic, but one that exists.
Yah lor, just like it is easier for a man to find another woman if he already has a wife or girlfriend cos it signals to other women that this man had undergone QC from a fellow woman so can trust him more. :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.