[GLGT] ‘Many of my colleagues who rage quit are now struggling’: Netizens advise Redditor against quitting

cimihuh

Not only I quit without a job, I paid to leave immediately.

In my 1st week I was already OT, including the weekends. By the 3rd week, 2 days worked 24 hours without any sleep and those bosses still mercilessly criticized my works.

Not sure it was due to sleep deprivation or blood pressure was too high, my brain was unable to function normally by the end of 3rd week. Even simple tasks like bathing became an issue. I knew it was time to give up. I didn't earn a single cent there.

Thankfully my good health returns. Current salary is 10% lower. An lah. A sound mind is more important to me.

ninja99

In my 1st week I was already OT, including the weekends. By the 3rd week, 2 days worked 24 hours without any sleep and those bosses still mercilessly criticized my works.

Not sure it was due to sleep deprivation or blood pressure was too high, my brain was unable to function normally by the end of 3rd week. Even simple tasks like bathing became an issue. I knew it was time to give up. I didn't earn a single cent there.

Thankfully my good health returns. Current salary is 10% lower. An lah. A sound mind is more important to me.
Super toxic, how was the interview like when you apply for this job ?

GenXYZ

"Paid to leave" sounds like a red-flag if the contract you sign has those terms and conditions. No one should ever have to pay to leave. Especially after one week. That's what the probation period is for. Both you and the company will evaluate each other. If you do have to serve a short notice period (usually 1 week),they can't make you do stuff which you don't want to do like overtime.

spyder81

Find a job before quitting.
However, if the environment is too toxic and affecting your mental health, please leave asap.
No one will pity you if you become a 'martyr' and sacrifice for the company. Most people only look out for themselves and their own interest.
That’s correct way. Have done this before as environment became very toxic. Does not matter if find job first or not, mental health very important. Quit then take time to look sure will have if you have experience working in your sector before, just compensation have to expect may not get back same as you rebuild.

Rage quit, You get back your mood, your eating habits, weight etc.

So those who really cannot tahan, leave first. There’s a forest out there.

miko66

Sinkies quit now, jobs go to ....

Just hang on for survival sake

cimihuh

"Paid to leave" sounds like a red-flag if the contract you sign has those terms and conditions. No one should ever have to pay to leave. Especially after one week. That's what the probation period is for. Both you and the company will evaluate each other. If you do have to serve a short notice period (usually 1 week),they can't make you do stuff which you don't want to do like overtime.
You are correct. During probation, the notice period is usually 1~2 weeks but not this company.

It was a red flat. Lesson learnt.

ninja99

You are correct. During probation, the notice period is usually 1~2 weeks but not this company.

It was a red flat. Lesson learnt.
I tot you won’t even want to serve notice then paid to leave. Your literally paid to leave super red flags 🚩

sAVaGEmP5

Im not blaming anyone for what i did, yes im kum gong.. I already said its not the smartest things to do what.. u can say me low EQ.. The thing is some weak/good ppl like me, u can easily spot one.. No matter how strong we act, one can tell from a glance what type of person we are one and when we are powerless ppl will just step all over us one..

And thats what the employer leverages on such employees and can squeeze until their balls turn blue n me dont even dare to let out a fart.. dont say those with debts/loans and family or commitments.. the most they can do is tahan and find another better job like what many suggested..

U think speaking up is so easy? Some never donate child charity booklet also scared their child tio marked, the NCM educator saga, mind u the room all are educators also all diam diam until NCM is down and vulunerable then dig out a decade ago stuff and say him.. why all these ppl dont report him back then and ask for apology but rather hold until a decade later then say?

So in ur opinion, i should go threaten or prove that im indispensable and fight back the useless manager then consider a win?? but the thing is no one is indispensable and clearly im in no position to do that..

Edit: Before i quit of course i also hope for a change, like giving feedback to the manager and see if things get better.. but some things just dont change and u can tell how half hearted the reply/actions is which dishearten me even further.. always telling me hard to get replacement etc and nitpicking even when im perfectly ok with that candidate, but other vacancy no problems filling up asap.. and is not one company, can say most of my company always act like that one, cause they know they can walk all over me.. and its not something i can change.. u tell me purposely miss deadlines play punk play toxic, i will probably worried to death first than letting that happening even.. few times i see whatsapp/teams notification on weekend and off i go to work again even though i tell myself to only work during working hours and i have all the right to ignore or act blur, but i just couldnt do that..

Wot. I just need 1 thing from u. Learn to protect urself pls cos nobody will be there to help u.

Good luck

standarture

A lot of people never blame themselves one. Beh kan is behkan. The hardest thing to do is to recognise you are a lousy employee or not suited.

elevate

I also only know how to ragequit.

If no rage, won't need to quit lol

Hyruga

Actually being broke also have advantages. At least body is healthy and more slim. If you are too rich, you may eat too much.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.