Google Nexus 7 Thread - Part 2

caramon

got my portenzo hardback case. shipping + cost is barely 40sgd :)
hardback_nexus_feature__82531.1346076004.425.265.jpg

How to do you get it for this price?? Ship direct or to forwarder?

SkyFlux

I know im going to get flamed for this.

And the user experience nuances. Android just don't cut it.

Well I actually prefer Android's UI, the app drawer make things more neat, and widgets makes the homescreen look a lot cooler.

iOS's UI just feels very.. Outdated, too simple and boring. It's like, almost zero customization.

Unless you jailbreak it of course, but that is an entirely different subject.

Gribber

Well I actually prefer Android's UI, the app drawer make things more neat, and widgets makes the homescreen look a lot cooler.

iOS's UI just feels very.. Outdated, too simple and boring. It's like, almost zero customization.

Unless you jailbreak it of course, but that is an entirely different subject.

even jb also got limitations. i got so fed up with it before going to android.

once i go to android, i never look back.

those who say they can't get used to Android = no learning adaptability (prefer to stick to what they already know)

Gribber

I do agree on what you say about the apps part, however, the experience is still crap. For IOS, things just "work". Very minimal funny apps hang, sluggish, sudden crash, reboot syndrom.
Plus most apps work well with each other. For Android, some apps just do not get along. Also Android apps seem more like separate modules as compared to ios apps which feels more united. And don't get me started on the crappy Android eco system.

Nexus 7 is supposed to be the flagship Android device, but to me it is very dissappointing.

Give me a toyota altis that can bring me to wherever I want than a ferarri that always breaks down.

there is a reason why google is climbing and apple is stagnant. Why not reflect on your experiences again and determine are you the one having issues?

Everyday i see plenty of issues on Apple thread but there is still people saying Apple got ZERO issues really set me thinking which is which.

honestly, if someone gives you a ferrari that always break down chances are...
i bet you will still take the ferrari (based on SG price for 1) - lets face it.

no offense hope i don't get flame as well.

royfrosty

How much can iPhone 3 to 5 be any difference other than Hardware specs?

Notification centre, Multi tasking panels since froyo till JB. iOS only from 4 til 6.

Tethering. I still remember when nexus 1 supports tethering while ios doesnt allow. After the next upgrades ios allows tethering.

App drawers organize a lot more better.

Ringtone till date iOS cannot set. Must cut and ownself make.

Sharing ability to various apps. iOS limited

iPhone 5 battery is insanely underpowered.

Lastly, iPhone 5 cannot support 2600Mhz for LTE.

I wonder how does all this makes iOS users a good phone experience?

kEvinErd

Sian my 2week old nexus 7 3G kena sore throat already..

Those who sent their sets in for servicing of the speakers, does the speaker problem re-surface after awhile again?

Anybody experiencing cracking sound from the speaker?
I can send it back for repair/replacement rite?

kEvinErd

I do agree on what you say about the apps part, however, the experience is still crap. For IOS, things just "work". Very minimal funny apps hang, sluggish, sudden crash, reboot syndrom.
Plus most apps work well with each other. For Android, some apps just do not get along. Also Android apps seem more like separate modules as compared to ios apps which feels more united. And don't get me started on the crappy Android eco system.

Nexus 7 is supposed to be the flagship Android device, but to me it is very dissappointing.

Give me a toyota altis that can bring me to wherever I want than a ferarri that always breaks down.

You probably won't be convinced by what android users have to say.

How about hearing the view of an ex-iphone user?
An iPhone Lover

And I guess for most android users, they're never satisfied with things that "just work" as dictated by Apple. They want more, they want customizability and the option to tweak many many stuff that makes their device truly personal and uniquely theirs.

Nonetheless, its just a device. No need to be so worked up. Just use whichever that floats your boat.

kEvinErd

Hahah, gonna give a call tmr to check if imma get a replacement. Cos the rim of my N7 got cut real deep, hahah.

I'll be sending my set in for servicing too tmr.. Just curious if this speaker issue will resurface again so soon.

Gribber

How much can iPhone 3 to 5 be any difference other than Hardware specs?

Notification centre, Multi tasking panels since froyo till JB. iOS only from 4 til 6.

Tethering. I still remember when nexus 1 supports tethering while ios doesnt allow. After the next upgrades ios allows tethering.

App drawers organize a lot more better.

Ringtone till date iOS cannot set. Must cut and ownself make.

Sharing ability to various apps. iOS limited

iPhone 5 battery is insanely underpowered.

Lastly, iPhone 5 cannot support 2600Mhz for LTE.

I wonder how does all this makes iOS users a good phone experience?

wrong.

to AppleFAN - those that you mentioned above are introduced by Apple first.

Gribber

You probably won't be convinced by what android users have to say.

How about hearing the view of an ex-iphone user?
An iPhone Lover

And I guess for most android users, they're never satisfied with things that "just work" as dictated by Apple. They want more, they want customizability and the option to tweak many many stuff that makes their device truly personal and uniquely theirs.

Nonetheless, its just a device. No need to be so worked up. Just use whichever that floats your boat.

i was once a... iPhone user as well.

I jailbreak the moment i got the set (coz i couldn't take it with it being a smartphone yet restrictive)... what do you think? :s13:

but still it doesn't expand enough :(

kEvinErd

wrong.

to AppleFAN - those that you mentioned above are introduced by Apple first.

Huh don't quite get you.. You're saying apple had notification centre first? Oh ya you're right.. Google only had/has a status bar.. Apple created their "notification centre" first...

SlimShadee

even jb also got limitations. i got so fed up with it before going to android.

once i go to android, i never look back.

those who say they can't get used to Android = no learning adaptability (prefer to stick to what they already know)

And those that get fed up with ios = no learning capability

Pot calling the kettle black eh?

SlimShadee

there is a reason why google is climbing and apple is stagnant. Why not reflect on your experiences again and determine are you the one having issues?

Everyday i see plenty of issues on Apple thread but there is still people saying Apple got ZERO issues really set me thinking which is which.

honestly, if someone gives you a ferrari that always break down chances are...
i bet you will still take the ferrari (based on SG price for 1) - lets face it.

no offense hope i don't get flame as well.

There's also plenty of threads on Android issues mah, but there is still people saying it's because they have no learning adaptability.

If someone gives me a ferrari that always breaks down, I will take it, sell it, and use the cash to get a more reliable car. Makes me wonder if the ferrari is chiong one or not. LOL

kennyboy

ya lah, that's what im emphasising. But people get very defensive when they dun accept other opinions.
It's for the same reason people don't go iOS forums talk about how crappy it is and still expecting others to agree with with them. The road runs both ways. :D

What were you expecting? Huge fanfare? It's more like coming across a huge black pit, and then jumping in thoughtlessly in anticipation of gold.
Nope, you'll either die with broken limbs or end up in real brown "gold". :D

Gribber

And those that get fed up with ios = no learning capability

Pot calling the kettle black eh?

huh? there is nothing to learn there. what is there pot calling the kettle black?

ya lah, that's what im emphasising. But people get very defensive when they dun accept other opinions.

what are you showing now then?

There's also plenty of threads on Android issues mah, but there is still people saying it's because they have no learning adaptability.

If someone gives me a ferrari that always breaks down, I will take it, sell it, and use the cash to get a more reliable car. Makes me wonder if the ferrari is chiong one or not. LOL

exactly, the prob is you will still take it so spare me your holy ....

if you can't take it, stick to your apple thread la. Otherwise why call kettle black when you yourself is getting all ga-ga. seriously.

It's for the same reason people don't go iOS forums talk about how crappy it is and still expecting others to agree with with them. The road runs both ways. :D

What were you expecting? Huge fanfare? It's more like coming across a huge black pit, and then jumping in thoughtlessly in anticipation of gold.
Nope, you'll either die with broken limbs or end up in real brown "gold". :D

piece of advice: if you are gonna compare, do it in apple thread. You are likely to get more votes that way.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.