Google Nexus 7 Thread - Part 2

LegendZenify

Haywire as in? I find this N7 is a disaster. Starting use like quite shiok but without 1 to 2 months of use the lag problem come in already. Charging issue also.

1-2 months? This device has been out for 2years+.
Are you referring to 1stgen or 2ndgen?

And where did you get it from?
Note that the cheaply priced 1st gen Nexus 7 on gmarket (sold by Expansys) are actually refurbished sets, though they did not mention it anywhere in the listing.
My sis bought a set from there (she thot it was new), first day got problem alr, screen cnt turn on... Sent for RMA...

On the other hand, my set still going strong after 2 years, except for charging port problem.
I actually use it more often than my Ipad Air 2 lol

x3dnd3x

1-2 months? This device has been out for 2years+.
Are you referring to 1stgen or 2ndgen?

And where did you get it from?
Note that the cheaply priced 1st gen Nexus 7 on gmarket (sold by Expansys) are actually refurbished sets, though they did not mention it anywhere in the listing.
My sis bought a set from there (she thot it was new), first day got problem alr, screen cnt turn on... Sent for RMA...

On the other hand, my set still going strong after 2 years, except for charging port problem.
I actually use it more often than my Ipad Air 2 lol

Then how do you charge? Pogo? :s11:

LegendZenify

Then how do you charge? Pogo? :s11:

Charge overnight lor.
Doesn't matter that much to me since I have 3 tablets, one run out of batt just charge it and use another :s12:
When rotate back to Nexus 7, it'll be full batt again (usually charged for 12-16hrs)

x3dnd3x

Charge overnight lor.
Doesn't matter that much to me since I have 3 tablets, one run out of batt just charge it and use another :s12:
When rotate back to Nexus 7, it'll be full batt again (usually charged for 12-16hrs)

My N7 don't know the charging how because its with my girlfriend. My N7 2013 also with girlfriend. :s13:

I'm wanting to get a dock for both but it really ain't cheap though. :(

kazuki666

This thread is about nexus 7 2012 version, right? Anyone upgraded to 5.0.2??? OMG, it's hell. My N7 is now so retarded lag that it keeps hanging when I load browser like Google chrome. ..
Can someone advise me how do I downgrade to the previous firmware without resetting the data?

human_shieldz

This thread is about nexus 7 2012 version, right? Anyone upgraded to 5.0.2??? OMG, it's hell. My N7 is now so retarded lag that it keeps hanging when I load browser like Google chrome. ..
Can someone advise me how do I downgrade to the previous firmware without resetting the data?

Did you do a factory reset or clear the cache?

x3dnd3x

I doubt its possible unless your backup restore point is in your last version.

Try factory reset and wipe cache and see whether it still lags. I'm still on 4.4.4 so nothing much to advice about. Might wanna wait till the people here who are actually on that FW to advice.

sgmem88

have upgraded 5.0.2 for few days, so far so good.
only notice different in bottom 3 soft buttons and settings gui

neither factory reset nor wipe cache :)

x3dnd3x

So far like no one really commented on 5.0.2, does that mean majority of people here using the 3G set?

I believe this thread hasn't been active for quite a while as compared to all the other newer tablets out there.

x3dnd3x

Ahhh. Maybe most people have moved on from N7 2012 :p

I seldom use the N7 anymore honestly. But I'm looking for a pogo dock for the longest time. A reasonably priced one.

Formatted to f2fs and felt it performed way faster.

human_shieldz

I seldom use the N7 anymore honestly. But I'm looking for a pogo dock for the longest time. A reasonably priced one.

Formatted to f2fs and felt it performed way faster.

Mine lag, it's annoying. To the point that i dun wanna buy ASUS stuff anymore hah. I use it mainly for watching movies and play some games like clash of clan and Sim city, it can't handle other stuff, especially productivity ****. I guess i'll skip Nexus device until a more decent one come out. So far seem like only Samsung make use of the space in tablet well with their ROM.

x3dnd3x

Mine lag, it's annoying. To the point that i dun wanna buy ASUS stuff anymore hah. I use it mainly for watching movies and play some games like clash of clan and Sim city, it can't handle other stuff, especially productivity ****. I guess i'll skip Nexus device until a more decent one come out. So far seem like only Samsung make use of the space in tablet well with their ROM.

I wouldn't expect the 2012 models to be as fast though. Try formatting is to f2fs and see whether it works well for you? :s11:

x3dnd3x

Is there a good tut somewhere? Does it change anything other than performance?

Everything would be in f2fs. It is basically just the file system and to me its faster but mine is in 4.4.4. I have no idea whether its the same as 5.0.2(method of formatting it). I think you better carefully read this thread before proceeding. The downside, next time your ROMs have to be in ALL-f2fs mode and not EXT4 anymore but changing back to EXT4 is easy.

[RECOVERY][All-F2FS] TWRP-2.7.0.0 with All-F2FS support [11/03/14] - Post #1 - XDA Forums

Mine is still in 4.4.4 and I haven't updated so its as easy as this video below.

human_shieldz

Everything would be in f2fs. It is basically just the file system and to me its faster but mine is in 4.4.4. I have no idea whether its the same as 5.0.2(method of formatting it). I think you better carefully read this thread before proceeding. The downside, next time your ROMs have to be in ALL-f2fs mode and not EXT4 anymore but changing back to EXT4 is easy.

[RECOVERY][All-F2FS] TWRP-2.7.0.0 with All-F2FS support [11/03/14] - Post #1 - XDA Forums

Mine is still in 4.4.4 and I haven't updated so its as easy as this video below.

Ok i'll mark this down. I'm not sure if i wanna do it now since i read that have to remove everything, something which i dun wish to do it now. I'll wait for lollipop 1st (which is like taking forever) then decide later if things still lag. Thanks though!!!

x3dnd3x

Ok i'll mark this down. I'm not sure if i wanna do it now since i read that have to remove everything, something which i dun wish to do it now. I'll wait for lollipop 1st (which is like taking forever) then decide later if things still lag. Thanks though!!!

Also take note of yours whether its grouper or talipia. :)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.