Google Nexus 7 Thread - Part 2

human_shieldz

I believe you're on stock ROM right? :s11:

Yup. Actually i would say not only battery life. Everything is laggy. My screen time out when i'm in a game, then when i turn it on, lag until i cannot unlock, so turn on, screen freeze touch here touch there nothing happen, go into standby again. 10mins le, still like that. Lollipop on N7 2012 is a disaster.

x3dnd3x

Yup. Actually i would say not only battery life. Everything is laggy. My screen time out when i'm in a game, then when i turn it on, lag until i cannot unlock, so turn on, screen freeze touch here touch there nothing happen, go into standby again. 10mins le, still like that. Lollipop on N7 2012 is a disaster.

Why not try installing custom ROM? Since more or less I would like to say your N7 also no more warranty.

buzzmario

hi, i am new to this new ROM and root stuffs, I have the 1st generation Nexus 7, any way i can make it like a LG G2 interface/ OS? if need to root, any link ? thks

ayeong

I would say nope. Battery life is like 30-40% worse now.

Ya lor! Battery life worse and the tablet get hotter than Kitkat. Also apps like Facebook and Dolphin browser become laggier sia :(

Regretted going to Loliipop. Anyway, to go back to Kitkat ?

x1243x

Ya lor! Battery life worse and the tablet get hotter than Kitkat. Also apps like Facebook and Dolphin browser become laggier sia :(

Regretted going to Loliipop. Anyway, to go back to Kitkat ?

should be able to downgrade right?

x3dnd3x

Ok today I finally cannot take it and I reset. Completely different device sia. I figure when it's filled again it will lag. So it's not lollipop, it's the damm Asus Tablet. I blame them :p

Since reset liao, might as well install custom ROM. The thing is with its limitations in its hardware side, we can't really expect much lar honestly.

ayeong

Why wouldn't you prefer custom rom instead if your warranty is long ago over? Bloatwares and etc all taken away will definitely help with speed.

Any custom ROM to recommend for Nexus 7 (2012) 3G model ?

And should I not like the custom ROM, anyway to revert back ?

x3dnd3x

Any custom ROM to recommend for Nexus 7 (2012) 3G model ?

And should I not like the custom ROM, anyway to revert back ?

I don't have 3G model. Mine's wifi though. Wait till those with 3G models to recommend.

Just flash another rom or flash back the stock rom to revert.

human_shieldz

Why wouldn't you prefer custom rom instead if your warranty is long ago over? Bloatwares and etc all taken away will definitely help with speed.

Stock Android where got bloatware. I use all Google services lol. Cos i dun wanna brick my tablet now and last time custom rom always have these and that not working, it's really annoying. Now so far Lollipop runs fantastic after i reset. Everything fast and nice and battery life is not too bad.

x3dnd3x

Stock Android where got bloatware. I use all Google services lol. Cos i dun wanna brick my tablet now and last time custom rom always have these and that not working, it's really annoying. Now so far Lollipop runs fantastic after i reset. Everything fast and nice and battery life is not too bad.

My bad. I meant the stock applications that came with you OS. Since you don't wanna switch to custom rom, maybe you might wanna root it then you're able to delete stock applications that you don't want/need.

I tried LP on my brother's N5/6, seems to run pretty well but for N7 2012, I would choose to stay on KK.

human_shieldz

My bad. I meant the stock applications that came with you OS. Since you don't wanna switch to custom rom, maybe you might wanna root it then you're able to delete stock applications that you don't want/need.

I tried LP on my brother's N5/6, seems to run pretty well but for N7 2012, I would choose to stay on KK.

Haha mei you la, i use basically everything on the stock android. That's why i find don't need to root.

After i reset, seriously lollipop is better than Kitkat from what i remember when i had a fresh KK Nexus 7. Overall better i mean, KK still have slightly better battery life. My next tablet, likely won't be Nexus anymore, rather disappointed in the quality of ASUS made tablet. If i'm going for a 10" one, it has to be Samsung cos they seem to be the only one that make their own software suitable for big screen.

x3dnd3x

Haha mei you la, i use basically everything on the stock android. That's why i find don't need to root.

After i reset, seriously lollipop is better than Kitkat from what i remember when i had a fresh KK Nexus 7. Overall better i mean, KK still have slightly better battery life. My next tablet, likely won't be Nexus anymore, rather disappointed in the quality of ASUS made tablet. If i'm going for a 10" one, it has to be Samsung cos they seem to be the only one that make their own software suitable for big screen.

Samsung is well known for the screen quality. I don't really use a tablet at home but I might get a Tab S or Pro to be at home. Intend to hoot some smart items.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.