[GPGT] Chiangmai 8 days trip throwback

randyap

This is my favourite cafe in chiangmai. Was browsing through the menu and recognise that the 老板娘 was actually sitting behind us. Approach her to chit chat and take pictures, she shared with us their cafe history, how it started etc.......after we finished our meal she gave us a free strawberry tart. Very sweet of her. She requested mask on because of regulations, she is pretty without the mask.

ksapple

Food trip ah??

Chang mai weather how i tinking there or danang

spinning_quirK

Last time I was here, really took day trip van ride to Doi Inthanon. It was nice and cold up there and the temp drop was dramatic for the last 200 m of ascent.

Also went to cat cafe, live shooting range.

Even before COVID the place was great for chillin'.

fallen1

The beautiful thing about chiangmai is the airport is only 3km away. No jams here unlike Bangkok and i've never heard anybody horning throughout my trip. Chiangmai drivers are very patient, to the extend they will just wait behind for you to finish your walk in a one way street, even if you don't know they are behind u.

This time round, i'm staying at ICON park hotel. My pics are really not well taken and i don't take picture of everything including my hotel room. So expect non ejaculation sometimes when browsing my photos. I've got a free upgrade for my hotel room this time. Booked this hotel for the whole trip as a base, if i need to stay at other places i'll book again.

Hotel Lobby. As you can see opposite of the hotel there is a pub operating till 1am and there are alot of young beautiful girls every night working there. Its a waste that they can't speak english. Paiseh for the NPNT, i don't really like to take pictures of ladies without their permission. Moi promise later will have abit of picture where they took with me.

view from my windows 5th floor

This is meant to be a chill trip for relaxing after 2 years never travel. Chiangmai is a very easy place, the attractions are all around this 1 by 1 mile square. So no stress to plan anything, just eat sleep relax and go with the flow. If you want to go further to popular attractions like Doi Suthep, Doi Inathron, Sticky waterfalls etc . . just book a tour with klook or your hotel. Not recommended to go to popular places by public transport. I'll share why later on . . .

There is 4 gates north south east west to the 1 by 1 mile square grid. This is how it looks like. This is the Southern gate if i remembered correctly. U can buy food to feed the pigeons here... i didn't do it. . .in sg feeding pigeon is illegal :ROFLMAO:

First meal of the day. KFC beside my hotel. :ROFLMAO: Please don't laugh at me, i'm just too hungry . . . however to my pleasant surprise, the KFC standard here is tip top and only half the price of SG, i actually ordered a one piece chicken everyday because it is damn good especially with the exclusive thai sweet sauce.

The pub actually allows you to bring in the KFC and drink their beer and listen to their live band and enjoy the view of many xmm with different costume every night.
Never go try the wing zabb?
Its number 1 item in thai kfc
Wont regret if you like spicy

randyap

Last time I was here, really took day trip van ride to Doi Inthanon. It was nice and cold up there and the temp drop was dramatic for the last 200 m of ascent.

Also went to cat cafe, live shooting range.

Even before COVID the place was great for chillin'.
Since your brought up Doi Inathron i will continue from here. Doi Inathron is the highest point of thailand, along the way there is the twin pagoda built for the king and queen, and watchiran waterfall. I actually booked a tour with the hotel for 2400 for Doi inathron with my bro, next morning the driver come pick us up at 7am.

Before he drive, i clarify with him the itenary first to make sure it is the same as what the hotel reception told us. I'm glad i did so, the driver told me he is no 导游 and will drive only plus the price don't include entry tickets, totally different from what the reception told us. Sibei dulan, straight away we got off the car. Then i did what almost turned to a disaster, and the disaster turned out to be the best part of my trip.

We took a yellow cab to the foot of the mountain. Then from there, took another yellow cab up the mountain. This part is no joke, the driver expect us to hang on to the back of the bus for the one hour journey as the bus was full. lol. Hang like this . . . . .

Halfway up, a lorry in front carrying cabbages toppled. Hence there was a break to rest.

Enjoy the scenary, cool temperature as the yellow cab goes up-hill. Got scolded by family when showing them this, for doing such dangerous stunt. If fall down is like fall on sand paper. Not to worry much, the bus was going appro. 40kph. not fast.

Alighted here at the entrance of the national park and bought the tickets. To our dismay, there is no public transport available and walking is not possible to the highest point of thailand. We are basically stuck here with no way up and down. :eek: That is why u need to join a tour or drive yourself

Long story short: The guards there help us ask every car which passed by if there are willing to bring us up. Happened that a retired couple, local, is willing to drive us up till the highest point but that's all. However, we chatted and got easy with each other. They offered to bring us to the highest point, twin pagoda, watchiran waterfall, local safari which is partially opened and back to our hotel. :)
(guy in 60s and women in 40s). lets name the guy "K".

Not only that, they offered to next day bring us to Doi Suthep temple, local hot spring, K's favourite restaunt at a dam and then to his house for dinner where his wife would cook for us. Really blessed to have met them. Else i still don't know how to go down the mountain.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.