(GPGT)Espresso machine hoot

derazor

Wah... I placed the coffee in proper condition after 4 days, the flowrate is fast( 3s come out liao ) and it taste a tad bitter.

So have to make it finer and finer as days go by?

Qingrong

Wah... I placed the coffee in proper condition after 4 days, the flowrate is fast( 3s come out liao ) and it taste a tad bitter.

i think you need to "dial in" the grinder to make the taste slightly better as the freshness drops. but again, there is as much as you can "dial in"

all these based on what i understand. =:p

Lazy_Tiger

i think you need to "dial in" the grinder to make the taste slightly better as the freshness drops. but again, there is as much as you can "dial in"

all these based on what i understand. =:p

the flow could be runny because the beans are stale or need to purge the old grounds. Runny could be less co2 in the bean so not as thick and "creamy" as last time.

But yes you can compensate for the runny flow as the beans gets older by dialling in finer. but i think it will affect the extraction and taste.

chikyblink

Kind to share your proper condition method?

Klee_nex

Haha better than Illy calling their coffee training classes a university right? Got master degree some more hor! Give our local industry a chance to mature lah, there were hardly any speciality coffee 15 years ago when I started this hobby.

Sharing our knowledge and having productive discussion is way more useful than being ultra secretive and uppity about it especially when its about a simple discussion on a coffee oil foam called crema lah. This isn't about some ultra sensitive secret defence pact between China and DPRK.

Anyway i'm not affiliated with the industry here. Just a consumer and hobbyist. :s22:

Yup Yup, agree with you. I'm working part time as a barista at a koffeehouse btw. One thing i learnt along the way (not coffee related at all) is that we shouldn't put ourselves in a position of authority, especially when speciality coffee is still a relatively niche market in Singapore. Keep an open mind and you'll continue to learn something new, even from people who just started out and learning about coffee.

Anyway, just to share a few tips on milk steaming, with reference to a previous post about steaming. I found out that even after frothing, it is advisable to submerge the steam tip and keep it as close to the surface as possible while texturing (careful not to introduce any more air at this stage!). This will ensure that your milk comes out SILKY SMOOTH, to the extent it shines under a light source. Look at the milk stains on the steam wand after you've steamed, it'll be indicative of how deep you've submerge your wand. Ideally the stain mark should go a tad higher than the "line" (most steam tips are removable there's a "line" at where it can be removed). Try it out and share your results!

Lazy_Tiger

Anyway, just to share a few tips on milk steaming, with reference to a previous post about steaming. I found out that even after frothing, it is advisable to submerge the steam tip and keep it as close to the surface as possible while texturing (careful not to introduce any more air at this stage!). This will ensure that your milk comes out SILKY SMOOTH, to the extent it shines under a light source. Look at the milk stains on the steam wand after you've steamed, it'll be indicative of how deep you've submerge your wand. Ideally the stain mark should go a tad higher than the "line" (most steam tips are removable there's a "line" at where it can be removed). Try it out and share your results!

Thanks for the tip! My milk steaming skill is sketchy at best. More of a straight espresso drinker. And trying to practice milk texturing is quite a waste of good milk! Will try it out. :)

sayang_pillow

Mine...

ena9_330x250_black_large.jpg

derazor

Kind to share your proper condition method?

I split into 2 the Frills Coffee Vault. Maybe about 10days after roast. I dial in about 1.5 revolutions of the grinder but it's runny.

Anyway now the balance is at most 1 or 2 more shots.

Normally what is your experience based on staleness vs ability to pull good shots. Best to use it till how many days? What day can throw liao? Is it correct up to certain , can't dial in no more?

Qingrong

I split into 2 the Frills Coffee Vault. Maybe about 10days after roast. I dial in about 1.5 revolutions of the grinder but it's runny.

Normally what is your experience based on staleness vs ability to pull good shots. Best to use it till how many days? What day can throw liao? Is it correct up to certain , can't dial in no more?

have you consider getting an airscape coffee container? i'm waiting to get one from here:
ffM67jP.png

chikyblink

Thanks for the tip! My milk steaming skill is sketchy at best. More of a straight espresso drinker. And trying to practice milk texturing is quite a waste of good milk! Will try it out. :)

Another tip.
Quickly introduce air for the first few seconds, then swirl your milk for as long as possible. I find the longer I swirl, the better texture I get. The key to good textured milk lies in the swirl. Of coz stop when it gets too hot to touch. Also when swirling, try to hold the pitcher very still.
Wet paint every time.

IntelFlash

have you consider getting an airscape coffee container? i'm waiting to get one from here:
ffM67jP.png
Hiya, what's the point?

Air tight means it keeps fresh air from coming in, the oxygen stuck in there is still killing the coffee.

chikyblink

Last few shots when it gets too runny, I usually just upped my dose rather than grind finer. If that still doesn't work, I brewed the rest of the beans on my aeropress. At least it's still drinkable.

Right now I'm currently trying tiger's method, which is keep the beans in the ziplock bag that it comes with, the air pressed out, and keep the bag in my vacu vin vacuum storage container.

Akai Ryu

Cool. I should have tried to be one even as a temp job while studying or before committing to career. Now no chance already.

Back then was fun when only 2 stores in sg...and all the drink calling and flairing our wax pencils, mugs, ice cubes and portafilters..and getting that right shots......now jus need to be robotic and press that button.

Lazy_Tiger

I find 10 days post roast is still ok and I just keep the beans in the same bag tightly packed in a cupboard. Max for me is usually 14 days. After that I just use the beans for aero press or v60. 14 days post roast still makes a very decent cup with filter methods.

Some of the roasters I go to recommend brewing after 6-8 days for their espresso blends as they claim their coffee flavours "peak" around then.

Lazy_Tiger

Back then was fun when only 2 stores in sg...and all the drink calling and flairing our wax pencils, mugs, ice cubes and portafilters..and getting that right shots......now jus need to be robotic and press that button.

I wonder if Starbucks in the states taste better than the stuff here. Their beans there should be fresher right. :s13:

The_King

ffM67jP.png

i own a airscape brought frm seattle coffee

ok- ok only, it not as air tight, the coffee gas still escape from the airscape.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.