(GPGT)Espresso machine hoot

wahjohreno

Anyone else on Linea Mini here?
Anyone did the mod to 0.6mm restrictor?

I have one. Stock standard. No mods. What does the mod do?

K4t0XUD.jpg

wahjohreno

Yea I’ve watched it on YouTube. Thus I’m having second thoughts about Baratza Encore since many reviews online are also saying that it’s not a grinder for espresso. But I’m not sure whether it’s worth paying about 4 times more after purchasing the Baratza Encore.

I love the Niche Zero so much, I bought 2, haha. One for espresso and the other for pour over.

To me, it's simply perfect for single-dose home use. Doesn't look stupidly imposing. Zero retention most times. At most 0.1g some times.

No more whacking grinders to get the retained grounds out.

rqn3cAI.jpg

Nq6yOm4.jpg

tremor

I love the Niche Zero so much, I bought 2, haha. One for espresso and the other for pour over.

To me, it's simply perfect for single-dose home use. Doesn't look stupidly imposing. Zero retention most times. At most 0.1g some times.

rqn3cAI.jpg

Nq6yOm4.jpg
wack grinder also won't come out one. Cos I keep wacking my entry level rocket faustino also won't come out, its on the burr.

Anyway I am not so fussy. Don't think I can differentiate yet because I just started out on this coffee journey.

wahjohreno

wack grinder also won't come out one. Cos I keep wacking my entry level rocket faustino also won't come out, its on the burr.

Anyway I am not so fussy. Don't think I can differentiate yet because I just started out on this coffee journey.

Well, if you're making espresso, you put in 20g and out comes 18.8g, it's definitely not going to taste the same. And you'll be tasting stale grinds from the last grind that was stuck inside.

Same with pour over. You're always brewing coffee from the previous grind, and having to deal with the imprecision.

Sure you can waste a few grams of beans to flush out before you grind. But if the cost is not too much of a problem, it makes a huge difference in user experience.

mamboeidos

Any gd hand grinder to recommend? Niche zero looks gd from James video but I think I am not that lvl yet.... *********

Currently using the haro grinder for yrs already....

Sent from Samsung SM-N960F using GAGT

tremor

Personal opinion on these beans as promised.
SyTcdhd.jpg

Have not dialed in correctly on these new beans in my hopper. So grinded a bit too fine, extraction is a bit too slow. But surprisingly flavours are good, maybe even better this way. Will grind coarser tomorrow and compare flavour.

lMZG7Ak.jpg

Nice creama, not that it mean anything.

Not too bitter or sour, hazelnutty and dark chocolaty aftertaste, with a slight hint of citrusy flavour. I like it a lot.

tremor

Aaaa07

rqn3cAI.jpg

Nq6yOm4.jpg

Thanks for your sharing. Makes me more interested to get one for myself now. Anyway one local shop is selling Niche Zero in town now.

chikyblink

Felicita Incline, I bought from Lazada taobao collection at $74 last time. Sibei cheap. No more this deal liao.

Cheapest now I found is https://www.lazada.sg/products/feli...d-at-coffee-said-i415786123-s1044932853.html? at $115.70.

Camera I am using Fujifilm X-E3 with 18-55mm f2.8-4 lens.
Thanks, but the length is too long for my machine. The Felicita Arc however, is just right but it is much more exp.
Does the scale have the function whereby when it detects constant weight being added, it'll automatically start the timer?

tremor

Thanks, but the length is too long for my machine. The Felicita Arc however, is just right but it is much more exp.
Does the scale have the function whereby when it detects constant weight being added, it'll automatically start the timer?
By right should have leh, but I don't know how to use, the manual not very good. Think need to specify a brew, then press start. Haven't try. I manually start the timer one.

Arc is better, think its meant for espresso. But more ex.

chikyblink

veej8wwl.jpg

Just found out this. That's why the Arc is so much more exp

Sent from HUAWEI CLT-L29 using GAGT

sseah12

Personal opinion on these beans as promised.
SyTcdhd.jpg

Have not dialed in correctly on these new beans in my hopper. So grinded a bit too fine, extraction is a bit too slow. But surprisingly flavours are good, maybe even better this way. Will grind coarser tomorrow and compare flavour.

lMZG7Ak.jpg

Nice creama, not that it mean anything.

Not too bitter or sour, hazelnutty and dark chocolaty aftertaste, with a slight hint of citrusy flavour. I like it a lot.
Or u could just grind finer and drink a 2nd shot.. Hehe

ev960d

Any gd hand grinder to recommend? Niche zero looks gd from James video but I think I am not that lvl yet.... *********

Currently using the haro grinder for yrs already....

Sent from Samsung SM-N960F using GAGT

I bought the 1Zpresso hand grinder. Super fast delivery and good value.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.