(GPGT)Espresso machine hoot

derazor

just did a backflush with cafisa, ( 5s x 5 ) x 2 cycles .
What's the interval time for each backflush?

IntelFlash

When I was in Naples, the heart of the espresso culture.

Their cafes are almost all using lever machines. I even saw road side kiosks with big lever machines running on gas.

It extracts at various stages of pressure. Similar to those slayer, synesso machines at 1/3 price. So for certain it will still remain in the cultural.
Even lm is considering going back to lever

Lazy_Tiger

just did a backflush with cafisa, ( 5s x 5 ) x 2 cycles .
What's the interval time for each backflush?

Not sure about Cafisa. I use cafetto with a 30s interval. Seems effective cuz can see the water flushed is quite brown.

chikyblink

Thanks for the sharing! I'm looking forward to my roadster blend from OZ speciality coffee who get their stuff from pacamara. French press was my 1st brewing method. It makes a good strong drink. Only issue is the sediment that settle at the bottom of the cup. Honestly while espresso makes for a strong drink with an intense fragance I find it easier to appreciate subtle nuances in the bean when drinking brewed coffee esp from a method that uses longer brewing times like french press.

anyway the square mile sweetshop and red brick has arrived! Not bad, 8 days post roast this time compared to 11 days last time.
oCz73Df.jpg
[/URL][/IMG]
Fwah buay tahan you every time bojio one lor...I don't mind picking up from your place you know...

Lazy_Tiger

Wa 30s ah.

I only use 5s not sure if 30s is too much.

Yup I just follow the instructions included. 30s because the chemical needs a bit of soaking time to work on the dirty bits. Not sure about Cafisa but maybe u can email them just i case.

Lazy_Tiger

Haha, all should have a coffee and chillax, not here to make crazy arguments here.

Yea its really come down to fussy and G.A.S. Its like I really want the Kees Van Der Westen Speedster, the LM GS3 etc, seriously they are overkills but heck they look amazing and definitely feel proud owning them. Slayer are so pretty as well!

But man, GS3 for 9k is seriously overpriced, I guess a commercial 2 group head synesso would cost similarly... how much is R58 going for anyway? almost similar boiler sizes but E61 instead of saturated brewhead and flaps. Oh and where did you get your alex duetto and price? I think Alex Duetto is almost the most reasonably sized and priced home machine anyone can afford to own. I've encounter so many bad barista with good commercial machines at cafes which makes me want to own my machine and make coffee 10x better tasting.

Hmmm I'm pretty sure a synesso 2 group cyncra would cost much more than a gs3. Commercial class larger boilers and saturated group head. A hydra or slayer would cost even more. R58 is a similar class of dual boiler machine like vbm dd or Alex duetto but online prices list it as slightly more esp for newer version. Brewtus is the cheapest e61 DB I think. Mine is the vbm dd, rosli's is a duetto.

Lazy_Tiger

Fwah buay tahan you every time bojio one lor...I don't mind picking up from your place you know...

Paiseh I keep a very private personal life. Don't want to gets sexposed. I can remain anonymous and criticize poor quality cafés and beans as much as like without risking the wrath of fnb people. U wouldn't want to piss fnb people off if u want continue to consume their products unless u have your eye on their whole chain of food preparation. Lol too much Tyler durden.

tHeGeNeZ

Hello everybody!
I dropped by Pacamara for lunch just now and they were in the midst of having a cupping session. Charit (not sure if spelled correctly), the boss handed me a paper cup with a spoon and invited me to join them.

It is really a pleasant surprise as I wasn't expecting such hospitality from anyone at all, not to mention that it was my virgin cupping experience.

Charit explained that they are trying out different SOs from different roasters. I was surprised to see our very own Nylon coffee (roasted on 9th April) there. I didn't pay attention to the names or the estates of the beans but I remember there were 2 Ethiopian, 1 Rwandan and 1 Kenyan beans.

After my first cupping, which wasn't really fruitful or enlightening due to my undiscerning palate. Couldn't taste the pistachios, blueberries or chocolate. I then ordered a cappuccino, it was really one of the best cap I ever had. The milk was steamed perfectly, sweet tasting milk, right thickness of foam and full bodied but at the same time not to bitter or overwhelming coffee.

After downing the cap under a minute, I ordered a affogato which was nice sweet intense contrasting dessert. I bought my double walled klacier cups and got a mocha to-go.

Will be flying back to SG tonight, will definitely miss the coffee scene here in Bangkok especially Pacamara! Do drop by Pacamara if you are in Bangkok, it's located along Sukhumvit Rd, between Phrom Pong BTS and Thonglor BTS (slightly nearer to Thongglor)

Lazy_Tiger

Hello everybody!
I dropped by Pacamara for lunch just now and they were in the midst of having a cupping session. Charit (not sure if spelled correctly), the boss handed me a paper cup with a spoon and invited me to join them.

It is really a pleasant surprise as I wasn't expecting such hospitality from anyone at all, not to mention that it was my virgin cupping experience.

Charit explained that they are trying out different SOs from different roasters. I was surprised to see our very own Nylon coffee (roasted on 9th April) there. I didn't pay attention to the names or the estates of the beans but I remember there were 2 Ethiopian, 1 Rwandan and 1 Kenyan beans.

After my first cupping, which wasn't really fruitful or enlightening due to my undiscerning palate. Couldn't taste the pistachios, blueberries or chocolate. I then ordered a cappuccino, it was really one of the best cap I ever had. The milk was steamed perfectly, sweet tasting milk, right thickness of foam and full bodied but at the same time not to bitter or overwhelming coffee.

After downing the cap under a minute, I ordered a affogato which was nice sweet intense contrasting dessert. I bought my double walled klacier cups and got a mocha to-go.

Will be flying back to SG tonight, will definitely miss the coffee scene here in Bangkok especially Pacamara! Do drop by Pacamara if you are in Bangkok, it's located along Sukhumvit Rd, between Phrom Pong BTS and Thonglor BTS (slightly nearer to Thongglor)

THanks for the sharing! sounds like they have quite high standards. Have you decided what machine to get yet? Hope you get something different from the rest of us and post your impressions!:)

Lazy_Tiger

Why 2 weeks?
Recommend best in 1 mth, should be possible. No coffee snob not using 5-10k tool to drink coffee

1 month is fine. For espresso there will be less crema but crema is not everything to the drink. For brewed coffee, more than 1 month can still make something very decent if kept properly.

derazor

1 month is fine. For espresso there will be less crema but crema is not everything to the drink. For brewed coffee, more than 1 month can still make something very decent if kept properly.

That gave me the idea and also I did that last weekend.

Those that are not so fresh I downgraded them to French Press :)

patryn33

Must be no illy or lavazza fan.

With 3 or 4 ppl drinking daily at least 1 shot each. I don't see a problem finishing them.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.