[GPGT] PSP's Stephanie Tan denounces the lack of strong action for bullying in Schs! Calls for MOE to be proactive and conduct direct investigations!

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

charleslee1989

Lol in the end too eager to judge and condemn just because of a convenient narrative.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/sin...=internal_sharetool_androidphone_20082025_cna

Thread 'Timeline of Events (as stated by MOE) Regarding Sengkang green primary school' https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...arding-sengkang-green-primary-school.7152196/
Still doesn't explain away the need to use a death threat and threat to cause hurt from a primary 3 kid, Student C. That brings it to a new level than mere prank calls, unless you are condoning death threats and bodily harm threats just because you buay song another person now?

Wow, the lengths you go to win an online argument by condoning bodily harm threats to someone lol! Is that what your GRA taught you to do?

Eliwood

Still doesn't explain away the need to use a death threat and threat to cause hurt from a primary 3 kid, Student C. That brings it to a new level than mere prank calls, unless you are condoning death threats and bodily harm threats just because you buay song another person now?

Wow, the lengths you go to win an online argument by condoning bodily harm threats to someone lol! Is that what your GRA taught you to do?

Death threat and bullying is definitely wrong and shd be punished, which has been done. The 3 kids have been suspended and police are investigating. I fully support that.

It is just funny how PSP likes to jump the gun for political points, like how u r doing now, for the hawker/NEA case and what PSP said abt tariffs haha.

So weird cos PSP is mainly laolang party, yet still so naive to jump the gun without knowing the full story haha.

charleslee1989

Death threat and bullying is definitely wrong and shd be punished, which has been done. The 3 kids have been suspended and police are investigating. I fully support that.

It is just funny how PSP likes to jump the gun for political points, like how u r doing now, for the hawker/NEA case and what PSP said abt tariffs haha.

So weird cos PSP is mainly laolang party, yet still so naive to jump the gun without knowing the full story haha.
Yeah, the police only got involved after the affected student's laobu involved the police. Plus the supposedly public caning is for the assault on the affected student which was only revealed after the usage of CCTV ( which Stephanie was pushing for more of it in schools)...lol......

So where did she jump the gun? Perhaps you can tell us where lol....

Eliwood

Yeah, the police only got involved after the affected student's laobu involved the police. Plus the supposedly public caning is for the assault on the affected student which was only revealed after the usage of CCTV ( which Stephanie was pushing for more of it in schools)...lol......

So where did she jump the gun? Perhaps you can tell us where lol....

Agree with cctv and the need for framework to investigate and hold bullies accountable.

But why is she saying school is not neutral? Is she suggesting schools are involved or enabling the bullying?

My very first qn. Why she thinks schools are not neutral? From the chronological sequence of event, i dun see the school siding with or enabling the bullies.

charleslee1989

Eliwood

You really don't see anything tardy about the school's response? How about you ask this same question in the that thread that you forwarded and see what response you get lol.

The thread you forwarded : https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...-with-timeline.7150853/page-79#post-157133887

Below was the sequence of event.

At the 2nd request on 25 Jul 2025, the teacher agreed to change seat the next school day.

Following the death threats, the kids were immediately suspended the next school day.

After the girl was hurt, the person responsible was caned within the next few days.

Maybe it is just me but what specifically was tardy? Are you saying the school shd have immediately changed seat, or done more, at the mid-Jul point?

End-April: The affected student reported student A for using an offensive slur on her and another classmate. As the affected student had also used an offensive slur on student A, the form teacher facilitated a verbal apology between the students involved for using bad language.

Mid-July: The affected student verbally requested her form teacher to change her seat. The teacher decided to monitor the situation after receiving this request, as he observed that the affected student was talking and laughing with students A and B.

Friday, Jul 25: The affected student again requested her form teacher to change her seat, as student A and B’s chatter made it difficult for her to focus during lessons. She also said that the two students had used inappropriate language on her, and that student C had touched her face without consent. As she had admitted to using inappropriate language on students A and B, the three students were guided to apologise to each other and focus on mending their friendship.

Later in the day, the form teacher informed the affected student that he had engaged her parent and would change her seat the following Monday. He would also look into her feedback regarding student C.

Saturday, Jul 26: The affected student’s mother reported to the school that she had received prank calls and death threats.

Monday, Jul 28: The school pulled students A, B and C out from class. Based on the school’s checks, student A had obtained the mobile number from his parent. Students A, B and C had made multiple prank calls to the parent of the affected student, with student C sending audio messages threatening the parent and her family.

The school reprimanded all three students and informed their parents that they would be suspended from school immediately. That same morning, the vice principal met the affected student’s parents to inform them about the actions that had been taken by the school, including a change of seat to separate her from the three students, and future plans to conduct bag checks after they had served their suspension.

The vice principal also spoke to the affected student’s parents on the telephone in the evening to share plans to assign peers to accompany the student in school.

The safety plan was sent via email to the parents on Jul 31. As the affected student’s parents had made a police report on the death threats, the school assured them that the school would review and take additional disciplinary actions, which may include caning, after police have looked into the matter.

Wednesday, Jul 30: The affected student informed the form teacher that a classmate had sprayed water on her. Investigations conducted by the teacher established that this was after the affected student had used hurtful words on the classmate, including a racial slur to a classmate of another race, and telling others not to befriend the classmate.

The classmate then sprayed water in retaliation. Both were counselled for their actions. The classmate’s parent was informed of the incident, and the school had planned to share this with the affected student’s parents at a face-to-face meeting.

Thursday, Aug 7: School was informed of a bruise on the affected student. The school established that student C had swung his bag into the affected student during school dismissal.

CCTV footage showed that the teacher present was managing another group of students and did not witness the incident, and no student had approached the teacher to alert him of the incident. Following investigations, the school engaged student C’s parents. Student C was subsequently caned on Aug 12.

Thursday, Aug 14: School arranged to meet the affected student’s parents on Aug 18 to update them on the actions taken and steps to support the student’s return to school.

Friday, Aug 15 to Saturday, Aug 16: Parents made her allegations on social media.

charleslee1989

Below was the sequence of event.

At the 2nd request on 25 Jul 2025, the teacher agreed to change seat the next school day.

Following the death threats, the kids were immediately suspended the next school day.

After the girl was hurt, the person responsible was caned within the next few days.

Maybe it is just me but what specifically was tardy? Are you saying the school shd have immediately changed seat, or done more, at the mid-Jul point?

End-April: The affected student reported student A for using an offensive slur on her and another classmate. As the affected student had also used an offensive slur on student A, the form teacher facilitated a verbal apology between the students involved for using bad language.

Mid-July: The affected student verbally requested her form teacher to change her seat. The teacher decided to monitor the situation after receiving this request, as he observed that the affected student was talking and laughing with students A and B.

Friday, Jul 25: The affected student again requested her form teacher to change her seat, as student A and B’s chatter made it difficult for her to focus during lessons. She also said that the two students had used inappropriate language on her, and that student C had touched her face without consent. As she had admitted to using inappropriate language on students A and B, the three students were guided to apologise to each other and focus on mending their friendship.

Later in the day, the form teacher informed the affected student that he had engaged her parent and would change her seat the following Monday. He would also look into her feedback regarding student C.

Saturday, Jul 26: The affected student’s mother reported to the school that she had received prank calls and death threats.

Monday, Jul 28: The school pulled students A, B and C out from class. Based on the school’s checks, student A had obtained the mobile number from his parent. Students A, B and C had made multiple prank calls to the parent of the affected student, with student C sending audio messages threatening the parent and her family.

The school reprimanded all three students and informed their parents that they would be suspended from school immediately. That same morning, the vice principal met the affected student’s parents to inform them about the actions that had been taken by the school, including a change of seat to separate her from the three students, and future plans to conduct bag checks after they had served their suspension.

The vice principal also spoke to the affected student’s parents on the telephone in the evening to share plans to assign peers to accompany the student in school.

The safety plan was sent via email to the parents on Jul 31. As the affected student’s parents had made a police report on the death threats, the school assured them that the school would review and take additional disciplinary actions, which may include caning, after police have looked into the matter.

Wednesday, Jul 30: The affected student informed the form teacher that a classmate had sprayed water on her. Investigations conducted by the teacher established that this was after the affected student had used hurtful words on the classmate, including a racial slur to a classmate of another race, and telling others not to befriend the classmate.

The classmate then sprayed water in retaliation. Both were counselled for their actions. The classmate’s parent was informed of the incident, and the school had planned to share this with the affected student’s parents at a face-to-face meeting.

Thursday, Aug 7: School was informed of a bruise on the affected student. The school established that student C had swung his bag into the affected student during school dismissal.

CCTV footage showed that the teacher present was managing another group of students and did not witness the incident, and no student had approached the teacher to alert him of the incident. Following investigations, the school engaged student C’s parents. Student C was subsequently caned on Aug 12.

Thursday, Aug 14: School arranged to meet the affected student’s parents on Aug 18 to update them on the actions taken and steps to support the student’s return to school.

Friday, Aug 15 to Saturday, Aug 16: Parents made her allegations on social media.
Just answer me two very simple question.

1. 31st July give safety plan via email. What happened at 7th August ah?

2. 31st July give safety plan via email. Then when is the next F2F meeting ah?

Maybe I am not a parent so I cannot explain much whether the response is tardy or not from a parent's POV post death threat.

Maybe I CC your latest reply to that thread and perhaps those who are parents in that thread can give you the reasons why?

Eliwood

Just answer me two very simple question.

1. 31st July give safety plan via email. What happened at 7th August ah?

2. 31st July give safety plan via email. Then when is the next F2F meeting ah?

Maybe I am not a parent so I cannot explain much whether the response is tardy or not from a parent's POV post death threat.

Maybe I CC your latest reply to that thread and perhaps those who are parents in that thread can give you the reasons why?

Oh yes true. There is no detail on the safety plan so not sure whether it was properly implemented.

But should tardiness be considered biasness towards the bully?

The teacher failing to notice seems like an oversight and not that the teacher intentionally ignored the incident and allowed the bully to do whatever he/she want?

sgcarousell

Now ish send death threat to parents somemore....What is the DM doing? What is the SPF doing???What is the MOE doing?
Heard on the radio that MOE n school claim the gal was also at fault n contribute to the events, anyone know what did the gal do to deserve this?

xdivider

Heard on the radio that MOE n school claim the gal was also at fault n contribute to the events, anyone know what did the gal do to deserve this?
Calling bully racial slur back and telling others dun fren him back=assault it seems. Moe trying very hard....

charleslee1989

Oh yes true. There is no detail on the safety plan so not sure whether it was properly implemented.

But should tardiness be considered biasness towards the bully?

The teacher failing to notice seems like an oversight and not that the teacher intentionally ignored the incident and allowed the bully to do whatever he/she want?
Inaction or tardiness is not favouring the bully but it is sure as hell being bias against the bully victim. There's a DM or OM who is likely to be a retired SAF/SPF officer to follow up on this thing promptly leh.....So you are saying the school staff are JLB?

Turns out blasting it on social media did get a lot of attention from MOE who went to gaslight the victim afterwards as you see below lol.....

This is disturbing....Do you have a recording of it?

@Eliwood , please check with your fellow cadres Jo Teo and Desmond Lee if this kind of gaslighting of a school-going minor is allowed in the mass media, thanks!

xdivider

Wow did this happened after reported to teacher? isn't this self defending if one received no help from authority?
I mean is like kids calling each other names but death threats is another level liao, When I heard over the radio I thot the gal formed gangs to bully them first....
Moe implies she deserves it....

dicxz80

Moe implies she deserves it....
even if this is the case, school should punish her (the bullying victim) in the beginning to make her stop rather than taking lax approach which cause things boiled over

to me, all bullying cases that happened recently is product of lenient or even no punishment and combined with bad parenting (maybe due to both parents working situation which is getting more common due to economic pressure)

charleslee1989

even if this is the case, school should punish her (the bullying victim) in the beginning to make her stop rather than taking lax approach which cause things boiled over

to me, all bullying cases that happened recently is product of lenient or even no punishment and combined with bad parenting (maybe due to both parents working situation which is getting more common due to economic pressure)
Well, that is also a contributing factor to mad low TFR....

xdivider

To me nothing can explain the leniency for death threats.....

charleslee1989

that is what you get when the Gov only thinking about GDP :(
Ya lah...but let's go back to the topic....This whole chain of events that started after the GE and the response level is concerning for the whole ministry in particular.

dicxz80

Ya lah...but let's go back to the topic....This whole chain of events that started after the GE and the response level is concerning for the whole ministry in particular.
hm.. the bullying and school and MOE's lax approach to bully is not only after GE, it is been like that since many years or at least in my personal experience as father of P4 boy, I personally noticed this in last 2 years

(some) school will not punish bully or in general student anymore, even when I as parent told them to punish my son if he cant follow protocol

Note: my son was bullied and school kept making excuse no evident, no witness, and blame my (mid autistic) son for starting the issue

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.