Head/earphones Recommendations Thread

Jeremy1

Cant answer you on that. For starters, i never tried the sonys and senheisers before. Secondly, when outside i prefer TWS or wired IEMs as again, headphones are too bulky for me to want to bring out. If ANC is a requirement for you, then look at those models with proper ANC. As for sound quality, the best way i can put it is the Stax S3 is pretty monitor like. Not much coloration with its default sound signature.

As what I know the Stax S3 doesn't have ANC but is it really that bad with the passive isolation when listening outdoor ?

rECKleSSfElla

As what I know the Stax S3 doesn't have ANC but is it really that bad with the passive isolation when listening outdoor ?
Even without ANC, the Stax S3 is closed back design so there will be some basic noise isolation. If you are still in doubt, then go look for youtube reviews of Stax S3 and see whether there is any mention of how good or bad the passive isolation is. But then again, don't know why i find myself repeating this but if you are prioritizing ANC, then just look for those models with ANC lar. Its seems like you are 99% set on the Stax S3 but for some reason looking for the 1% excuse to dissuade yourself from getting it leh.

Jeremy1

Even without ANC, the Stax S3 is closed back design so there will be some basic noise isolation. If you are still in doubt, then go look for youtube reviews of Stax S3 and see whether there is any mention of how good or bad the passive isolation is. But then again, don't know why i find myself repeating this but if you are prioritizing ANC, then just look for those models with ANC lar. Its seems like you are 99% set on the Stax S3 but for some reason looking for the 1% excuse to dissuade yourself from getting it leh.

My impression of a planar sound is good as I had audit the Maxwell before so my guess should be about the same.

Will most probably be ordering from Aliexpress.

Thanks.

NightRaven49

hi gurus, am looking for budget wired headphones (no bluetooth/usb port) for listening to music while commuting (phone with headphone jack). currently looking at the audiotechnica ath m30x which is within my budget and seems to have decent audio and noise dampening for the price, though since the m30x launched quite a while back, would like to know if there are alternatives. hoping to get guru advice on similar models i can consider, thanks in advance!

caterham7

hi gurus, am looking for budget wired headphones (no bluetooth/usb port) for listening to music while commuting (phone with headphone jack). currently looking at the audiotechnica ath m30x which is within my budget and seems to have decent audio and noise dampening for the price, though since the m30x launched quite a while back, would like to know if there are alternatives. hoping to get guru advice on similar models i can consider, thanks in advance!
closed portable headphones, can also consider sony MDR7506, senn HD280PRO

recommend to audition at headphone shops, sound signature can be quite different among models, also test out if the isolation is sufficient

Jeremy1

My Stax Headphone is here finally :spin:

IMG-9339.jpg

jokerpoker81

https://versus.com/en/headphone

everyone should use this comparision site lah! find the best available brand / model in Singapore, then go find shops at adelphi https://www.theadelphi.sg/#
that sells that particular brand / model lor. sound quality is very subjective.....everyone fav genre of music, design etc are also different, so there isnt a "best headphone" in my own opinion......it's only what "best" for own wallet lah. hahahahaha

okichin

Where can I go to test headphones? Went to Harvey Norman and challenger, both shops only have displays but cannot test the sound qualities.

Anyone got any shop to recommend for testing out headphones? Interested in the usual brands - Sony, Sennheiser, Bose, JBL etc.

Thanks in advance.

caterham7

Where can I go to test headphones? Went to Harvey Norman and challenger, both shops only have displays but cannot test the sound qualities.

Anyone got any shop to recommend for testing out headphones? Interested in the usual brands - Sony, Sennheiser, Bose, JBL etc.

Thanks in advance.
highlighted in post just above yours
connectit, jaben, stereo

btw, recommend to consider other brands also, no worries, the staff at the respective stores will provide inputs

do bring along your source, e.g. phone or mp3 player, and music, e.g. spotify or flac files

okichin

highlighted in post just above yours
connectit, jaben, stereo

btw, recommend to consider other brands also, no worries, the staff at the respective stores will provide inputs

do bring along your source, e.g. phone or mp3 player, and music, e.g. spotify or flac files
Thank you for the recommendations

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.