High cholesterol

rogze79

You ok boh ?

I'm in late 40s. Compare fitness with a JC student who is 17-18 ?

Ok can do weighted push ups and pull ups. So what ? Are you going for Mr Olympia ?
Apparently you know zilch about strength training to even link weighted exercises to high level bodybuilding events.

Or even comparing the Olympics and whatever Games to common folks in the park.

Shifting goalposts as usual. When your arguments fail. And stop pushing pills.

Mecisteus

Apparently you know zilch about strength training to even link weighted exercises to high level bodybuilding events.

Or even comparing the Olympics and whatever Games to common folks in the park.

Shifting goalposts as usual. When your arguments fail. And stop pushing pills.
There is no goal post shifting.

I'm merely saying some form of resistance and weights are good enough for most people.

Don't need to do elite levels of training. lmao weighted pull ups and push ups.

maikichai

been eating oats and running, this friday see dr see whats the result.

Me don't want take meds.

rogze79

There is no goal post shifting.

I'm merely saying some form of resistance and weights are good enough for most people.

Don't need to do elite levels of training. lmao weighted pull ups and push ups.
You did not say anything about resistance and weights AT ALL.

Let's stop this between us. Your idea of weights training is terribly embarrassing.
You can have the last say if you want.

Mecisteus

been eating oats and running, this friday see dr see whats the result.

Me don't want take meds.
Meds can be avoided if you understand your own numbers, body or under certain circumstances.

Under special circumstances, you cannot avoid the meds.

rarenick

You ok boh ?
I'm in late 40s. Compare fitness with a JC student who is 17-18 ?
Ok can do weighted push ups and pull ups. So what ? Are you going for Mr Olympia ?
No taking yet. I may consider in years to come.
I'm just sharing that plagues progression stops at very low LDL. For most people, their arteries will continue to see plagues progression.
Its up to you to heed my advice.
Personally for myself, I have done a couple of tests related to cardiovascular.

Do u mean u will consider taking statins as a supplement?? I suspect at least 70% of the sg popular has LDL level over 60mg/dl leh. Like that almost everyone must take statin. Will red yeast be better instead? Eat 3 times a week?

jumpthepig

And when u want to eat healthy, u become the odd one out and people telling u that u are too obsessed etc and should relax.

Go out dinner gathering must always look for unhealthy food to suit the majority's taste.
I have no such headache… I am someone who prefers the lone-wolf lifestyle :ROFLMAO:

Mecisteus

Do u mean u will consider taking statins as a supplement?? I suspect at least 70% of the sg popular has LDL level over 60mg/dl leh. Like that almost everyone must take statin. Will red yeast be better instead? Eat 3 times a week?
It all very much depends on circumstances.

If you are young and borderline high LDL, can avoid statins if you are lean, metabolically healthy and active.

If your age is 40 years old, non zero calcium score, bad CIMT or sedentary, then you better take statins for time being.

At the moment, I'm physically active, lean, zero calcium score but with borderline LDL. So I choose to skip statins.

Red yeast has similar compound like some statin. Why would you avoid a controlled drug and take something that is uncontrolled ?

rarenick

It all very much depends on circumstances.
If you are young and borderline high LDL, can avoid statins if you are lean, metabolically healthy and active.
If your age is 40 years old, non zero calcium score, sedentary, bad CIMT or sedentary, then you better take statins.
At the moment, I'm physically active, lean, zero calcium score but with borderline LDL. So I choose to skip statins.
Red yeast has similar compound like some statin. Why would you avoid a controlled drug and take something that is uncontrolled ?

Sometimes things get too pure might have unintended side effects also? Taking red yeast occasionally like supplements maybe is good?

Exercise 5 times a week, each session 45mins. Considered as sedentary or active? Rest of the time, sit or lie down. But each day got 6k to 10k steps

pokipoki08

anyone tried consuming high quality vege or animal oil to control own cholesterol numbers?

Evcats

Now, let’s break it down lor:

1. Red Yeast Rice (红曲米) – Contains monacolin K, which is similar to lovastatin (a type of statin). So, in a way, it’s like a "natural statin." But hor, the amount can vary one, and some products might even have contaminants (like citrinin, which is not good lah).
  2. Statin (the real medicine) – More steady because the dose is controlled, and doctors can monitor side effects (like muscle pain or liver issues).

Which one better?

• If you want "natural" – Some people think red yeast rice is better because no "chemicals." But be careful ah, because it’s not always safer.
  • If you want proven & controlled – Statin is more reliable, especially if your cholesterol damn high.

Wah, so which one to take?

• Better ask doctor lah! They can check your cholesterol level and see which one suits you.
  • If you take red yeast rice, make sure it’s from a trusted brand (no funny stuff inside).
  • If you take statin, don’t stop just because you scared of side effects—talk to your doc first.

Final Verdict

No "one-size-fits-all" answer. Statin is more standard, but some people prefer red yeast rice. Just don’t anyhow take both together—can overdose on statin-like effects!

TL;DR:
"Statin more zhun, but red yeast rice also can—just don’t play-play, ask doctor better!" 😊

Mecisteus

Sometimes things get too pure might have unintended side effects also? Taking red yeast occasionally like supplements maybe is good?

Controlled vs uncontrolled drug. You need to understand the risks.

Some people are taking low doses of the proper drug.
Exercise 5 times a week, each session 45mins. Considered as sedentary or active? Rest of the time, sit or lie down. But each day got 6k to 10k steps
These are good exercises for cardio. That means 1 risk factor less.

There are other risk factors to consider. ie stress, family history, etc

Mecisteus

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...nt-put-in-after-severely-blocked-artery-found

not many really know or check if their arteries are partially or almost fully blocked until they get heart attack
Some irresponsible and reckless members can even advocate for high cholesterol.

Reason is cholesterol is made naturally in the body.

What kind of silly logic is that.

Our body is 70% water. So that means we can drink gallons of water ? lmao.

Most things in this universe has healthy limits to follow.

rogze79

Some irresponsible and reckless members can even advocate for high cholesterol.

Reason is cholesterol is made naturally in the body.

What kind of silly logic is that.

Our body is 70% water. So that means we can drink gallons of water ? lmao.

Most things in this universe has healthy limits to follow.
You mean our body is stupid enough to produce something to harm itself? And one have to take chemicals to suppress it? Really?

Giving stupid example of drinking gallons water reflects your poor reasoning and logical thinking process.

Enlighten everyone what's the cause of the blockage in the ST article pls.

Evcats

What's the cause of blockage?
Risk is higher with high LDL. Doesn’t matter if you “feel fit” or exercise or even healthy weight for some it may be genetics.
I had high LDL for years but was exercising, relatively fit for my age but probably diet was not so healthy (ie normal food Singaporean will eat daily). Refused to take medication few times thought I can improve my lifestyle/diet to overcome. had a heart attack 2 years ago as my artery was blocked :confused:
I don’t feel anyway unhealthy before the event.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.