hiring helper or nursing home?

MajiMax

Nursing home is expensive and long waiting list.
Getting a helper is more feasible.
For support schemes, go https://supportgowhere.life.gov.sg/
Application process can be tricky and laborious.
Experience from having a wife whom suffered brain haemorrhage
Nowadays the nursing home placement waiting time is less than a month if all the document is ready during the application submission.

The longer waiting time is patient with cuffed or cuffless tracheostomy tube cause only certain nursing homes can take in patient with this care needs. Also, the nursing home fees for this care needs tend to be higher.

jywy2005

My parents both in late 80s do not have eldershield.

Can't even get homecare giving grant despite being certified with the ADL. Reason being no income plus staying in property with annual value more than $21 000, with my helper. They only receive $100 PG subsidy

So it means to qualify for the above, a working adult must stay with them? I have my own family with children.

Anybody facing this issue?

8zaoyu

My parents both in late 80s do not have eldershield.

Can't even get homecare giving grant despite being certified with the ADL. Reason being no income plus staying in property with annual value more than $21 000, with my helper. They only receive $100 PG subsidy

So it means to qualify for the above, a working adult must stay with them? I have my own family with children.

Anybody facing this issue?
Ya, if non working retiree, the maid appln under them got no $300 Eldershield nor $600 Careshield because they did not pay the Shield premiums - opted not pay premiums. And a lot of health subsidies are given for AV under $21k ( usually HDB properties ) That is why Condo Elderlies willing to downgrade and buy even very old super big HDBs, am I wrong?As not many folks here know how much is a Pte Condo Annual Value unless they had bought one before.

ferraghini

my father hospitalized got stroke. social worker told me that my father can dechange le give me 3 choices

1. me take of my father at home
(need to work and mother eyesight also not good le how to take care him

2. hiring helper
monthly around how much?

3. nursing home
social worker said 3k-5k
This is a difficult choice. 👍🏻 I hope you make the right decision.

8zaoyu

i still think ideally its better to keep the elderly at home.

most elderly i think also prefer to stay at home.

only thing is i think there need to be better support for caregivers. the support is so darn weak cuz im experiencing it now

When u are struggling, i can tell u, even your neighbours, relatives and siblings alo will siam far far.

This is a society of we are trying to outdo each other, see who has more money, who has bigger house, who has bigger car, who travel to more atas country

Nobody ain't got time to care about ppl who are struggling or left behind due to unforseen circumstances like this.
When old and bedridden, you have to struggle in your own house, you did not see in olden kampong days, parents are out to work, and teenage children both handle grandparents and younger siblings, cry ah!

trojanhorse

I met lots of rich Mainlander Chinese and Indonesian Chinese.

Do you know how and who they hire when they really need help in the home to care for sick?

A big loop hoole that local Singaporeans are stupid.

I lazy to type. Can't reveal too much. Send me private message.

darkmilk

I met lots of rich Mainlander Chinese and Indonesian Chinese.

Do you know how and who they hire when they really need help in the home to care for sick?

A big loop hoole that local Singaporeans are stupid.

I lazy to type. Can't reveal too much. Send me private message.
haha boss, just say it here

johnsonheng

my father hospitalized got stroke. social worker told me that my father can dechange le give me 3 choices

1. me take of my father at home
(need to work and mother eyesight also not good le how to take care him

2. hiring helper
monthly around how much?

3. nursing home
social worker said 3k-5k
You hire maid better. Way cheaper and also can accompany your mum. If not mum very lonely alone

jywy2005

Ya, if non working retiree, the maid appln under them got no $300 Eldershield nor $600 Careshield because they did not pay the Shield premiums - opted not pay premiums. And a lot of health subsidies are given for AV under $21k ( usually HDB properties ) That is why Condo Elderlies willing to downgrade and buy even very old super big HDBs, am I wrong?As not many folks here know how much is a Pte Condo Annual Value unless they had bought one before.

That’s why my parents should have downsized. But I dun understand why people having multiple properties still can get home care giving grant of $250 when my parents s get nothing! I dun see the logic.

tuxguy

Actually gov keep saying raise this and that for ageing population then many still face this issue of cost

With new citizens, the ageing issue accelerates with more old ppl ard and the falling tfr is really not helping

AlmightyOnes

To most, a helper is the only choice. Unless u are rich enough to send to nursing home.
Even hire maid also not cheap nowadays.. anyhow need at least 1k to 1k+.

johnsonheng

i currently help carry my father at home. even i find it heavy to carry liao.

if u hire maid need to get those can carry heavy weight one

000cf1bdd03f11831caa01.JPG
as your dad grow older, he will lose weight naturally,
u just need to hire a maid, particular bigger size maid that can help carry your dad

arsenalfc85

Actually gov keep saying raise this and that for ageing population then many still face this issue of cost

With new citizens, the ageing issue accelerates with more old ppl ard and the falling tfr is really not helping
Falling tfr

new citizens they bring in are often in their 30s n 40s

you’re right

jialat Liao

johnsonheng

option 3 is $3K min per month? :s14:
got cheap one, those gov one,
but it is usually full, unless one of the elder inside uplorry then the space will be free out.

i not sure if they are well taken care of , but i sure it is bad for your dad in the long term.

johnsonheng

Family members can visit the resident everyday during visitation hours. Furthermore his dad can make new friends and take part in various social activities and group therapy exercises. Better than staying at home watching TV.

Another option for TS is senior day-care centers. Father can participate in social activites & physical therapy during the day when everyone is at work, and go back home in the evening to be with family members.
day care not cheap , if you do not drive. you need to enage their service to pick your dad up.
smelly per month is around 1.5 or less.
also u need to still look after at night and prepare food for your parents.
end up u still need to hire a maid

johnsonheng

Yes, that's why I mentioned hiring FDW is the nightmare. I went thru 3 then got 1 that was willing to do and quite good.
Hence the suggestion is to send to hospice or elderly care first. Buy time to prepare the house and find FDW. Also good that they can learn how to cope with the disability, not easy suddenly disabled
go via agent, it a hit or miss, but it best to hire the more expensive maid, especially those who experience in taking care of elder. best if can speak chinese.

the one i hire used to work in taiwan.
so she can speak basic chinese and can touch pork but cannot eat.

u look for a maid agency, tell them your requirement ask them to look for it.

your first pay ment should be around 6-7k

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.