Home renovation so expensive

vee4044

Why nowadays home renovation so expensive? I want to do a simple 4-5 room hdb flat also 80-100k. Not even doing much carpentry.

8 years ago, 35k I can settle the whole renovation for my old flat for similar work done.
8year ago who's is the PM ? Now new 9% GST leh...U forgot liao ma.

jumpthepig

8year ago who's is the PM ? Now new 9% GST leh...U forgot liao ma.
Increase 1-2% GST, reno cost will increase from $35k to $80-100k…Sinkies reno tokways are “chop carrot head” world champion. :ROFLMAO:

SkyNinja

Renovation same as wedding. They try to tok you as much as possible as it is only 1 time.

SkyNinja

There is no need to go by ID
Im a contractor, now owners know what they want, can just directly find contractor to do.

Like if u doing a new bto, to do up a 5 room floor tiling, if u go by contractor, will be around 7888$
If u go by id, will be around 12 to 13k

ID eat so much by just being middleman and give you arty fasty viewpoints on which mood board fits your personality

Ironside

Why nowadays home renovation so expensive? I want to do a simple 4-5 room hdb flat also 80-100k. Not even doing much carpentry.

8 years ago, 35k I can settle the whole renovation for my old flat for similar work done.
Sure bo? 1 min can A and I for a old terrace house Liao.

SkyNinja

resale unit if wanna hack all floors, kitchen, toilets easily > 40k de :o If brand new bto 15k can gao dim liow. Condo even chipper if basic just install lightings, curtain and painting more or less can move in oledi.

Ask the cleaners downstairs if they got lobang for hacking/drilling of tiles. Should be less than $300 to settle the whole house.

I_m_limpeh

Just paint the walls, lay tiles in the floor, minimal carpentry work. All furniture buy on taobao, shopee or IKEA. Cheap cheap.

You're welcome.

Ayuready?

Few years back when I wanted to do a simple, barebones reno, got a few IDs even turned their noses up at it and refused to do. They probably thought it wasn’t worth the effort
:(

jumpthepig

ID eat so much by just being middleman and give you arty fasty viewpoints on which mood board fits your personality
Most ID ideas come from internet….Just spend a bit of time and learn from there…. can save people lot of money…

Perishable

Just paint the walls, lay tiles in the floor, minimal carpentry work. All furniture buy on taobao, shopee or IKEA. Cheap cheap.

You're welcome.
Might as well say do deep cleaning and buy furniture on carousell.

have some standard la.

Rainstrike

Hi. I paid $60k for mine two years ago, excluding furniture :( If add in furniture, lighting all that, it should be around $100k. Pros and Cons. Pros: Got ID help you become the middle man and coordinate. Con: ID is overpriced and didn't do a good job :*(

coolhead

I am currently sourcing quotation from main con as I have done the design ideas I want implemented for resale hdb. Hopefully they can meet my budget of $50k :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.