Homeless/rough sleeper is real…

MyWill

Police will chase away homeless ppl sleeping in neighbourhood parks or void decks. So the effect is neighbourhoods look clean unless u drive out to certain locations.

DragonFire

Few weeks back was taking stroll at east coast park after heavy supper…. To my surprise, after walking past a few shed saw so many rough sleeper was sleeping there. Walk back to my car then at the carpark, also alot of parked van and lorry mostly door or window opened, inside got people sleeping…

then yesterday night go woodland admiralty kampung Starbucks, also saw a lot of rough sleeper sleeping at the open area sia… I don’t think they are food delivery guy/girl becoz I saw most of these rough sleeper next to them are bags of item most probably all their belonging.

I seldom go out after 11pm but both time went out, both night saw so many rough sleeper. what’s wrong ah? Never see any news reporting all these…
They are real. Many of them also refuse help because of misplaced pride, or because they do actually have homes but cannot be home for various reasons.

EJB

the issue does exist for sure just that the authorities can't be arresting them all or bring them in to any shelters just like that

some might be having family issues or personal reason/s of their own

🤷‍♂️
Either way, arrest them = taxes pay for their jail/cell.

Bring them to shelter, we have meh?

So best is status quo, don't touch them unless they break laws. There are no laws with regards to being homeless or off grid in SG. They can sleep anywhere, as long as they don't bother people. That time got one MCD quietly allowed people to sleep in their restaurant after certain hours since low footfall and traffic and they operate 24 hours.

A Better Tomorrow

Police will chase away homeless ppl sleeping in neighbourhood parks or void decks. So the effect is neighbourhoods look clean unless u drive out to certain locations.
Valid if they cause trouble in the vicinity eg fighting. And take statement on the spot.

Being a nuisance can be debate-able as some missions take priority.

Eliwood

Few weeks back was taking stroll at east coast park after heavy supper…. To my surprise, after walking past a few shed saw so many rough sleeper was sleeping there. Walk back to my car then at the carpark, also alot of parked van and lorry mostly door or window opened, inside got people sleeping…

then yesterday night go woodland admiralty kampung Starbucks, also saw a lot of rough sleeper sleeping at the open area sia… I don’t think they are food delivery guy/girl becoz I saw most of these rough sleeper next to them are bags of item most probably all their belonging.

I seldom go out after 11pm but both time went out, both night saw so many rough sleeper. what’s wrong ah? Never see any news reporting all these…

Rough slping or family dispute lol.

If in real dire straits, rental flats from hdb is dirt cheap.

Sometimes ppl just need to reap what they sow.

Dinoboyboy

Last night weather very hot so some sleep outside :(

I was one of them :(
I know life outsai is very tough in this dog eat dog world bro, for me also… but we must steel open our hearts and maintain our exceptional kindness to everyone de. :frown:

Ethan_

Think all along have bah. Just that local mainstream media tend don't really talk about it. Alot of dark side of things local tend obscured it by not mentioning. Doesn't means it not there. Only now age of internet and social media think more are mentioned on not so mainstream media.

And think east coast park was all along one of the favourite spot for homeless. The open space, sea breeze, park, parking and toilet.

DragonFire

Think all along have bah. Just that local mainstream media tend don't really talk about it. Alot of dark side of things local tend obscured it by not mentioning. Doesn't means it not there. Only now age of internet and social media think more are mentioned on not so mainstream media.

And think east coast park was all along one of the favourite spot for homeless. The open space, sea breeze, park, parking and toilet.
No easy solution. My ex boss volunteers for social work and talks to quite a lot of them. Many aren’t actually homeless. A lot are already on aid programs and have rental flats, and others have homes but aren’t able to return for various reason. Rental flat tenants often cannot get along with their placed co-tenants. Those with homes - some of them the actual homeowners - cannot get around with spouses or kids. Some are renting the whole flat out for the income to accelerate paying off overbearing debt.

Only in Singapore. Some rough sleepers are more asset rich than a young bank employee.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.