后港 Hougang: The Documentary

econ food

watching the documentary, never knew PAP hold back the lift upgrading for hougang people and potong pasir

in the end potong pasir residents gave in

Before as u said.. opp.. parties. Then chu tell me. Hoe come ubi island no developing..still small island. The ppl under east coast grc right? Then can ppl there propose to build hdb there? Have school akd hospital?

oddbasket

And we ended up with cheap quality lift upgrading and lifts always breakdown. We deserve what we got. 😢

couch.potato

not really, an informative video
can see that the funeral wake visits were started by Low Thia Khiang
i have never seen him take photos at people funeral to wayang
Even non Hougang wakes I also got see WP people quietly go before. Quite heartwarming.

rather get “propaganda” like these than super non environmentally friendly teddy bears from people who ask citizens to pay more to recycle :s13:

CCCustom

Not the case, tiagong is the influx of new residents in new residential areas around the area helped tipped the scales.
Nope … it’s because CST no failed succession plans … plural.

He failed with CSJ, he failed with Desmond, he failed with chao Botak and Wilfred … he put all his eggs in the wrong basket … he already passed over chao Botak for Assistant Sec Gen to Wilfred, yet don’t groom Wilfred as the successor for Potong Pasir, lump all of them together to try for Bishan Toa Payoh, and instead parachute his wife to sit for Potong Pasir … Potong Pasir just needed a nudge to flip - this was the nudge.

P.S. to be honest while CST dodged a bullet by not making chao Botak Assistant Sec Gen, Wilfred wasn’t the right person either … soft spoken follower-type not leader-type … in the end also follow chao Botak out of SPP.

Ghost_is_here

Now Hougang not only upgraded her lift, as well as IUP, NRP all completed. Now repainting works to all the flats.

All these programs are fully funded by the Town Council....

Size does matters in this point. The bigger your town council, the more resources you had at your desposal.

Capitalist

LTK and ah huat still visit hougang once in a while even though they had stepped down. My mom (90+) told her neighbor, it is ok to attend pappies event, just make sure u vote for WP during election!
On the contrary, it seems like many folks think 'it's ok to attend WP's rallies ... just make sure to vote for PAP on election day.'

I mean ... just look and compare the turnouts during the rallies.

xdivider

You do notice this is a propaganda video right?
based on facts. they did withheld upgrading for opp wards til the last, saying they can vote for the men in white......it was claimed he has to satisfy his supporters first, ignoring the fact this is an exercise pooling opp+miw taxes. using that logic, miw supporters have to go ns and opp can skip......

cal127

watching the documentary, never knew PAP hold back the lift upgrading for hougang people and potong pasir

Come on. I even remember someone went to our institutions and bragged about it. That's how far we went normalizing it. I'm surprised people still find it surprising. :s13:

xdivider

Come on. I even remember someone went to our institutions and bragged about it. That's how far we went normalizing it. I'm surprised people still find it surprising. :s13:
At the Kent Ridge Ministerial Forum organised by the National University of Singapore (NUS) Students' Political Association on Tuesday, fourth-year engineering student Seah Yin Hwa, 25, asked PM Lee why residents living in Hougang SMC are penalised for picking "a 'Teochew nang' (dialect for Teochew person) who doesn't wear a white uniform."

When asked by PM Lee on how he was penalised, Seah said, "When it comes to upgrading, what is being told to us is that we don't have the funds to actually go ahead with lift upgrading, as well as shelters to the bus stops. When I look across the road to Aljunied GRC, they have everything."

Paraphrasing the question posed, PM Lee said that what Mr Seah meant is why the opposition wards are not treated at least as good, or maybe even better than the PAP wards.

PM Lee added, "And the answer is that there has to be a distinction. Because the PAP wards supported the Government and the policies which delivered these good things."

He said that while the basic goods such roads, transportation, housing, healthcare and defence apply to Singaporeans, the extras — which come down to the upgrading programmes — is a national programme.

"Between the people who voted and supported the programme and the government, and the people who didn't, I think if we went and put yours before the PAP constituencies, it would be an injustice," PM Lee told the 1,200 students at the forum.

In response to PM Lee, Seah cheekily asked if he could pay less tax and maybe "take one or two years off my NS?", which drew laughter and applause from the audience.

But PM Lee said that this is not possible because the SAF, defence, taxes and all the facilities which have been provided, are enjoyed by every Singaporean.

Rounding off his reply, PM Lee said, "But you can do something about it, you know. You don't have to keep voting for people not in white-on-white."

How high up in ivory tower is he to actually admit this in public........along with fixing opp......

couch.potato

Opposition ward had it hard
People who dare to run for opposition (not the siao Langs) also really sacrificed a lot. Elected or not. Elected even more pai mia.

I remember the last election at Sengkang, WP banner only can hang at all the small roads, but PAP banners all at the main roads and expressway exits… little has changed.

whether or not at the end of the day, sinkies still choose to vote for the whites, thankful to the ones who still tried for the sake of the people. 🥺

xdivider

Opposition ward had it hard
People who dare to run for opposition (not the siao Langs) also really sacrificed a lot. Elected or not. Elected even more pai mia.

I remember the last election at Sengkang, WP banner only can hang at all the small roads, but PAP banners all at the main roads and expressway exits… little has changed.

whether or not at the end of the day, sinkies still choose to vote for the whites, thankful to the ones who still tried for the sake of the people. 🥺
thats y everytime i see miw supporters complain abt cost of living, it brings a smile to my face.....

daylight

the hougang story is very interesting.
there is no way, the whites can win them over in the near future.

jasvonvios

On the contrary, it seems like many folks think 'it's ok to attend WP's rallies ... just make sure to vote for PAP on election day.'

I mean ... just look and compare the turnouts during the rallies.

The rally attendees were not just from Hougang, many are from others GRCs. I used to attend when WP hold the rally at the open field, can't even get close to the stage. Even HDB nearby are full with people, saw one guy doing recording, pretty sure he is not from the press.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.