Housing Dilemma

iphone1s

Heng I can only buy cheapo unwanted 5-room flat at bird no lay egg de place... else kena scold by iPhone sia

:(:(

Bro, no scold u la. I bear not to. I really hope we are neighbours.

TBH, before I was retrenched, I alone was fetching about 15k++ per month, not including wifey. We saw one EC unit at Parc Life, ultra super jin jiak chioness. Then we say wait.. suay suay kena pok by the foreigner boss. If we have gotten that unit, I now sure headache.

Lucky i got into MLM, made a good living. that's y can afford 5room. The unit also jin chioness now :D Going to select soon. :D

deskoh91

Bro, I think tonight no happy ending for you liao. :s13:

she mentioned bidadari, you mentioned non-mature estate..
she mentioned pay increment, you mention parents little savings..

I feel she's like a LV bag. You are a wise and frugal guy wanting the best for the family. :)

Haha think I am lucky to have someone who sees what I see lo.. :) I believe TS is seriously evaluating the BTO option but do not know if he can get grants. At least both of them are driven, high risk high returns (but high casualty :(). We not so ballsy, just choose the commoner path.

kyteo79

Tambi, u take public housing like maciam your penny stocks. You keep emphasizing you want to get grant.

What are all these about? Business. Definition of business - To make a healthy profit over the sales of a service or an item.

When you buy the flat with all the grants. u zhun zhun 5 years later want to dispose of the unit. Firstly, u need to cough out the interest PAYABLE to yourself. I would feel anal if I need to pay interest to myself though. And you want to get cheap furniture just to live frugaly. With your initial thought of getting a EC, to me, you are lavish. Also, you mention you want to get married before 30. Wait. I am a dumb old man. Will your age stop for you?

And when your wife is pregnant, get some 3rd hand milk bottles and a cranky old cheap baby colt. Because your family don't deserve the best? only after 5 years later, you get a EC in a good location, then you will start have a life?

I guess this is putting the cart before the horse.

Reading this thread makes me jin gek sim. T_T.

I go read laksa boy better. :D

swee lah ...

thats y when i see TS thread, i think he read alot and study too much...
how much 17% can he grow ? i assume he feels he is best in the field. no him the whole team will lose / die ...

i think he failed to understand that wana fly must first learn to run ...wana run must learn to walk ... b4 walk crawl ...

in anycase he said bto ... but he wants grant... he get 7k and wants grant and loan ... future money ... maybe call leverage or too much such bull workshops ... haha

anyway ... good luck and i no mood to even read further on this aimless and hopeless thread.

Expert

aiyo... u all never see the big picture.

If at this age he is still not earning enough for himself, high chance his family is well-to-do.. Probably with enough insurance savings and such.. :)

And to be able to study till 27/28yo, and not having to worry about education loan repayment, they are either scholars or parents sponsored. :o

iphone1s

swee lah ...

thats y when i see TS thread, i think he read alot and study too much...
how much 17% can he grow ? i assume he feels he is best in the field. no him the whole team will lose / die ...

i think he failed to understand that wana fly must first learn to run ...wana run must learn to walk ... b4 walk crawl ...

in anycase he said bto ... but he wants grant... he get 7k and wants grant and loan ... future money ... maybe call leverage or too much such bull workshops ... haha

anyway ... good luck and i no mood to even read further on this aimless and hopeless thread.

The lie that convinced them that these kinda debts is good. disillusioned at its finest.

a black cat who catches a mouse and a white cat who catches a mouse is still a cat
a white lie or a black lie is still a lie
a kiss to the mistress or caught in bed with mistress is still adultery.

so, if debts can make CGH go after a sick old man for $37, and debt collectors can repossess a HDB, how can debt be good?

Debt is only one definition - O$P$

TS need to get this into her head. Stop thinking abt LV. wake up to smell the coffee.

Franzz

It is no fault to be ambitious. But be cautious of being over ambitious. My advice to ts would be to take it slow and steady. You have a destination in mind, but before you take first step you already think about the second or third step. Your first house should be your home, snap out of the thinking it's an investment.

You have no idea of what tomorrow might bring; maybe you win lottery, maybe your rice bowl kena smash, maybe you treat people jiak chicken curry. I last time also like ts, plan and plan. Till my cousin died in freak accident at 24, and I saw many colleague asked to leave in a seemingly iron rice bowl jobs. Reality hit and perspecitives changed.

Your $7k monthly income bank into your account then say. (Me and my gf also work in stable industry for Ah Gong, earn more than your satki figure and we want to whack on BTO also worry not enough) :(:(

SecretAgent

actually.. if not ever have cpf or minimum cpf contribution before.. The only way is to have a big sum of money to do downpayment. Try not to talk about grant etc first..

I know TS got the feeling of entitlement since sgrean gov give $$$ for sgrean... why not try to take and use it? Actually, if you really go and do some part time work and have the minimum >$1500 contribution for 1 full year before applying, they might really give you that. If you think you can get away with your self-employed cpf contribution, I suggest you don't do that. They might not take that one seriously. Too many grant rejections on your records won't looks good for you in hdb's book either.

Mind you, if you are applying comes May 2017, you will need to declare you have 1 yr min cpf contribution for your grant application at that point of time(may 2017). They WILL CHECK by the way, and they are very strict about it too. Don't go trying to ahem your way around please! You got a bright future ahead, it is not worth especially concerning about housing.

if sadly, you don't have enough cpf, grant or money at hands... then I am afraid you won't be able to pay the deposit should they ask you to go down.

All these are even BEFORE YOU LANDED A GOOD NUMBER FOR YOUR BTO AND SELECTED YOUR IDEAL FLAT!!!

And if that doesn't work, don't get dishearted(i got my flat on the 2nd try, but I am the luckier ones.. alot probably didn't get it even after 4 or 5th tries). You can go for an EC then if you need a place fast! But you will need $$$$$$$$$!

iphone1s

It is no fault to be ambitious. But be cautious of being over ambitious. My advice to ts would be to take it slow and steady. You have a destination in mind, but before you take first step you already think about the second or third step. Your first house should be your home, snap out of the thinking it's an investment.

You have no idea of what tomorrow might bring; maybe you win lottery, maybe your rice bowl kena smash, maybe you treat people jiak chicken curry. I last time also like ts, plan and plan. Till my cousin died in freak accident at 24, and I saw many colleague asked to leave in a seemingly iron rice bowl jobs. Reality hit and perspecitives changed.

Your $7k monthly income bank into your account then say. (Me and my gf also work in stable industry for Ah Gong, earn more than your satki figure and we want to whack on BTO also worry not enough) :(:(

Da master have spoken.

Heed the advice, young mini jedi.

kyteo79

actually.. if not ever have cpf or minimum cpf contribution before.. The only way is to have a big sum of money to do downpayment. Try not to talk about grant etc first..

I know TS got the feeling of entitlement since sgrean gov give $$$ for sgrean... why not try to take and use it? Actually, if you really go and do some part time work and have the minimum >$1500 contribution for 1 full year before applying, they might really give you that. If you think you can get away with your self-employed cpf contribution, I suggest you don't do that. They might not take that one seriously. Too many grant rejections on your records won't looks good for you in hdb's book either.

Mind you, if you are applying comes May 2017, you will need to declare you have 1 yr min cpf contribution for your grant application at that point of time(may 2017). They WILL CHECK by the way, and they are very strict about it too. Don't go trying to ahem your way around please! You got a bright future ahead, it is not worth especially concerning about housing.

if sadly, you don't have enough cpf, grant or money at hands... then I am afraid you won't be able to pay the deposit should they ask you to go down.

All these are even BEFORE YOU LANDED A GOOD NUMBER FOR YOUR BTO AND SELECTED YOUR IDEAL FLAT!!!

And if that doesn't work, don't get dishearted(i got my flat on the 2nd try, but I am the luckier ones.. alot probably didn't get it even after 4 or 5th tries). You can go for an EC then if you need a place fast! But you will need $$$$$$$$$!

i got $$
u got $$$
we got $$$$$!

but my $$ not as many as other $$$$$$$$$$$

Franzz

i got $$
u got $$$
we got $$$$$!

When it comes to $$, cash is king. I would define affordability as your ability to pay for things in cash without stretching your finances.

I can pay my 10% dp in cash if I want. I also can pay for my renovation in cash. I can pay my monthly mortgage in cash as well.

Raffles88

job market in sg not gd now. retrenchment everywhere. if anyone goes to e2i at jurong east, u can see many Singaporean/PR at there seeking for job. Many are educated professional such as engineers, managers, senior executive with last drawn more than 4K in their last job.

kyteo79

When it comes to $$, cash is king. I would define affordability as your ability to pay for things in cash without stretching your finances.

I can pay my 10% dp in cash if I want. I also can pay for my renovation in cash. I can pay my monthly mortgage in cash as well.

sorry i only pay what is required 5% cash and 15% cpf + stamp duty cash
legal in cpf + reno cash + electronic + furniture - credit cards for points
monthly 3/4 in cash with balance in cpf ...

how much balance in saving book huh ?

Grant? never take ? did i consider? no ?
BTO ? unable
resale ? yes consider 4 years before jumping into private resale.
wait ? dun waste time ...
money ? - not enough but buffer 1 year cash at this stage
cpf - 1 year worth

Gixxerfied

The lie that convinced them that these kinda debts is good. disillusioned at its finest.

a black cat who catches a mouse and a white cat who catches a mouse is still a cat
a white lie or a black lie is still a lie
a kiss to the mistress or caught in bed with mistress is still adultery.

so, if debts can make CGH go after a sick old man for $37, and debt collectors can repossess a HDB, how can debt be good?

Debt is only one definition - O$P$

TS need to get this into her head. Stop thinking abt LV. wake up to smell the coffee.

Wah, suddenly sound all so serious as compared to ur prepare $10 post.. :s13:

Thumbs up lar..

kyteo79

job market in sg not gd now. retrenchment everywhere. if anyone goes to e2i at jurong east, u can see many Singaporean/PR at there seeking for job. Many are educated professional such as engineers, managers, senior executive with last drawn more than 4K in their last job.

no need ... kopitiam u can hear liao ...

iphone1s

Wah, suddenly sound all so serious as compared to ur prepare $10 post.. :s13:

Thumbs up lar..

14 February 2017*
352xxxxA*
BTO*
Punggol*
5-Room flat*
Your application for a 5-Room flat in Punggol under the February 2017 BTO exercise is being processed. The ballot results will be made known to you by April 2017.*
(You can print the acknowledgement page)

Another $10 post

:D:D:D

SecretAgent

i got $$
u got $$$
we got $$$$$!

yah bro... to sidetrack from this thread..

Everything also $$$$$$$$$$$

We all agrees that TS thinks very easy... Headhunted... signed contract, projected income.. debt is a good thing...

I think these logics are very much implanted by our dearest gov.

This is a whole new era nowadays... different from our parents times where the golden age, good years and iron rice bowls.

This age where banks can go bankrupt, gov can be toppled, whole industry can get wipe out with new technologies, economies are changing. There are no certainty such as based on annual growth rates, projected figures etc..

Disruptions are the new keyword now. Nothing is a certain!

TS's confidences is based on what? the only real confident is stacks of cold hard $1000 bank notes.

iphone1s

TS's confidences is based on what?

TS confidences is based on the fact that despite disruption is going on, it doesn't affect her/their lives.
TS confidences is based on the fact that they will not get sick.
TS confidences is based on the fact that they will only get increment of 17% p.a.
TS confidences is based on the fact that they will not get retrenched.
TS confidences is based on the fact that their $7,000 combine income is like a Amex Black Card
TS confidences is based on the fact that they will be able to pay off their EC as debt is good

SecretAgent

I think we scare off TS liao.

Let's help him lah.. Don't be so bad!

TS ... read here ..http://www.hdb.gov.sg/cs/infoweb/residential/buying-a-flat/new

Read under EC first since you are interested... I think EC max grant they give is 30k ... Pressume that it can be used for downpayment... Cheapest EC is still about 500k(not too sure if this is correct)... so do you have 20k cpf or cash to secure it? That's why in almost every post.. I ask if you have the $$$$$$ to go slam on HDB table to demand them to give you an EC!

If that is out of the question... you still have bto.. and you are in luck.. Max grant per household is 80k max!!! http://www.hdb.gov.sg/cs/infoweb/residential/buying-a-flat/new/first-timer-applicants

BUT is for combined household income of not more than 1.5k!!! Bummer! How are you going to do that if you str8 come out of study is 7k combined income? you can always go work security $1200 per mth... and your gf/wife to be how? she must also do something... HDB surely ask perfectly able graduate why don't go work etc? She can take up macdonalds or some cleaner job... but she will sure to get more than $650(my neighbour Ah mah earns more than that clearing bowls and plates at coffeeshop!). So total combined income during point of application(you have to have 1 yr min contribution mind you!) 2.5>x=>2k!

With 2k combined income for 1yr! you still can get 70k AHG/SHG!!! Congrats!!! :vijayadmin::s12:

kyteo79

yah bro... to sidetrack from this thread..

Everything also $$$$$$$$$$$

We all agrees that TS thinks very easy... Headhunted... signed contract, projected income.. debt is a good thing...

I think these logics are very much implanted by our dearest gov.

This is a whole new era nowadays... different from our parents times where the golden age, good years and iron rice bowls.

This age where banks can go bankrupt, gov can be toppled, whole industry can get wipe out with new technologies, economies are changing. There are no certainty such as based on annual growth rates, projected figures etc..

TS's confidences is based on what? the only real confident is stacks of cold hard $1000 bank notes.

dun like that lah ...

no money then rent out the house ... sure got money ..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.