Housing Dilemma

kyteo79

Ok .. sorry then I have to agree. TS got headhunted and guaranteed a yearly increment projection. He should be doing slightly better as he and gf secured a job even before graduating. He shouldn't be there queuing up same social benefits for the lesser incomes just to make use of the system for his own good!

I will take that back TS... Pls don't go try to tricks.. but frankly.. even if you wanna go work security guard for 1 yr... your gf willing to go do mcd? so drop this idea that i am trying to put into your head! :o

Back to the question... TS how much molars have you got? 100k boh? Now i mean... not loans, not grants etc... $$$$$$$ and CPF?!!!

Since you know so much ...

how about we support TS and his GF for the EC ? 5 years if never touch wood he fails and cannot pay his ec ... we makan can or not ? i am not keen on BTO

Can boh huh ? ie i pump 200k

iphone1s

how about we support TS and his GF for the EC ? 5 years if never touch wood he fails and cannot pay his ec ... we makan can or not ? i am not keen on BTO

I pump in $7k with the option of $200k should they default. LOL

SecretAgent

for what?

you do charity?

iphone1s

Brothers, lets not dwell in the disillusioned broth with TS. Whatever our advice is, if he/she takes it well and learn from it, we have a fellow HWZ forumner who can enjoy life with their family.

Should they choose not to, let them suffer their own consequences.

Yevin227

TS, to add on another example:

My sister (29) and my brother-in-law (32) recently got an EC in Yishun, 3 Bedder near 800k+.

Their income are combined 11k, my sis works as a teacher and my brother-in-law works in the construction industry as manager.

Both of them working around 5 years+ with stable jobs, so CPF got around 120k combined.

20% of 800k is 160k, 15% CPF, 5% Cash. So it is 120k CPF, 40k Cash. No grants whatsoever. For EC, if i'm not wrong they took a bank loan of 20 years for a principal of 650k+. Not sure how it works out every month, but definitely more than 2k+ from OA. CPF wipe out at the point of signing btw, and loan repayment start now, although EC still building.

My brother in-law told me this - He wanted to get a flat that NO NEED TO COME OUT CASH. (i.e. fully payable by CPF monies from him and my sister's CPF contribution). Keep in mind that CPF rates goes down as you age and BOTH of them MUST continue working for the next 20 years.

Recently my sister wants to quit her job, as she says teaching is too stressful, long hours. She wants to go do master or start her own business. But she can't. Why? A single income of 6k is not enough to pay off the EC via CPF alone. My bro-in-law would have to wipe out his salary monthly if my sis quits. So how? no choice lan lan suck thumb and continue to work for ah gong.

Is this the kind of scenario you want to be tied down in? I believe many younger EC buyers also haphazardly buy an EC like this without thinking about what the future might bring. Don't be fooled by sales promises of a 10 years privatization, returns on capital are all only good on paper. You sell your EC, then you stay where? under expressway?

I also had uni peers who, like you are trying to 'game' the system, apply 4-room BTO in non-mature to maximise grants for AHG and SHG while we were still schooling. They think that 'wow, free money from govt'. In fact, like many people said, the grants are not 'free'. There are interest payables on it, and the grants primary purpose is to help LOWER INCOME couple to pay off the down-payment. To be frank and curt, it really isn't meant to help you, since you income is >7k and going up. As they say, free things not good, good things not free.

Don't be fooled by the government la. They left hand give a grant, right hand use another form of punitive tax to take back. You think our government is kum gong? They run on air? End of the day the money has to come from somewhere, and it definitely isn't from their own pockets.

Yevin227

i invested in several industries some profit some losses.
for me no time open own business so invest on other people business lah ...

This is good. If I have the capital I also invest on other people. Running a business is stressful because of debts (see, TS?) and also suppliers everyday chasing. You cannot sleep one, I promise.

Everything comes with a risk la, but don't take too much that you can't stomach. Those people jump down from bedok reservoir is really no joke. Have seen first-hand how some people because of debt cut their lives short. Not worth it imo.

kyteo79

haiis, cant even sh*t maybe her $7k can. :s13:

oled 55 - 3.4k
sound system 1k
aircon - 8k (2 in living and all rooms @ 1/total 5 units + 3 compressor)
internet and wifi - 600 (MR 1 + 1)
sofa - 3k
kopi table - 300
dinning table plus chairs (marble) - less than 2k
Altar (if any) - 4.1k
1 king + 1 Queen = 8k (simmons)
Washing machine + dryer = 2k plus
automated laundry dryer = 1k
rinnai stove (japan) + fujioh sucker + oven - 2k plus
kitchen ceramic sink - duravit + grohe mixer = 4k less
Kagen water systems - 5.5k
Fridge - 1.5k

the list goes on ....

TS & GF - you better start saving hard ...

kyteo79

TS, to add on another example:

My sister (29) and my brother-in-law (32) recently got an EC in Yishun, 3 Bedder near 800k+.

Their income are combined 11k, my sis works as a teacher and my brother-in-law works in the construction industry as manager.

Both of them working around 5 years+ with stable jobs, so CPF got around 120k combined.

20% of 800k is 160k, 15% CPF, 5% Cash. So it is 120k CPF, 40k Cash. No grants whatsoever. For EC, if i'm not wrong they took a bank loan of 20 years for a principal of 650k+. Not sure how it works out every month, but definitely more than 2k+ from OA. CPF wipe out at the point of signing btw, and loan repayment start now, although EC still building.

My brother in-law told me this - He wanted to get a flat that NO NEED TO COME OUT CASH. (i.e. fully payable by CPF monies from him and my sister's CPF contribution). Keep in mind that CPF rates goes down as you age and BOTH of them MUST continue working for the next 20 years.

Recently my sister wants to quit her job, as she says teaching is too stressful, long hours. She wants to go do master or start her own business. But she can't. Why? A single income of 6k is not enough to pay off the EC via CPF alone. My bro-in-law would have to wipe out his salary monthly if my sis quits. So how? no choice lan lan suck thumb and continue to work for ah gong.

Is this the kind of scenario you want to be tied down in? I believe many younger EC buyers also haphazardly buy an EC like this without thinking about what the future might bring. Don't be fooled by sales promises of a 10 years privatization, returns on capital are all only good on paper. You sell your EC, then you stay where? under expressway?

I also had uni peers who, like you are trying to 'game' the system, apply 4-room BTO in non-mature to maximise grants for AHG and SHG while we were still schooling. They think that 'wow, free money from govt'. In fact, like many people said, the grants are not 'free'. There are interest payables on it, and the grants primary purpose is to help LOWER INCOME couple to pay off the down-payment. To be frank and curt, it really isn't meant to help you, since you income is >7k and going up. As they say, free things not good, good things not free.

Don't be fooled by the government la. They left hand give a grant, right hand use another form of punitive tax to take back. You think our government is kum gong? They run on air? End of the day the money has to come from somewhere, and it definitely isn't from their own pockets.

tax tax tax
stamp duty stamp duty stamp duty ...
OH PENALTY!!!!

kyteo79

This is good. If I have the capital I also invest on other people. Running a business is stressful because of debts (see, TS?) and also suppliers everyday chasing. You cannot sleep one, I promise.

Everything comes with a risk la, but don't take too much that you can't stomach. Those people jump down from bedok reservoir is really no joke. Have seen first-hand how some people because of debt cut their lives short. Not worth it imo.

Aiyoh ... if you know any let me know. i like to buy them a last meal / drink ...

SecretAgent

yes 5 digit sing yearly

6 digit is if he fails i take over the house lah ...

legally can boh ?

this one i dunno... have to ask ts's frens who is also doing legal if can do??!!

But srsly... the first question should be can get bto first or not... kenna a good bto is like striking a lottery.. if really get one... maybe ts can come ask here after he really asked to go select his unit. So many here tried until numb also cannot get...

SecretAgent

I think TS guai guai will apply for upcoming 3rm BTO liao. :s13:

..yup.. to be frank.. 3rm better chances these days.. like all first timers going for 4rm or 5m... or even EC...

... 3 rms are easier to get. I think 3rm falls very comfortable within 7k to 10k range without considering how loaded TS might be.

Ronaldo88

Knn y ppl cannot live a simple life..the house price now is inflated by greed..miw wan to keep it going so the young gen will pay for the old retirement..they just watch behind.

Yevin227

..yup.. to be frank.. 3rm better chances these days.. like all first timers going for 4rm or 5m... or even EC...

... 3 rms are easier to get. I think 3rm falls very comfortable within 7k to 10k range without considering how loaded TS might be.

Ok la. Actually less space, so you also not so tempted to buy stuff to stockpile. Sgrean favourite pastime. 'I may need this, I may need that'. I also guilty of it lol. Quality of life not really reflected in size or type of house. More importantly is your family, friends and how you grow as a person through your life ba.

4 rooms actually still quite comfortable for TS's salary projection. 5 room unless in non-mature, I won't really advice him to get as too expensive already in mature lol.

Raffles88

stay at hdb doesn't mean no money. stay at EC doesn't mean the owner is financially stable too. 1 economic recession can land anybody in their lowest form of life. Sometime I ask myself if brick of house can be eaten as meals?:s11:

Raffles88

Knn y ppl cannot live a simple life..the house price now is inflated by greed..miw wan to keep it going so the young gen will pay for the old retirement..they just watch behind.

all owners think their house can sell at 1 million after mop.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.