Housing Dilemma

kyteo79

Let's help him lah.. Don't be so bad!

TS ... read here ..http://www.hdb.gov.sg/cs/infoweb/residential/buying-a-flat/new

Read under EC first since you are interested... I think EC max grant they give is 30k ... Pressume that it can be used for downpayment... Cheapest EC is still about 500k(not too sure if this is correct)... so do you have 20k cpf or cash to secure it? That's why in almost every post.. I ask if you have the $$$$$$ to go slam on HDB table to demand them to give you an EC!

If that is out of the question... you still have bto.. and you are in luck.. Max grant per household is 80k max!!! http://www.hdb.gov.sg/cs/infoweb/residential/buying-a-flat/new/first-timer-applicants

BUT is for combined household income of not more than 1.5k!!! Bummer! How are you going to do that if you str8 come out of study is 7k combined income? you can always go work security $1200 per mth... and your gf/wife to be how? she must also do something... HDB surely ask perfectly able graduate why don't go work etc? She can take up macdonalds or some cleaner job... but she will sure to get more than $650(my neighbour Ah mah earns more than that clearing bowls and plates at coffeeshop!). So total combined income during point of application(you have to have 1 yr min contribution mind you!) ~2k!

With 2k combined income for 1yr! you still can get 70k AHG/SHG!!! Congrats!!! :vijayadmin::s12:

stop the bloody grant thing lah ... no money want talk 7k big kkj ...
40k grant or 80k grant is from where ? is from my tax contribution ...

Can i go your new bto sleep ??

Full of chao keng pple in our society ...

kyteo79

HUH?LAWYER TO BE some more suck my money ?

my money is for contribution to the building of the nation and not for you to think how to cheat the system so you and your gf can have a good life while i need to get a resale.

More talk more hot liao ...

kyteo79

Let's help him lah.. Don't be so bad!

TS ... read here ..http://www.hdb.gov.sg/cs/infoweb/residential/buying-a-flat/new

Read under EC first since you are interested... I think EC max grant they give is 30k ... Pressume that it can be used for downpayment... Cheapest EC is still about 500k(not too sure if this is correct)... so do you have 20k cpf or cash to secure it? That's why in almost every post.. I ask if you have the $$$$$$ to go slam on HDB table to demand them to give you an EC!

If that is out of the question... you still have bto.. and you are in luck.. Max grant per household is 80k max!!! http://www.hdb.gov.sg/cs/infoweb/residential/buying-a-flat/new/first-timer-applicants

BUT is for combined household income of not more than 1.5k!!! Bummer! How are you going to do that if you str8 come out of study is 7k combined income? you can always go work security $1200 per mth... and your gf/wife to be how? she must also do something... HDB surely ask perfectly able graduate why don't go work etc? She can take up macdonalds or some cleaner job... but she will sure to get more than $650(my neighbour Ah mah earns more than that clearing bowls and plates at coffeeshop!). So total combined income during point of application(you have to have 1 yr min contribution mind you!) 2.5>x=>2k!

With 2k combined income for 1yr! you still can get 70k AHG/SHG!!! Congrats!!! :vijayadmin::s12:

how you get loan if your salary so low ?

SecretAgent

Sorry lah bro.. I just trying to help TS...

Not trying to cheat the gov.. At least if he and his gf willing to go work of a min income... the gov will give them a decent grant for them to secure their first flat.

As for loan... don't forget there is that projected 10k after working 2~3 yrs.. And then loan thingie is at that point of payment when he most probably working for that coy which headhunted him.

Doable or not you tell him...

Yevin227

Just to offer TS some perspective here, since I'm only 26 and my gf is 27 this year. We plan to ROM in a few years as well, and have applied for a 4-room BTO in a mature estate (400 - 500k+?)

We have around 60k+ in our CPF till date, and have been running our own business for 2 years plus. Before that, She has been working for an IT company for 2 years odd, so we have just enough in CASH or CPF for a 4-room BTO in a mature estate w/o grants NOW. Of course if we can get, it's better la haha. But we don't need the grant and we can pay off 25% - 35% of the flat right now even before receiving the keys.

Right now, we don't make alot (definitely not your 7k+) but just enough to cover our opportunity costs as local uni graduates to fund our own business. In the next few years, we intend to expand (get a van, rent a shop etc.), so all these require capital. I'm sure your photog business has to budget for these considerations as well if you plan to make it full-time. If not it'll just remain a small fledgling forever.

What about personally? you have to budget for kids, reno, stamp, legal, parents' allowance, taxes, (multi-layered, mind you), illnesses, trips, luxuries, etc. This is just the beginning of your life journey, there would be much much more hidden expenses to come.

This year the economy is in downturn - don't kid yourself that it'll recover in half a year or a year even. Many businesses are not getting customers, and customers are tightening their purse strings. This is from first-hand experience, not hearsay. As others have mentioned, iron-clad jobs are also not safe. If you don't perform, you go. If company relocates (MNC), you go. If you're too expensive, you also go lol.

Point is - your future is not 100% rock solid, EVEN as a business owner. Think twice before shouldering a huge amount of housing debt. I have seen my peers and seniors who are older than me, who earn the same amount and plonk down to get a 4-room intending to flip in 5 years after MOP. All I can say is that it's not so easy to sell a flat. If your stars don't align, and your family is not super rich, then you're stuck with that debt for a long long time.

Side note: DEBT IS NOT GOOD. DEBT CAN KILL. CASH IS KING. If you have no cash, i would advise against thinking so much and try to BTO for a comfortable HOME for you and your spouse that you can pay off as soon as possible, so you have more cash for life's other contingencies. Good luck! :)

Take these 2 cents from someone who has been constantly in business debt since 2012 haha LOL.

iphone1s

not really too concerned with obtaining a heavy debt. We strongly believe that debt is good as long as we are able to pay off the installment.
QUOTE]

Seriously u all are the disillusioned one. I am also not spared this disillusion too.

TS mentioned she is NOT REALLY TOO CONCERN WITH OBTAINING A HEAVY DEBT. $7,000 can do wonders.

I feel I am quite stupid unlike her. In my wife's and my CPF, we can almost pay 3/4 of the unit we just BTOed in (including the legal fees and whatever not). Accumulate while waiting, and once they wipe everything out, we just need 3-4 years to pay it off without forking out a single cent.

Sigh, I need to talk to my wife liao. I need to follow TS to get a debt. because DEBT IS GOOD.

kyteo79

Sorry lah bro.. I just trying to help TS...

Not trying to cheat the gov.. At least if he and his gf willing to go work of a min income... the gov will give them a decent grant for them to secure their first flat.

As for loan... don't forget there is that projected 10k after working 2~3 yrs.. And then loan thingie is at that point of payment when he most probably working for that coy which headhunted him.

Doable or not you tell him...

dun get social service help if you are able.

jialat every year tharman say increase taxes for middle income ...

i dun mind tax to build better safer lift or mrt for public or the family but knn for kopitiam card or passion card or what ? worst i dun get any gst rebate or assistance. huh ? cos i middle income ?

hallo i buy not at subsidised rates and you shake the leg and get rewards after 5 years ? your school or teacher teach you like that huh ?

kyteo79

Just to offer TS some perspective here, since I'm only 26 and my gf is 27 this year. We plan to ROM in a few years as well, and have applied for a 4-room BTO in a mature estate (400 - 500k+?)

We have around 60k+ in our CPF till date, and have been running our own business for 2 years plus. Before that, She has been working for an IT company for 2 years odd, so we have just enough in CASH or CPF for a 4-room BTO in a mature estate w/o grants NOW. Of course if we can get, it's better la haha. But we don't need the grant and we can pay off 25% - 35% of the flat right now even before receiving the keys.

Right now, we don't make alot (definitely not your 7k+) but just enough to cover our opportunity costs as local uni graduates to fund our own business. In the next few years, we intend to expand (get a van, rent a shop etc.), so all these require capital. I'm sure your photog business has to budget for these considerations as well if you plan to make it full-time. If not it'll just remain a small fledgling forever.

What about personally? you have to budget for kids, reno, stamp, legal, parents' allowance, taxes, (multi-layered, mind you), illnesses, trips, luxuries, etc. This is just the beginning of your life journey, there would be much much more hidden expenses to come.

This year the economy is in downturn - don't kid yourself that it'll recover in half a year or a year even. Many businesses are not getting customers, and customers are tightening their purse strings. This is from first-hand experience, not hearsay. As others have mentioned, iron-clad jobs are also not safe. If you don't perform, you go. If company relocates (MNC), you go. If you're too expensive, you also go lol.

Point is - your future is not 100% rock solid, EVEN as a business owner. Think twice before shouldering a huge amount of housing debt. I have seen my peers and seniors who are older than me, who earn the same amount and plonk down to get a 4-room intending to flip in 5 years after MOP. All I can say is that it's not so easy to sell a flat. If your stars don't align, and your family is not super rich, then you're stuck with that debt for a long long time.

Side note: CASH IS KING. If you have no cash, i would advise against thinking so much and try to BTO for a comfortable HOME for you and your spouse that you can pay off as soon as possible, so you have more cash for life's other contingencies. Good luck! :)

steady this type down to earth.

your company need investor boh ?

iphone1s

my house duravit can boh ?

got dyson

got oled c6

got asus 1 + 1 MR wifi

i can uber executive you also

but you must pay me $$$

cos i now got $$

hehe

u got more than $7,000 combined with your wife? if you have ok. :s13:

Derlei09

Side note: DEBT IS NOT GOOD. DEBT CAN KILL. CASH IS KING. If you have no cash, i would advise against thinking so much and try to BTO for a comfortable HOME for you and your spouse that you can pay off as soon as possible, so you have more cash for life's other contingencies. Good luck! :)

Take these 2 cents from someone who has been constantly in business debt since 2012 haha LOL.

So True man i agree with you

kyteo79

not really too concerned with obtaining a heavy debt. We strongly believe that debt is good as long as we are able to pay off the installment.
QUOTE]

Seriously u all are the disillusioned one. I am also not spared this disillusion too.

TS mentioned she is NOT REALLY TOO CONCERN WITH OBTAINING A HEAVY DEBT. $7,000 can do wonders.

I feel I am quite stupid unlike her. In my wife's and my CPF, we can almost pay 3/4 of the unit we just BTOed in (including the legal fees and whatever not). Accumulate while waiting, and once they wipe everything out, we just need 3-4 years to pay it off without forking out a single cent.

Sigh, I need to talk to my wife liao. I need to follow TS to get a debt. because DEBT IS GOOD.

errr this i would like to realign ...

my case, if i alone without all the rules, i can pay fully single handed BTO.
EC maybe half or abit more. i CHOOSE resale because NO CHOICE. CHEAPER then new Developments (cause bigger anfd cheaper on PSF). LASTLY i got reserve.

You got boh ?

7k ?
wall hang duravit + greheit system
less than 2k
bravat conceal bath system with thermostat
duravit basin
bravat mixer

not even enough for 2 toilets ...

Derlei09

14 February 2017*
352xxxxA*
BTO*
Punggol*
5-Room flat*
Your application for a 5-Room flat in Punggol under the February 2017 BTO exercise is being processed. The ballot results will be made known to you by April 2017.*
(You can print the acknowledgement page)

Another $10 post

:D:D:D

ponggol nice place to stay..everyday can eat ponggol nasi lemak

iphone1s

errr this i would like to realign ...

my case, if i alone without all the rules, i can pay fully single handed BTO.
EC maybe half or abit more. i CHOOSE resale because NO CHOICE. CHEAPER then new Developments (cause bigger anfd cheaper on PSF). LASTLY i got reserve.

You got boh ?

7k ?
wall hang duravit + greheit system
less than 2k
bravat conceal bath system with thermostat
duravit basin
bravat mixer

not even enough for 2 toilets ...

haiis, cant even sh*t maybe her $7k can. :s13:

SecretAgent

dun get social service help if you are able.

jialat every year tharman say increase taxes for middle income ...

i dun mind tax to build better safer lift or mrt for public or the family but knn for kopitiam card or passion card or what ? worst i dun get any gst rebate or assistance. huh ? cos i middle income ?

hallo i buy not at subsidised rates and you shake the leg and get rewards after 5 years ? your school or teacher teach you like that huh ?

Ok .. sorry then I have to agree. TS got headhunted and guaranteed a yearly increment projection. He should be doing slightly better as he and gf secured a job even before graduating. He shouldn't be there queuing up same social benefits for the lesser incomes just to make use of the system for his own good!

I will take that back TS... Pls don't go try to tricks.. but frankly.. even if you wanna go work security guard for 1 yr... your gf willing to go do mcd? so drop this idea that i am trying to put into your head! :o

Back to the question... TS how much molars have you got? 100k boh? Now i mean... not loans, not grants etc... $$$$$$$ and CPF?!!!

kyteo79

u got more than $7,000 combined with your wife? if you have ok. :s13:

Humbly
mine is 5% yearly
Mine income exceed TS combine by 1 more $
single
conti 3l turbo sports
700 dollars from cpf and rest in cash
minimium 1 year reserve in cpf
cash ? balance ? $$$,$$$

GF ?
all data very confidential
I hope she buys 1 unit too...

i also take loan ... not because of the income but because of the reserves ...

kyteo79

More money always welcome, but cannot guarantee returns one la haha. Like TS say, PROJECTED!!

i invested in several industries some profit some losses.
for me no time open own business so invest on other people business lah ...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.