HTC Legend

tnatna

actually not surprising cos usually i find htc's reception not as good as nokia or motorola; kinda obvious for me cos my room is full of multiple black holes for reception. my past motorolas have been ridiculously good and never drop calls in my room, esp milestone.

I wouldn't call it bad reception but intermittent reception (even if for few secs) in these days is just plain crazy. :D:D

colin27

Actually the unibody is a blessing as well as a curse to the Legend since the antennae could only be situated at the bottom of the rubber parts and the metal body may interfere with the reception. I have no such problems with HTC's google nexus 1. :D

shapolang

bought mine from starhub a few hours ago. convinced the CSO to give me $100 voucher for re-contract. get cheapest surf 100 plan. so $348 - $100 = $248. and lucky to be first 100 - got a pair of kelly clarkson tickets. yay. may sell to recover some more cost.

thanks to poster about martin fields. are they the best screen protectors? anyone else as good or very close second?

can give address of places selling martin fields? thanks.

tnatna

true true...ironically, i sold my nexus just to buy the legend. hopefully the reception problem is only temporary. pls keep us posted!

Actually the unibody is a blessing as well as a curse to the Legend since the antennae could only be situated at the bottom of the rubber parts and the metal body may interfere with the reception. I have no such problems with HTC's google nexus 1. :D

colin27

I have been using MF for long time. Dependable and really good for amoled screens. The con is it cost sgd 24 and fingerprints can still be seen. So there are a lot of detractors against MF.

There arent any screen protectors (cheaper variants) for the Legend just yet..

colin27

ironically, i sold my nexus just to buy the legend

Me too!! Haha... When I was at the shop buying the Legend, I struuck up a conversation with an ang-moh and he was shocked that I sold my nexus for the Legend. :D:D

colin27

Try Mobilesquare at Far East. The other place will be DomL office in Chinatown at New Bridge Centre #05-302, 336 Smith Street. Price for both places same.

tnatna

do u have the reception problems that colin bro encountered?

bought mine from starhub a few hours ago. convinced the CSO to give me $100 voucher for re-contract. get cheapest surf 100 plan. so $348 - $100 = $248. and lucky to be first 100 - got a pair of kelly clarkston tickets. yay. may sell to recover some more cost.

thanks to poster about martin fields. are they the best screen protectors? anyone else as good or very close second?

shapolang

Try Mobilesquare at Far East. The other place will be DomL office in Chinatown at New Bridge Centre #05-302, 336 Smith Street. Price for both places same.

thanks for the info! only the best screen protector for my lovely phone. :)

new_bie

all same ans

pro - Build quality is just top notch.

negative - wifi & network reception come & go ..

reception problem can be resolve ??

kennyboy

i suppose the selling point is mostly the unibody and build quality, which seems to be pretty spot on so far from what i am reading elsewhere.

i just hope Legend does not have HD2's screwy messaging problems which has made HD2 super infamous.

yeah....the design is chio lah....

dun think will have HD2's messaging problem (thankfully solved mostly in firmware update, otherwise I would have gone crazy also), because it uses Android's default messaging right? or HTC overlay again?

bastero

Me too!! Haha... When I was at the shop buying the Legend, I struuck up a conversation with an ang-moh and he was shocked that I sold my nexus for the Legend. :D:D

Wow. U sold the nexus to get the legend?!:s31:

What makes you do that? the legend's unibody?

xypher

I'm sure people will wanna molest your phone when they see it. Its especially appealing to me since I learnt machining and milling before.

pighead79

bought mine from starhub a few hours ago. convinced the CSO to give me $100 voucher for re-contract. get cheapest surf 100 plan. so $348 - $100 = $248. and lucky to be first 100 - got a pair of kelly clarkson tickets. yay. may sell to recover some more cost.

wao! which starhub shop did you go to? I wanna try asking them to waive activation and sim card fee =)

canbedone

If its a reception problem then its really a big problem... its a basic function of a mobile phone...
Hope it can be fixed soon

aditzz

just got it from M1 and re-charging it. do we have to plug it out from charger when it's full?

legend still need screen protector? i thought i read somewhere saying that the screen already got some protective thingy already liao? :o

tnatna

this question comes up every time a new phone is released, doesn't it?

yes, unplug it from power when it is full; there is no need to charge for the proverbial '8 hours before use'.

To preempt the next qn, no need to fully discharge battery ie no need to let battery go completely flat before recharge.

is there a battery thread on the hwz forum or a sticky to discuss charging cycles and memory effect of Ni-Cd etc?

just got it from M1 and re-charging it. do we have to plug it out from charger when it's full?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.