Huawei Mate 10

maumu

YJepQYm.jpg

First time, play with Mate 10/Pro.

I'm okay with the front finger sensor. It is very easy to use than back sensor on the Pro.

The brown is nice. The black is too plasticky looks.

16:9 v 18:9, I take Mate 10 for sure coz the display is wider and therefore easy the type and more natural to my eyes when viewing anything. The bezel is so minimal on Mate 10..sex sia...

Note 8, in the other hand, curved sides, curved corners, curved back side and 18:9 and Samsung UI... ...I still don't like it. Yucks..

I should be going for Mate 10 soon... Brown. :)

4GB / 64GB is more than enough for me. Also, I like squarish phone design of Mate 10. I don't like round round and curvy phone design....

Since I'm looking for a good camera phone especially in low / night light. I know Note 8 is still the best but again Mate 10 camera is still quite good already. :)

Also, flat screen on Mate 10 is awesome. Flat screen is still the best. :)

Any idea why both phones side by side shows different weather info? :s11:

MichaelTan

How is the headphone sound out put quality?
Good question lah I forgot to mention. I play with these headphones a little bit. I usually use spotify extreme for source but sometimes I got some lossless (highly inconvenient).

I used (all wired) Focal Listen wired, Marshall monitor, Marshall Mode and some AKG I forgot the name earbuds, compared against Dragonfly DAC (using USB-C) and direct out (Mate 10). The Dragonfly red DAC outperforms the Mate 9 and Samsung latest series noticeably.

The Huawei Mate 10 as you know has a unknown 32bit 384K `lossless' audio DAC, and I was excited to try. It's amazing because you notice the clarity differences immediately even on my low end poor man's headphones. The audio is extremely clear and there were some new sounds I notice much more even on familiar songs, I'm so impressed. Try it for yourself, put some FLAC inside a USB-C drive and go to the demo units with your headphones and try. You will be freaking amazed bro.

If any of you guys found any material on experts' impressions please share. I am not an expert just a music lover. Also, I'm not using 32 bit files so any improvement I see in sound quality is not because of the `bits' but more in implementation and other aspects of the DAC quality.

MichaelTan

does anyone know if mate 10 pro supports double tap to wake?
not out of the box but I know there's a tweak you can do to do it but it may require root.

For the Mate 10 double tap is unnecessary because of front fingerprint sensor, single touch will do an screen on+unlock.

kelvinti

For me.

I'm using Mi Max now. Low light / night shot is a horror story.

Mate 10 camera should be good enough for me as an camera upgrade especially so in low light / night shots even though it can't beat Note 8. :)

Price wise, Mate 10 is so much cheaper than Note 8 too
.. :)

maumu

not out of the box but I know there's a tweak you can do to do it but it may require root.

For the Mate 10 double tap is unnecessary because of front fingerprint sensor, single touch will do an screen on+unlock.

unfortunately eyeing the pro, so no fingerprint in front...

wouldn't mind the normal mate 10 if only it has IP67/68.

kelvinti

Oh ya.

WhatsApp can recognize and sounds using own custom tone on Mate 10/Pro?

I mean I want to use my own imported custom tone for my WhatsApp instead of forced to use the phone default notification sound that comes with it...

kelvinti

Mate 10 has dual sound speaker output too. Loud, crisp and clear. Nice.

kelvinti

You also interested in Mate 10? Don't buy then sell away in a few days hor. Haha..

Hello, bro..

Mate 10, damn flat screen. 16:9, 5.9" screen and good low light / night shots dual camera...

The only phone that can replace my giant 6.4" Mi Max in term of camera upgrade for low light / night shots.

I know that Note 8 has even bigger 6.3" screen but the 18:9 ratio and curved screen design makes it not much bigger than a 16:9 flat screen Mate 10 at the end.

OutBreak

Hello, bro..

Mate 10, damn flat screen. 16:9, 5.9" screen and good low light / night shots dual camera...

The only phone that can replace my giant 6.4" Mi Max in term of camera upgrade for low light 7 night shots.

I know that Note 8 has even bigger 6.3" screen but the 18:9 ratio and curved screen design makes it not much bigger than a 16:9 flat screen Mate 10 at the end.

Indeed. I hope Huawei don't follow that Sammy curve screen crap..

sunht

I bought myself a Mate 10 yesterday. Because I compared video playback screens, the fatter Mate 10 screen could display significantly more comfortably and bigger. I really don't quite like 18:9 aspect ratio personally.

The phone is freaking fast, the screen is as bright as the Note 8 and Mate 10 Pro at max, and without launching 3 games in a row it won't restart the app with 4gb of RAM. Plus I bought a SanDisk A1 256GB card put inside and now I don't worry too much about speed degradation when installing app data (eg Hearthstone) on SD card.

Front fingerprint sensor is not perfect but I'm getting used to it. It's much better than Apple front sensor experience because of the extreme speed and accuracy of the Huawei's fingerprint sensor and the instant on+unlock behavior.

Battery life is stupendous much better than Mate 9. The firmware which came with the phone is already the debugged version no need any additional firmware for now.

In the beginning, before google play services updated (invisibly) apps seemed to crash but 10 minutes later after play services updated it was great no crashes so far with all the essential apps.

Phone and everything runs fast as ****. Wifi is finally MIMO class and is blazing fast (ipad class of speed). Overall I am very happy with the purchase. I bought brown.
Still can put two Sim card after putting a SD card inside right?

Sent from NEXUS 6P using GAGT

kelvinti

Alot of sellers but dunno receipt from reputable shop or not.. 2 years warranty, don't pray pray hor

From Qoo10, all same price at $888. I think I will order from Huawei official store lah. Got $50 cart voucher to offset too.

Total $838 with free delivery.

kelvinti

BTW,

The box contains the original data cable and back casing, right, from whoever or whatever shops you buy from?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.