I hate being born poor

paul02

Growing up sacrifices were made every day…. That’s all edit - for the people ridiculing me, thanks I guess and This was how I spent my early life. Thanks again for your time - reuse clothing donated from other relatives’ kids for manny years - use same pair of school shoes for few years since no $$ to buy new pair - only meal I had everyday for lunch for three years was cooked rice with water and salt coz no money to buy meat/ eggs - “helping” at relatives’ shophouse after school for some $$

Lance321

Also see how u define poor... have basic shelter and food also can be considered not poor even u dun have any savings.

Comparing to 3rd world or first world swiss std ? 😂 Dont forget more than 20 years ago we are promised swiss std of living. Of cos whether we achieved or not also very subjective ... but generally if u say salary and social welfare wise we maybe be close but definitely cannot match swiss std yet.

In Sg can say u will not be starving provided u know the right channel to get welfare/social assistance.
We have surpassed goh chock tong's vision in many ways like world-class healthcare with subsidies, more efficient urban living, cleanliness, safety, modern infrastructure, public housing, affordable dining, but negative nancies and oppies pretend that we are some poor, backwards country. Switzerland is not perfect and has expensive healthcare, old-age poverty and high taxes that affect the working class.

Mila Azul

Being born into poverty and complaining is understandable, as life can be difficult. However, it is hypocritical and infuriating to see wealthy brats living off their parents' fortune while protesting with the slogan "Eat the Rich."

rider83

Can post on EDMW means got hp/laptop with internet access a roof over your head and clothes to wear.

Be grateful and thankful. And remember to thank your parents for giving birth to u in SG, where the govt truly cares for every citizen

Dopod007

TS no fault to wear old clothes but is your fault to wear dirty clothes, same goes with old shoes.
Clothes do not define a person. Look at Mark Zuckerberg, Meta boss, he wears simple T shirts every day...

hachi

Asset rich cash poor for sinkies. They can’t eat their housing and cpf balances assets
But most like to buy the most expensive housing they can have?

Even my low income frd does that... Got queue choose unit, wanted high floor. But loan not aporove. I ask him, level 2, 60k cheaper... He wanted higher level.

Even level 2 he also not quality for the loan... Ask him to top up 30k. No money... 2 adults add togther almost 100yo. Ask 30k cash... No money...

mocax

heng moi ish born rich... then become poor... then become middle.... get to experience all then 看破紅塵 ish no longer attached too much to material world... :frown:

PhantomOpera

I also born poor but in a family full of love. Parents lowly educated and they work long hours still no $. Important is what you did to uplift your life and what you have now. What’s in the past is over

d5dude

Growing up sacrifices were made every day…. That’s all

edit - for the people ridiculing me, thanks I guess

and This was how I spent my early life. Thanks again for your time

- reuse clothing donated from other relatives’ kids for manny years

- use same pair of school shoes for few years since no $$ to buy new pair

- only meal I had everyday for lunch for three years was cooked rice with water and salt coz no money to buy meat/ eggs

- “helping” at relatives’ shophouse after school for some $$

Sounds jialat, this is like bottom 10% of the population type of poverty...

Visor9999

But most like to buy the most expensive housing they can have?

Even my low income frd does that... Got queue choose unit, wanted high floor. But loan not aporove. I ask him, level 2, 60k cheaper... He wanted higher level.

Even level 2 he also not quality for the loan... Ask him to top up 30k. No money... 2 adults add togther almost 100yo. Ask 30k cash... No money...

No choice for him. For BTO must get the highest floor, best unit to increase resale value after 5 years for a pot of gold

hachi

No choice for him. For BTO must get the highest floor, best unit to increase resale value after 5 years for a pot of gold
Yeah, you cannot even open the door because of his refusal to work when he was young and strong. Talk about opportunities!

He got a very good queue number but too bad. Income too low to qualify for the amount of loan.

Kanko San

We have surpassed goh chock tong's vision in many ways like world-class healthcare with subsidies, more efficient urban living, cleanliness, safety, modern infrastructure, public housing, affordable dining, but negative nancies and oppies pretend that we are some poor, backwards country. Switzerland is not perfect and has expensive healthcare, old-age poverty and high taxes that affect the working class.

Please dont mention his name.

The way, from this comment. $60k is small peanut. Pui

hachi

I also born poor but in a family full of love. Parents lowly educated and they work long hours still no $. Important is what you did to uplift your life and what you have now. What’s in the past is over
Yes I also born with plastic spoon. So what... Just work hard and smart. Decent life for me.

hachi

Those poor old people clean toilet or wash dishes, one year, cant earn $40k
Talk to them.. You will know what kind of poor choices they made during their younger days... Got isolated cases. But many said last gen is the best gen
.. Right... Then why need to work till old age?

doratch

Growing up sacrifices were made every day…. That’s all

edit - for the people ridiculing me, thanks I guess

and This was how I spent my early life. Thanks again for your time

- reuse clothing donated from other relatives’ kids for manny years

- use same pair of school shoes for few years since no $$ to buy new pair

- only meal I had everyday for lunch for three years was cooked rice with water and salt coz no money to buy meat/ eggs

- “helping” at relatives’ shophouse after school for some $$

Lao auntie me, is 过来人!

It takes a lot of hard work to break out from poverty.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.