IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

radon

I still must share a old p2 labby with thick base that weight 5+kg with my colleague. So don't complain so much.
If not happy with the coy one then buy a new one yourself. Can the latest & best model.

usjag_18

Hey guys, recently, my family is interested in getting IBM Thinkpad T43 but hor, I got some reserved feelings. Especially, after Leveno had merged with IBM. Will this affects the 3-yrs international warranty deals?

Anyway, is Leveno owned IBM totally now? I am a bit confused w/the merger...

Kenshin79

for the next 4 years at least, nothing will change for service & warranty.
IBM service centres worldwide will still cover servicing of the notebook. there is not much change for end-user.
the main thing is, Lenevo purchase the business unit and production department. this brings down cost of manufacturing, thus options are now cheaper for ThinkPad. plus, the profit margin is too low for IBM, hence they find it not viable to continue to produce ThinkPads. Hence Lenevo step in to take over the production and business unit. Lenevo being the largest manufacturer in China is able to bring down the cost and also using their own influence, able to penetrate more markets with the ThinkPad trademark. The core is still the same though.

usjag_18

Kenshin79 said:
for the next 4 years at least, nothing will change for service & warranty.
IBM service centres worldwide will still cover servicing of the notebook. there is not much change for end-user.
the main thing is, Lenevo purchase the business unit and production department. this brings down cost of manufacturing, thus options are now cheaper for ThinkPad. plus, the profit margin is too low for IBM, hence they find it not viable to continue to produce ThinkPads. Hence Lenevo step in to take over the production and business unit. Lenevo being the largest manufacturer in China is able to bring down the cost and also using their own influence, able to penetrate more markets with the ThinkPad trademark. The core is still the same though.

Firstly, thanks for clearing my doubts. So does that also meant that IBM is only merging with Leveno for Thinkpad, not their other sections, right?

naro

usjag_18 said:
Firstly, thanks for clearing my doubts. So does that also meant that IBM is only merging with Leveno for Thinkpad, not their other sections, right?

Lenovo, a China company, had already bought over IBM's PC division.

that includes IBM's Thinkpad notebooks and Thinkcentre PCs..

ktizo

just got my T43

have to say that the performance is just so so, I still prefer the feel of my old T21, must say that I'm quite disapointed with this new batch. I have 1.5GB ram, but still not very satisfied...

shadowandy

ktizo said:
have to say that the performance is just so so, I still prefer the feel of my old T21, must say that I'm quite disapointed with this new batch. I have 1.5GB ram, but still not very satisfied...

1.5GB... wat are u going to do with the machine?!

ktizo

its not enough when you're running VMWARE with another 2 OS running concurrently. disappointed

YewBoon

ktizo said:

1.5gb RAM. that's stunning. i am satisfied with my T41 on 512mb of RAM :D

lgonzo1

thinkpad r32

had to replace cmos battery now i get error 0271 and get get past the next part where theres a pic of a lock can anyone help me

shadowandy

ktizo said:
its not enough when you're running VMWARE with another 2 OS running concurrently. disappointed

Why do u need to run so many os concurrently?

zoviet

Does Multi-burner Drive inc DVD-Dual-Layer?

Hi all,
Sorry for my ignorance, but I am going to buy a T43 machine soon n is thinking of whether of upgrade it to with Multi-burner Drive, and i wish to know does the Multi-burner Drive inc the capability of DVD Dual Layer R/W? Please enlighten me.. Thanks..

docslayer

Does anyone here uses a screen protector for their T43 or similar 15 inch model? Maybe you can share where you got it.
Thanks!

naro

i'm using 2gb loh.. but dun feel the kick liao..

lowering to 1gb liao..

YewBoon

docslayer said:
Does anyone here uses a screen protector for their T43 or similar 15 inch model? Maybe you can share where you got it.
Thanks!

wow. this is nice. T41 have boh?

akaike

T41 User

I gotten this T41 some time last yr and sent it in THREE times and gotten the Optical Drive changed and HDD changed. Think the HDD is still a bit too noisy which my fren who is Laptop Engineer elsewhere gave his very objective view that I should be careful cos HDD being this noisy isn't that good sign.

Then I also realised that even after changing the Optical Drive, I recently tried to watch some DVDs drama but very disappointed that the media got hung either at the 2nd hour part.... or if not... these days... hung right form the beginning... I thot maybe prob is my DVDs... btu used the same DVDs on my fren's notebook... it worked perfectly well... no glitches.

Any advices? Thanks a lot...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.