IBM ThinkPad Users' Group

S

superfly

I have an IBM T40 and I want to upgrade my harddisk (currently 40GB 5400rpm) to a bigger one (80GB). Can I upgrade to a 7200rpm harddisk instead of a 5400rpm one? Is a 7200rpm harddisk compatible with my IBM T40? Thanks!

pshken

R50e user! =) i will liek to check if i go down sls and get a kingston ram and add in will it work or i must get ram frm ibm?

undiscern

X21 users:

help! my hdd is failing soon, i would like to know the following:

1. Replace internal HDD (must it be from IBM)? Can get any brand off shelf at SLS?

2. Can I boot and run (win2000) my X21 from an external USB HDD?

Thanks!

Nakedtoes

New IBM ThinkPad R51e user... Free from Singnet.. =:p Not bad compare to my previous lappy

caliber

wat abt the x41 tablet???

hows the tablet, can anyone tell me???

why didnt they make a x60 tablet...

haiz

babyedit

Cypher02 said:
wow X60 huh. how's it man? dual core somemore..

haha dunno how fast it is compare to my 1.60ghz, maybe oneday must use timer and test, click and see which application load 1st. but when multitasking, i dun think i even lost my patient with it before.

really small and slim and light lor. it is even smaller and slimmer then previous x series.
i just protect it with my lappie sleeve and into my normal backpack and there i go. hahaha together with other heavy stuff in my bag, sometimes i forgot i am carrying a lappie. why say sometimes cos. most of the time i just scare it will be stolen from me when i am away from my bag. but stolen also never cos. it got 6-month insurance against accidental damage and theft but hor got confidential stuff inside lah.

keke 3 simple words to say abt my x60 lah, small, slim, powerful.

tessss

Hello guys, is the intel graphics in new IBM T and X series able to play some normal games, and what type of games are too "graphic consuming" that IBM laptops cannot handle.

frozened

games like World of warcraft and onwards. Will not run smoothly at low settings.
Best to wait for the IBM T60p its a much better notebook for 3d mmorpg gaming.
IBM T60p comes with a ATI Mobility X1400 or a ATI Mobility FireGL V5200 graphics card. The latter is better than X1400 in terms of performance.

tan_b_t

frozened said:
games like World of warcraft and onwards. Will not run smoothly at low settings.
Best to wait for the IBM T60p its a much better notebook for 3d mmorpg gaming.
IBM T60p comes with a ATI Mobility X1400 or a ATI Mobility FireGL V5200 graphics card. The latter is better than X1400 in terms of performance.

Don't fully agree that the V5200 is more suitable for 3D gaming, since it is not meant for better gaiming. You likely would not get as good result for gaming, as compared to other gaming graphics card.

Btw, I'm using the T43p with V3200, and still have problems running Oblivion at medium setting smoothly. It can run most games very well, just that you may not be able to use the best graphics settings.

So, if primary usage is for games, I think other notebooks might be a better option. But for other applications and usages, coupled with some gaming. Thinkpads shd still stand out quite well.

frozened

tan_b_t said:
Don't fully agree that the V5200 is more suitable for 3D gaming, since it is not meant for better gaiming. You likely would not get as good result for gaming, as compared to other gaming graphics card.

Btw, I'm using the T43p with V3200, and still have problems running Oblivion at medium setting smoothly. It can run most games very well, just that you may not be able to use the best graphics settings.

So, if primary usage is for games, I think other notebooks might be a better option. But for other applications and usages, coupled with some gaming. Thinkpads shd still stand out quite well.

i can agree with you as notebooks are not meant for gaming unless you get those with high end dedicated graphics which will cost alot. The Thinkpad T60p costs SGD 7-7.8k it has been tested by users it runs WOW at medium settings smoothly :)

a V3200 is incomparable to a V5200

tessss

That t60p cost 7000 dollars, that is so so expensive, who is going to buy that.

Another question i have in mind is that the current T60 with intel graphics is able to process designing softwares smoothly or not. Will it run softwares like photoshop or flashMX or video editing softwares. Because i will be using it in school, I need to use programs like autocad or some other graphic intensive programs other than games. One more thing is that when windows vista is launched, will it support.

I really like the IBM t60, but graphics is my main concern now. Thanks i advance.

frozened

tessss said:
That t60p cost 7000 dollars, that is so so expensive, who is going to buy that.

Another question i have in mind is that the current T60 with intel graphics is able to process designing softwares smoothly or not. Will it run softwares like photoshop or flashMX or video editing softwares. Because i will be using it in school, I need to use programs like autocad or some other graphic intensive programs other than games. One more thing is that when windows vista is launched, will it support.

I really like the IBM t60, but graphics is my main concern now. Thanks i advance.

the answer is no :)
why not choose the macbook pro? since there is the dual os now. its worth a try imo. the graphics card is no doubt a winner for your graphic intensive programs and gaming.

cscs3

frozened said:
the answer is no :)
why not choose the macbook pro? since there is the dual os now. its worth a try imo. the graphics card is no doubt a winner for your graphic intensive programs and gaming.

Is the standard ATi series anyway.
MA950 is good enough.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.