Installing New OBU Tomorrow

melankholy

Thought I'd hate the obu aesthetics but it's ok actually. What I don't like is that some gantries are struggling to read it.

standarture

Still one of the worst designed equipment in the world. Even 80s tech is better.

tomsss

Thank you for your reply.

So u did with a "display connector " on standby to plug the display screen anytime ?

I will be installing the OBU thru my AD . My friend who got the same ride as me already installed with the screen and he actually told me the info from screen is rather very useful 😁.
most installer bundle the wires on the driver side, so i got my installer to stick out the connector to the display somewhere near the accelerator area opening. just need to reach in there, pull out the connector to connect

alternatively, you can install the display at the top right corner of the windscreen lor. outside got sell this display adapter that doesn't protude the display that out and into your face

obu_display_reposition_using_s_1743674687_17740631_progressive.jpg

Emperor_Hippo

Thank you for your reply.

So u did with a "display connector " on standby to plug the display screen anytime ?

I will be installing the OBU thru my AD . My friend who got the same ride as me already installed with the screen and he actually told me the info from screen is rather very useful 😁.
useful? :s13:

if your car have carplay, you can just download the ERP2.0 app and let it just show on ur carplay screen. i mean, whatever info (bus lane timing, expressway timing), all should be built into your head liao and kinda redundant.

somemore, it doesn't pre-activate in a sense where when u are about to start your journey, the info flashes out.

it only flashes out when you are in the area. means its split second (or split minute) decision for u whether to take a certain expressway or exit bus lane immediately. Its redundant for older drivers.

Emperor_Hippo

Thought I'd hate the obu aesthetics but it's ok actually. What I don't like is that some gantries are struggling to read it.
actually its as bad as the older IU.

my older 2nd gen IU also face occasional issue. this ERP2.0 antenna also happens.

jtjt00

Hi. I am going to install the new OBU by end Dec 2025. After reading some comments here. I have decided not to install the display screen. (car coe is going to expire in Jan 2027)

Any thing I need to take note of if I opted out the display screen ? Any beep sound or volume adjustment be done without the screen control ?
Without the screen, when the OBU beep you have no idea what the beep sound mean. Can be police camera, silver zone, bus lane in effect or road closure.

LoUsyGamER

They can do driver side installation as well but not sure if it's comfortable for the driver
The only place I think comfortable is below the driver seats.

If one day erp2.0 becomes mandatory, then I will give have it under my seat, no screen, no sound, no card slot in. :ROFLMAO:

Had been using erp online payment and satisfied with the results.

Emperor_Hippo

It is the big unit beside passenger leg that is the most obstructing.
depends. it can be a good leg warmer.

i do have the option of putting it in my glove compartment actually, because there is a pre-cut out in there that fits the size of some card reader for overseas market.

just kinda lazy and busy to bring to workshop to shift for now.

Emperor_Hippo

Without the screen, when the OBU beep you have no idea what the beep sound mean. Can be police camera, silver zone, bus lane in effect or road closure.
ERP2.0 app, use carplay.

The beep does serve to call for attention, but damn annoying as well at the end of a long day too.

byfun

Hi. I am going to install the new OBU by end Dec 2025. After reading some comments here. I have decided not to install the display screen. (car coe is going to expire in Jan 2027)

Any thing I need to take note of if I opted out the display screen ? Any beep sound or volume adjustment be done without the screen control ?

Install better. Anyway u can dismantle it from the holder and place it flat with ur dashboard if u dun wish to use it.

melankholy

The only place I think comfortable is below the driver seats.

If one day erp2.0 becomes mandatory, then I will give have it under my seat, no screen, no sound, no card slot in. :ROFLMAO:

Had been using erp online payment and satisfied with the results.
Hard to fiddle around with the cash card if below the driver seat. I can see myself cursing and swearing at gantries that can't detect my OBU and I need to tap insert cashcard

Vanyel

i find the screen useful actually
can see the cashcard balance clearly and also bus lanes prompt

LoUsyGamER

depends. it can be a good leg warmer.

i do have the option of putting it in my glove compartment actually, because there is a pre-cut out in there that fits the size of some card reader for overseas market.

just kinda lazy and busy to bring to workshop to shift for now.
Haha. wont need to shift it.

I had seen people glove compartment cracks due to the ERP2.0 installed there. Maybe is ws not used to install there.

keenklee

Hard to fiddle around with the cash card if below the driver seat. I can see myself cursing and swearing at gantries that can't detect my OBU and I need to tap insert cashcard
IMHO.
Can buy OBU card extension.

winningeleven

useful? :s13:

if your car have carplay, you can just download the ERP2.0 app and let it just show on ur carplay screen. i mean, whatever info (bus lane timing, expressway timing), all should be built into your head liao and kinda redundant.

somemore, it doesn't pre-activate in a sense where when u are about to start your journey, the info flashes out.

it only flashes out when you are in the area. means its split second (or split minute) decision for u whether to take a certain expressway or exit bus lane immediately. Its redundant for older drivers.

My current car was bought in 2016. It was a stock infotainment unit. Didn't have any android auto or carplay .

I dont know govt want to waste money to provide new OBU on the car that going to scarp anytime from year 2026 to 2027.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.