Installing New OBU Tomorrow

Emperor_Hippo

I recall the processing unit wiring not very long. Is the screen wiring very long. Depends how the technician wires for your car. Ya, the screen control most of the functions.
Maybe tonight I pull my torch and see can do any car gymnastics with the IU unit or not.

Think need to dismantle the panel. Damn sian.

ask_yip

Installation done within 2 hours
I asked the workshop to install the screen inside a bit
Can mute the sound via the screen
Can dim the display via the screen
Card unit installed at the bottom of driver seat, accessible is not an issue

So far touch wood no hang no beep no heat up

mel1888

dependent on your make and model, try not to install the main unit next to your leg , like this circled one

MSN-Featured-20-1200x900.png

i tried on a friend's car and that thing was in the fugging way of my left leg, very gao wei. after driving about an hour, that thing is warm.
Damn that was my ideal spot if i change...guess not now

eurofunk

Don’t install screen and ask installer disable sound. Many people holding out not to install and wait for next gen erp the satellite one…this one is really clear stock and die die cannot admit oversight

prudie

My Obu is below the steering wheel . Screen is placed on top of the windscreen with a special oem holder. No need eyesore. I am happy with my set up

maosaikopi

moi ish waiting for pedestrian kena bang at crossing and driver blame on screen blindspot

see how lta sexplain this time

OneUpsize

i have a question. did anyone of you have a big chunk of film sliced off your internal windscreen to attach the obu? the amount sliced off is larger than what is required for the obu size.

Spirax

Current obu version are ver.2501

Notice the card holder will heat up when card are inserted

coyote

Actually, I am beginning to believe edmwers are really making a mountain out of a molehill... After my installation in end May, I just left the screen there untouched till now, it's inconspicuous enough not affecting me in anyway but it's smart enough to alert me of speed cameras I previously did not know existed. I am short and I am in a mid size SUV, still it's super easy to reach for the cash card from the reader or whatever you call it. Those complaining having difficulties reaching for the cash cash from the driver seat must be super short. Of course I knew it's using satellite to track our car's whereabouts... If any Singaporean families gone missing in Malaysia or Thailand road trips, pretty sure the authorities can track our last whereabouts.... potentially the next news we are going to hear from now onwards....

So, to most Singapore drivers, it's really a none event. 🤷 Probably same as the ezlink versus simplygo thing.

marshmallow96

got any answers on this to share?
asking for a friend
:frown:
I installed at Vicom liao… they don’t have all those extras like the outside workshop, but I feel la at least Vicom is trustworthy, and the whole experience was pleasant. They will discuss with you where you wanna install the different parts, but for the OBU screen they will only put on the right side of the driver seat near the current IU. You can discuss with them to do fine adjustments (higher/lower etc)

I went to the one at Bukit Batok

zzzzzzz

I installed at Vicom liao… they don’t have all those extras like the outside workshop, but I feel la at least Vicom is trustworthy, and the whole experience was pleasant. They will discuss with you where you wanna install the different parts, but for the OBU screen they will only put on the right side of the driver seat near the current IU. You can discuss with them to do fine adjustments (higher/lower etc)

I went to the one at Bukit Batok
thanks for sharing

marshmallow96

thanks for sharing
actually not too bad after seeing the real thing... all the while my own phone holder was just in front of the old IU... now the OBU screen is at the place of the old IU. my phone holder not affected, but the OBU screen half blocked, cannot see the available carpark lots numbers :s13:

the installer also explained that if possible, better to put the card unit at the passenger side. Besides it getting warm when you drive long, if install at passenger side they only need to use mounting tape, but if install at driver side, they need to drill to secure it - safety measure so it won't disturb/distract the driver if it drops while driving

winningeleven

Hi. I am going to install the new OBU by end Dec 2025. After reading some comments here. I have decided not to install the display screen. (car coe is going to expire in Jan 2027)

Any thing I need to take note of if I opted out the display screen ? Any beep sound or volume adjustment be done without the screen control ?

tomsss

Hi. I am going to install the new OBU by end Dec 2025. After reading some comments here. I have decided not to install the display screen. (car coe is going to expire in Jan 2027)

Any thing I need to take note of if I opted out the display screen ? Any beep sound or volume adjustment be done without the screen control ?

you can't adjust volume or screen brightness without the display

suggest you tell the installer to put the display connector in a location that is easy to access, so you can plug in the display when you need adjust or read the QR code to pair with phone as display

winningeleven

you can't adjust volume or screen brightness without the display

suggest you tell the installer to put the display connector in a location that is easy to access, so you can plug in the display when you need adjust or read the QR code to pair with phone as display

Thank you for your reply.

So u did with a "display connector " on standby to plug the display screen anytime ?

I will be installing the OBU thru my AD . My friend who got the same ride as me already installed with the screen and he actually told me the info from screen is rather very useful 😁.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.