Installing New OBU Tomorrow

Sango123

New OBU will alert the driver on speed limits, school zone etc

I just installed it about 2 weeks ago. In general it is working fine except once. I turned off the cashcard payment as i used a complimentary ticket. It couldnt be turn back on for the rest of the 20-25min trip. When i park my car, i turn off the engine and restart then ok. I think the system hang as there was no response from touching the settings as well

eurofunk

It’s really silly they implement this thing which blocks views of drivers…then some ppl have to go spend $68-$98 to buy some silly bracket which prolly cost $10 to make in China….wat are these group of ppl and talent thinking

own lousy implementation become drivers problem…big joke yet still all sheep and just follow blindly swallow wat others shove down their throat lol

these clowns should go take a que from China…

Subprimer

It’s really silly they implement this thing which blocks views of drivers…then some ppl have to go spend $68-$98 to buy some silly bracket which prolly cost $10 to make in China….wat are these group of ppl and talent thinking

own lousy implementation become drivers problem…big joke yet still all sheep and just follow blindly swallow wat others shove down their throat lol

that's why sinks are easy to control, whatever shat you throw at them, they will swallow.

Dividends

Yeah, as someone who likes my dashboard clean, I won't be installing that huge ugly screen. I don't even have my phone on a mount since I use android auto with my head unit.

elimmel

with the old ERP1.0 I also kena this problem.

not a unique problem to ERP2.0. is the stupid reader at the gantry beh kan.

go pui chao nua at carpark operator.
i don't buy this reason. the gantries are various and most are new, up to date ones. not those lao kok kok gantries which i agree erp1.0 also may have issues. oh well, just have to keep the flexibility up for reach and tap...

the_dog

Might want to ask them to install the screen first to disable the warning sounds, then remove it. I have yet to install but I heard they can be quite annoying, will beep when you enter school zone, bus lane, when there is a traffic cam.

Also, unless they've updated the app, I think you can't disable those warning beeps on the phone app.

The beeps are the main reason I am holding off installing the whole new system on my car

One of the family cars which luckily I seldom drive has the new IU and good lord, the beeps are so annoying. Haven't found a way to turn the alerts off

Emperor_Hippo

i don't buy this reason. the gantries are various and most are new, up to date ones. not those lao kok kok gantries which i agree erp1.0 also may have issues. oh well, just have to keep the flexibility up for reach and tap...
no leh.

i kena at least once with old IU and new IU on these "new gantry".

every now and den still will kena the same error.

rtfm38

Just install the processing unit under your seat. Don't need the screen.

Just use ezlink cardless for erp and car park.

In case car park cannot use ezlink card less function, just use cash card to tap or insert the gantry.
haha if install under seat, got to get out of car, kneel down and blindly try to find your unit under your seat?

GreatPumpkin

I was thinking of installing the OBU inside the frunk.

But that place has no insulation so damn scared will chibaboom

coyote

the holder may damage ur window film.

yes u can. but i dun wanna go through that hassle, so i just tell my SE off the bat "don't install screen!!" on my new car.

reminded him 3 times abt it in fact.

The uv film is inside, not outside?

Mine is 7 years old car, guess it does not matter? I do consider renewing coe if the prices of car still as expensive as now.

coyote

Plug in screen not hard. It is as easy as changing your home's bulb.

Unless you tell me it is as hard as installing canbus display. 😂

Ok. So, ask them leave the power connector what not on the dashboard and just don't put a suction pad on the windscreen? So that anytime, I need to reset anything, I can just plug the screen back on and do the adjustment?

LoUsyGamER

Ok. So, ask them leave the power connector what not on the dashboard and just don't put a suction pad on the windscreen? So that anytime, I need to reset anything, I can just plug the screen back on and do the adjustment?
I recall the processing unit wiring not very long. Is the screen wiring very long. Depends how the technician wires for your car. Ya, the screen control most of the functions.

Emperor_Hippo

The uv film is inside, not outside?

Mine is 7 years old car, guess it does not matter? I do consider renewing coe if the prices of car still as expensive as now.
Yah. UV film is inside. So putting that holder on ur windscreen might damage the UV film.

Anyway, if u really ask me. Since urs is 7yrs old car, don't bother installing until they come FINAL WARNING REMINDER LETTER. Or until u change ur ride.

But that's me.

I changed mine cos I changed car last year August and despite my best effort, I couldn't install the old IU. So end up suck thumb. But I still went without a screen despite all the scaremongering. And truth be told, I never needed the screen. Just old schoolz stylez, work perfectly well.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.