InstaReM's AMAZE MasterCard

cassowary18

Alamak, then amaze is not so amazing liao…

What is the deciding factor for using amaze vs original credit card?
If it's merchant specific promo, use original credit card.
If it's category/MCC specific promo, can use Amaze.

For example, according to Maybank F&F terms and conditions:
8% cashback for groceries, defined as MCC 5411. OK to use Amaze at NTUC.
8% cashback at POPULAR bookstores (merchant specific). Not OK to use Amaze.

wira

If it's merchant specific promo, use original credit card.
If it's category/MCC specific promo, can use Amaze.

For example, according to Maybank F&F terms and conditions:
8% cashback for groceries, defined as MCC 5411. OK to use Amaze at NTUC.
8% cashback at POPULAR bookstores (merchant specific). Not OK to use Amaze.
also in scenario where need to use original credit card to get discounts, for eg, Petrol purchase using DBS Esso card or X% discount at restaurants using certain cards, then need to use original card instead of Amaze

ekardo

great tips guys! learning...

summary, like Citi Premiermiles will be perfect to use with Amaze since the miles earn is by spending is not by specific category ?

where else, for rebates one will be more tricky..

Trazora

great tips guys! learning...

summary, like Citi Premiermiles will be perfect to use with Amaze since the miles earn is by spending is not by specific category ?

where else, for rebates one will be more tricky..
citi premiermiles only 1.2 mpd and similar exclusions as dbs wwmc or citi rewards mastercard that gives 4mpd, better to use the latter if spending within the $2k+$1k per month?

ekardo

citi premiermiles only 1.2 mpd and similar exclusions as dbs wwmc or citi rewards mastercard that gives 4mpd, better to use the latter if spending within the $2k+$1k per month?
problem is I using Premiermiles for donkey years already..lotsa points chalking inside..

wira

yeah my plan is to use Citi rewards first and DBS WWMC . once i spend $3K on these 2 cards, will use citi premier or dbs altitude as my general spending card.

Trazora

yeah my plan is to use Citi rewards first and DBS WWMC . once i spend $3K on these 2 cards, will use citi premier or dbs altitude as my general spending card.
there are still other 4mpd cards like hsbc revolution and uob ppv.

wira

there are still other 4mpd cards like hsbc revolution and uob ppv.
hsbc revolution card only provide 4 mpd for specific mcc code txn so maybe will only use those for dining or shopping unlike citi rewards or dbs wmc where all onine txn qualifies 4 mpd right ( provided amaze still converts all txn to online ) ?

havent explored uob ppv. does it provide 4 mpd for all mobile payment txn ?

RedsYWNA

Actually Amaze is good for almost anything if you ok with miles, cos can get 10× points +1% if link Amaze with wwmc or citi rewards mastercard, so long mcc not excluded. Use other cards if spend more than $2k+$1k monthly or can get more than 10xpoints+1%. Amaze also good to pair with Maybank family amd friends or Citibank cashback card if you spending in the selected categories for 8%, but need min $800 monthly spend.
Agreed. I pair Amaze with POSB everyday savings card, Maybank Family and Friends, and SCB Unlimited cashback.

For overseas purchases, it's honestly quite gd, compared to youtrip and revolut. Not a fan of Instarem's remittance services though, when compared to Dash and Revolut.

Trazora

problem is I using Premiermiles for donkey years already..lotsa points chalking inside..
dun think this is a problem. Even if you have lots of points on citi pm does it mean need to continue using the card?

Trazora

hsbc revolution card only provide 4 mpd for specific mcc code txn so maybe will only use those for dining or shopping unlike citi rewards or dbs wmc where all onine txn qualifies 4 mpd right ( provided amaze still converts all txn to online ) ?

havent explored uob ppv. does it provide 4 mpd for all mobile payment txn ?
I meant instead on using citi pm or dbs alt, there are still other cards for 4mpd. HSBC revo covers a wide range of mcc, uob ppv gives 4mpd for all mobile paywave so long not in exclusion list.

CantStopWhining

Can I ask when last quarter's rebates will be in? I spent some last quarter, but don't see rebates till date.

highsulphur

Sorry I didn't read through all the posts

Does Amaze work with the following cash back cards?
UOB one card
DBS live fresh
Cimb world mastercard

The spending through amaze will count towards eligible spending of these cards?

cassowary18

Sorry I didn't read through all the posts

Does Amaze work with the following cash back cards?
UOB one card
DBS live fresh
Cimb world mastercard

The spending through amaze will count towards eligible spending of these cards?
UOB One and DBS Live Fresh are Visa cards, so won't work.

highsulphur

Would be great if can put a sticky on first page on list of cc that can be used

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.