Internet Service Provider (ISP)

xiaofan

maomao82

Anybody on the quality of Whizcomms fibre?

Price seems good, and they been around since 2016.. hoping to see some
real users experience sharing :s12:

xiaofan

Anybody on the quality of Whizcomms fibre?

Price seems good, and they been around since 2016.. hoping to see some
real users experience sharing :s12:

You can go to the Whizcomms thread to check. Seems to be okay. Only got one major issue with Netflix in Dec 2019.

Lower cost with okay service and using SingTel network. Make sure you ask for them to have the ONR configured as ONT before the installation if you plan to use your own feature rich router.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...adband-provider-5494964-60.html#post127402667

badsector

VQ sucks for sure, former customer here. Care to share what was wrong with m1?

i have 0 issues with M1(500Mbps) yet.
even during last M1 outage. My broadband not affected at all. No idea why

i do have starhub free 1Gbps due to starhub tv. But not using at the moment

derrickgoh

i have 0 issues with M1(500Mbps) yet.
even during last M1 outage. My broadband not affected at all. No idea why

i do have starhub free 1Gbps due to starhub tv. But not using at the moment
Eh? But your earlier post u mentioned “MR & VQ, personally i have bad experiences.”?

derrickgoh

You can go to the Whizcomms thread to check. Seems to be okay. Only got one major issue with Netflix in Dec 2019.

Lower cost with okay service and using SingTel network. Make sure you ask for them to have the ONR configured as ONT before the installation if you plan to use your own feature rich router.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...adband-provider-5494964-60.html#post127402667
But one guy claims & i quote:

“I asked for ONT as I have my own wireless router. They say they stopped issuing ONT, and will come with ONR.”

Unless got black & white from them that its ONT, better be careful unless u dont mind ONR. That said, black & white also CMI. Like stinktel lah. Use their online support & contacted 3 or 4 different staff to ask ONT or ONR. Get so many different replies!

xiaofan

But one guy claims & i quote:

“I asked for ONT as I have my own wireless router. They say they stopped issuing ONT, and will come with ONR.”

Unless got black & white from them that its ONT, better be careful unless u dont mind ONR. That said, black & white also CMI. Like stinktel lah. Use their online support & contacted 3 or 4 different staff to ask ONT or ONR. Get so many different replies!

Check the last post in the thread.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...-new-fibre-broadband-provider-5494964-60.html

Do not be paranoid.

Edit to add:
But if you are worried, just go for M1.

derrickgoh

Check the last post in the thread.
https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...-new-fibre-broadband-provider-5494964-60.html

Do not be paranoid.

Edit to add:
But if you are worried, just go for M1.
Can’t help but be paranoid cos the contracts are all at least 12 months. Make a mistake & im in the shyt for a year at least.

Honestly i am seriously looking at m1. Just that i had concerns about their typical download speeds as per my earlier posts.

I know its just a guide but when m1 says the low end of their speed range is 400+ while red and green are boasting 800+, either red & green are calculating differently or m1 is being overly modest. Imagine a 1 gbps wired connection getting only 400+ mbps. A bit the slow lor.

damnit

All ISP have pro and cons. So far M1 has worked for me. Subscribed to 500Mbps and hitting 400-490Mhps even on WiFi 6.

derrickgoh

I am planning to switch from singtel home fibre BB to m1.

My only concern is the timing. Don’t want to be left with no broadband during the transition. Also, im planning to port the digital home line number from singtel to m1.

I assume the best option is to sign up with m1 a month (2 months sounds overly kiasu) before singtel contract expires. So for one month i have 2 ISPs never mind lah. Then at least i can make sure m1 is up & running before i terminate singtel.

Or is there a better solution? Oh & must Netlinktrust come to my house to physically activate the 2nd port on the termination point?

Trans-Am

I am planning to switch from singtel home fibre BB to m1.

My only concern is the timing. Don’t want to be left with no broadband during the transition. Also, im planning to port the digital home line number from singtel to m1.

I assume the best option is to sign up with m1 a month (2 months sounds overly kiasu) before singtel contract expires. So for one month i have 2 ISPs never mind lah. Then at least i can make sure m1 is up & running before i terminate singtel.

Or is there a better solution? Oh & must Netlinktrust come to my house to physically activate the 2nd port on the termination point?
Best is to terminate ST after M1 is up and running.

From what I read here, due to Covid-19 Netlink trust might need more time than usual.

Netlink trust need to come your house to check the signal before isp can send their people down.

Sent from A universe Where pink PWNED everything using GAGT

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.