POPmyBULLET

Diff ppls diff lor
I use ipx and now max pro no eyes stain

I play with note10 + I kana
But
S10 plus and now

I use max pro and a70 Samsung aslo amoled also no eye issue
I'm using s10 plus right now. Totally no eyestrains. But 11 pro max battery life is tempting me to switch back. Ha.

kashix

Why does attention aware affect eye strain?

They anyhow bomb one lol, I read I also LOL :s13: attention awareness only see if your eyes is looking at the display to unlock. How has that gotta do with eye strain. The thing causing eye strain is the OLED pwm. :s22:

From x onwards, I use all no eye strain or anything. Only the OnePlus I kena before, the display mounted upside down. Knn see alr headache sia the jelly effect :s22:

szeli

They anyhow bomb one lol, I read I also LOL :s13: attention awareness only see if your eyes is looking at the display to unlock. How has that gotta do with eye strain. The thing causing eye strain is the OLED pwm. :s22:

From x onwards, I use all no eye strain or anything. Only the OnePlus I kena before, the display mounted upside down. Knn see alr headache sia the jelly effect :s22:

if u dunno how attention aware works dun self pwn pls

kashix

if u dunno how attention aware works dun self pwn pls

If you so pro, do enlighten? :s11:
Can explain how attention awareness cause headache/eye strain?? :s22:

I should ask you not to self pwn yourself instead :s13:

If you have medical condition, go see doctor, don’t surf forum Liao, later more headaches/ eye strains coming for you :s13:

Attention Aware is the feature that checks to see that your eyes are open and looking at the iPhone. It’s used to make sure the iPhone doesn’t unlock by mistake just because your face is in the frame. It is also an extra security measure, because another person can’t just grab your phone and wave it in front of your sleeping face, or steal and unlock your iPhone X without your collaboration.

Anyone can enlighten how this feature can cause headache/eye strain??? :s11:

szeli

If you so pro, do enlighten? :s11:
Can explain how attention awareness cause headache/eye strain?? :s22:

I should ask you not to self pwn yourself instead :s13:

If you have medical condition, go see doctor, don’t surf forum Liao, later more headaches/ eye strains coming for you :s13:

Anyone can enlighten how this feature can cause headache/eye strain??? :s11:

mai self pwn can 🙄
it’s written in e settings. attention aware is constantly checking if u’re looking at e device so as not to dim e screen etc. yr eyes can take it doesn’t mean others can.

79-F54078-DF89-4839-86-F5-D6-BE53-B0-D066.jpg

kashix

mai self pwn can ��
it’s written in e settings. attention aware is constantly checking if u’re looking at e device so as not to dim e screen etc. yr eyes can take it doesn’t mean others can.

this doesn't proof anything leh, you dumb or what? you understand what're you saying anot? you're telling me that by looking at the display, you will have eyestrain, then you don't use phone sua LOL :s22: you got facts to back it up a not? you're self-pwning yourself here so damn hard man. :o

szeli

this doesn't proof anything leh, you dumb or what? you understand what're you saying anot? you're telling me that by looking at the display, you will have eyestrain, then you don't use phone sua LOL :s22: you got facts to back it up a not? you're self-pwning yourself here so damn hard man. :o

enjoy self pwning yrself dude. dunno tech go hang around in edmw can? u’re just wasting ppl’s time here. another to add to e ignore list.

kashix

enjoy self pwning yrself dude. dunno tech go hang around in edmw can? u’re just wasting ppl’s time here. another to add to e ignore list.

lol cannot win argument, then block, I also don't want see your nonsense around here lmao. totally makes no sense that attention awareness can cause eyestrain, moi is really 1st time hear, then like that you disable your face ID sua, also need to scan ur face to unlock, then your eyestrain jialat jialat. :s13:

gizmo_toh

Hi, i saw someone selling brand new iphone 11 pro max (256GB) for $1,500 at Carousell and claim it is a local set and warranty by Apple store for 24 months. Seller claim can meet to deal. How to know it is not a scam? Thanks.

jaymessofly

Hi, i saw someone selling brand new iphone 11 pro max (256GB) for $1,500 at Carousell and claim it is a local set and warranty by Apple store for 24 months. Seller claim can meet to deal. How to know it is not a scam? Thanks.

Apple’s warranty is only 12 months.
You can also try checking the phone’s serial number on Apple’s website to check for warranty prior to dealing.

Glariel

Too good to be true but you can ask for serial number to check. If seller refuses to give you then chances of being fake is high.

When meet up that time unbox and check if the phone serial number tie with the box

fade_white

lol cannot win argument, then block, I also don't want see your nonsense around here lmao. totally makes no sense that attention awareness can cause eyestrain, moi is really 1st time hear, then like that you disable your face ID sua, also need to scan ur face to unlock, then your eyestrain jialat jialat. :s13:
Not to disagree with you, just quoting this post to continue the sub discussion.

I don’t quite follow the argument... if attention aware dims the screen when one is not looking, how does it strain when one is not looking at it? My understanding from that line is that, if you have attention aware off, the screen will dim by timeout. If attention aware is on, when it times out it will check if you’re looking and if you’re not, then it dims.
Is my understanding correct here experts?

szeli

Not to disagree with you, just quoting this post to continue the sub discussion.

I don’t quite follow the argument... if attention aware dims the screen when one is not looking, how does it strain when one is not looking at it? My understanding from that line is that, if you have attention aware off, the screen will dim by timeout. If attention aware is on, when it times out it will check if you’re looking and if you’re not, then it dims.
Is my understanding correct here experts?

e IR is constantly blasting when attention aware is on. ppl like me must be senstitive to e IR that’s why eyes get irritated. if u look at yr phone in a lower lit room u can catch e IR blasting clearly.

watzup_ken

mai self pwn can ��

To be honest, I am not sure if this is a useful feature. If the goal is to save battery, the fact that the sensor/ camera needs to scan for your eye movement likely negates any power savings. Most people don't max out the brightness level, so its not going to draw massive amount of power. As for lowering volume of alerts, it is still an iffy benefit to me. Some people want it loud all the time.

szeli

To be honest, I am not sure if this is a useful feature. If the goal is to save battery, the fact that the sensor/ camera needs to scan for your eye movement likely negates any power savings. Most people don't max out the brightness level, so its not going to draw massive amount of power.

I guess it’s useful in certain situations, like when u’r reading a long article/book, dun need to keep touching e screen to prevent sleep.

fade_white

e IR is constantly blasting when attention aware is on. ppl like me must be senstitive to e IR that’s why eyes get irritated. if u look at yr phone in a lower lit room u can catch e IR blasting clearly.

OH it is because of the IR. I see, thanks for the explanation

ragnarok95

Senior Moderator
To be honest, I am not sure if this is a useful feature. If the goal is to save battery, the fact that the sensor/ camera needs to scan for your eye movement likely negates any power savings. Most people don't max out the brightness level, so its not going to draw massive amount of power. As for lowering volume of alerts, it is still an iffy benefit to me. Some people want it loud all the time.

The battery consume is too little to have any impact.

https://twitter.com/reckless/status/1173921016923533313?s=21

dont' get yr hopes up too high.

From macrumors,
some other people who have had trouble with the other models still have trouble with the Pro.

All I know is what is stated in their own literature on their own web site and that is they have new display drivers and new software for their new display requirements. So yes, there have been some changes made but precisely what these changes are and what they mean for people who can’t use Apple’s OLED display is still not really known.

From what I have been able to theorize looking over various sources, it wasn’t just pwm alone making some of us sick. It was how Apple implemented a custom display specification at the sub pixel level that might have been making things extra screwy for some of us. Others of us who just have a straightforward pwm sensitivity likely still will suffer adverse symptoms.

I am still sensitive to the technology in the Face ID. If I turn off attention aware and adjust the settings so that the dot projector and flood illuminator should only be firing when I use Face ID, my eyes are fine. Ordinary daily use of Face ID doesn’t make me uncomfortable.

But when I was setting up my phone from scratch and had to use Face ID more than normal to authenticate all of my accounts, I did have gritty dry eyes for a day.

11 Pro Max:
"The display backlight flickers at 245.1 Hz (Likely utilizing PWM) Flickering detected at a brightness setting of 99 % and below. There should be no flickering or PWM above this brightness setting.

The frequency of 245.1 Hz is relatively low, so sensitive users will likely notice flickering and experience eyestrain at the stated brightness setting and below."

11 Pro:
"The panel in our review unit flickers at between 60 and 290.7 Hz, which is rather unusual. By contrast, most OLED panels flicker at one frequency."

POPmyBULLET

https://twitter.com/reckless/status/1173921016923533313?s=21

dont' get yr hopes up too high.

From macrumors,
some other people who have had trouble with the other models still have trouble with the Pro.

All I know is what is stated in their own literature on their own web site and that is they have new display drivers and new software for their new display requirements. So yes, there have been some changes made but precisely what these changes are and what they mean for people who can’t use Apple’s OLED display is still not really known.

From what I have been able to theorize looking over various sources, it wasn’t just pwm alone making some of us sick. It was how Apple implemented a custom display specification at the sub pixel level that might have been making things extra screwy for some of us. Others of us who just have a straightforward pwm sensitivity likely still will suffer adverse symptoms.

I am still sensitive to the technology in the Face ID. If I turn off attention aware and adjust the settings so that the dot projector and flood illuminator should only be firing when I use Face ID, my eyes are fine. Ordinary daily use of Face ID doesn’t make me uncomfortable.

But when I was setting up my phone from scratch and had to use Face ID more than normal to authenticate all of my accounts, I did have gritty dry eyes for a day.

11 Pro Max:
"The display backlight flickers at 245.1 Hz (Likely utilizing PWM) Flickering detected at a brightness setting of 99 % and below. There should be no flickering or PWM above this brightness setting.

The frequency of 245.1 Hz is relatively low, so sensitive users will likely notice flickering and experience eyestrain at the stated brightness setting and below."

11 Pro:
"The panel in our review unit flickers at between 60 and 290.7 Hz, which is rather unusual. By contrast, most OLED panels flicker at one frequency."
Sucks to be the minority that is affected by it...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.