Iphone Cheat

• Have you been Scammed?
    Follow this advisory from National Crime Prevention Council (NCPC) or call ScamShield Helpline 1799. More info

eddygames

We shld repost this in most trading, buy and sell sections of this forum, esp edmw( fastest moving section)

We'll then trace his movement in this forum. Obviously this con man also know the popularity of this forum. And managed to catch some fish from here!

came across this guy as well
he pretend to sell iphone and ipad for a low price.

after you email him, he will then add u in msn and start to talk like a Singaporean and know the places in Singapore very well. he throw in singlish like lah and lor.

his previous story is he's a steward and he's out stationed.
when you start to hesitate, he will lower his price down
after that comes the con story about mum sick. father died etc
ask you to pay a deposit 1st.

he will show you his IC and air freight receipt.
then soon after, his accomplice will call you pretending to be from the post office and say your parcel is being shipped to make it more convincing.

lucky i did some checks and google about him.
he was scamming others for a long time.
in the end i never send the money.
after that i msg him n kan him for cheating people
he still pretend to be innocent and say he will report police that others are misusing his identity.
damn wtf

i spoke to him once. he's a pinoy

icebergfish

I was referring to the original post accusing him of being a conman and then having his personal details leaked out. When people read this thread they'll prob read the first and last few posts and come to wrong idea.

But I think it's also fair to warn others that someone is conning people in his name. Quite sad la, like a lose lose situation cos everywhere you go sure got people curse your name, whether fairly or not.

Yes, I do agreed. The original post can be misleading and I have to read a few pages in order to get a full picture of the situation and knew that I also got conned. That's why I had created a new posting and hope to make it easier for people to read and understand the fraud case that I had went through. In addition, I think the original author is quite frustrated when he encountered the fraud case for the first time and simply post to warn others in his own way. This is quite understandable.

HeeroYuy84

came across this guy as well
he pretend to sell iphone and ipad for a low price.

after you email him, he will then add u in msn and start to talk like a Singaporean and know the places in Singapore very well. he throw in singlish like lah and lor.

his previous story is he's a steward and he's out stationed.
when you start to hesitate, he will lower his price down
after that comes the con story about mum sick. father died etc
ask you to pay a deposit 1st.

he will show you his IC and air freight receipt.
then soon after, his accomplice will call you pretending to be from the post office and say your parcel is being shipped to make it more convincing.

lucky i did some checks and google about him.
he was scamming others for a long time.
in the end i never send the money.
after that i msg him n kan him for cheating people
he still pretend to be innocent and say he will report police that others are misusing his identity.
damn wtf

i spoke to him once. he's a pinoy

did anyone report police???

K|muRa^84

the scammer is NOT nicholas ng jin feng

the real nicholas is a good friend of mine

OMFG i need to speak with him now.

I can vouch for the real nicholas. There's no chance he's a scammer

K|muRa^84

I think the NRIC is a fake one as I had examined the image and it seem to be modified using photo editing software like photoshop. But, the name should be real (Nicholas Ng or Ng Nicholas) or at least the conman need a similar fake identity card as the conman needs the same name to get money from the Western Union. If so, this can be a serious case for your friend and he should make a police report immediately.

Today, I had received an email from Air21 (Freight company) and they told me that the delivery receipt has several loopholes. One of the most obvious thing is Air21 don't have international shipment and they do domestic shipment only. International shipment is done by FedEx not Air21. If this is the case, the chance of the conman is living in Philippines can be quite high as his scam can't trick the locals due to Air21 is quite a popular freight company there.

Lastly, what info you need to remove from the posting? If it is part of my posting, I can remove it as long as the essence of the scam details are search-able by the search engine.

Hope the above helps.:)

I remember that Nic (the real one) told me abt this quite awhile back

I really cant remember whether he lodged a police report to complain that someone is making use of his identity

what i do remember is the scanned copy of his NRIC that the scammer has been using. It is NOT photoshopped

icebergfish

I remember that Nic (the real one) told me abt this quite awhile back

I really cant remember whether he lodged a police report to complain that someone is making use of his identity

what i do remember is the scanned copy of his NRIC that the scammer has been using. It is NOT photoshopped

I think it is photoshopped as due to the original post IC is S840554"9"B and the one that the conman sent me is S840554"0"B. This is probably using the "clone stamp" tool in the photoshop to do it as both the "0" are identical. If so, the conman can only play around with the number 04589 to create a new fake ID. This assumption is only made upon he is not a professional photo editor as with the pro editor, anything is possible and can be un-detectable with naked eye or thorough examination.

icebergfish

We shld repost this in most trading, buy and sell sections of this forum, esp edmw( fastest moving section)

We'll then trace his movement in this forum. Obviously this con man also know the popularity of this forum. And managed to catch some fish from here!

Yes, I do agreed. This should be able to help more people but will it violates the forum rules like duplicate posting? As I'm a newbie here therefore not quite sure how HWZ forum moderating works. :)

icebergfish

After some evaluation on HWZ marketplace posting, I think there's some patterns that the con man can exploit. These patterns are:

1) by Email with no local contact (land-line not voice-over-ip): Letting go "something" and email me for more info ...
2) by Deposit / pre-order with email and no face-to-face contact for deposit collection: To pre-order / reserve "new / hot gadget" and need to deposit through money transfer before the pre-order is confirmed ...

The pattern is always email/live chat/voice-over-ip call to get you in then money transfer to them before the item "reaches" you. The success rate is based on how well the con man can get you "emotionally involved". They know how to manipulate your desire and get you into the trap. If you found this type of pattern, beware of it.

There maybe more, but the above is just some of my recent findings.

Hope the above helps. :)

ForRubblish

In addition, I think the conman has been targeting Singaporeans in many SG sites for several years. He had made enormous efforts to learn about Singapore culture and circumstances therefore I think he will continue this scamming till he got caught someday. This is the usual case for conman that thinks he is smart enough or lucky enough to keep a living with this method. If possible, those that got conned may like to share your story. Once there's enough cases, a website can be setup to consolidate all the case studies that targeting this guy for people to reference. I think this effort may help some ways. :)

The scammer could be impersonating that person shown in the given NRIC. I could think of two possibilities why the scammer knew so much about Singapore.

1) The scammer had worked in or came to Singapore before. That is why the scammer knew or picked up some Singlish.

2) Or the scammer is currently in Singapore. S/he could be asking you to transfer money to her/his counterpart in Philippines via Western Union.

One possible way to trace a scammer down is to find her/his originating IP Address. Even though there are some ways to grab IP Addresses, it is not a foolproof method as there are many ways to defeat.

Additionally, even if you managed to grab the scammer’s IP Address from HWZ or elsewhere, what can you (as a victim) do after this? The jurisdiction ends once the money is transferred out of Singapore.

Do NOT be naive. There is no cheaper lunch.

ForRubblish

I think with the help of HWZ, you can only get info like IP address, OS, screen estate, etc. These info is not enough and the HWZ marketplace system is not catered for this purpose. It is just a basic listing system that connect Seller and Buyer. Preventing scam through online system is a major re-development effort and will cost a lot of money (not a profitable decision in terms of business decision) therefore even you tell HWZ, they can do nothing but tell you to be careful next time.

Right now, you don't even know whether the scammer is in Singapore or not? You would need her/his IP Address to determine jurisdiction. You need to know from where to start the hunt.

Furthermore, whether within our jurisdictions or not, it is a lengthy and costly process to trace/hunt the scammer down.

ForRubblish

Oversea Address: Cebu Crowne Regency Suites, Fuente Tower, osmena street, cebu, ph, philippines, post code 6000

If the scammer continues scamming, in no time s/he can buy the entire tower building. It only costs about $100,000 USD for a landed property on the outskirt of the city, and about $250,000 USD for a condominium within the city area.

nick2u

Hi TS, I've sent you a PM. I am the real Nicholas Ng Jin Feng; and the copy of the IC that is in your possession, I believe, is an unedited version of my own. I am but a victim of identity theft, and have filed a police report a while back. None of these scams have to do with me as I am working overseas now (Not Philippines)

Please remove any details, tags and information that relates to me on this post. Now that you are aware of my side of the story, you will agree that these details you have posted are highly misleading and a gross representation of what has actually happened.

I have been a victim of a similar scam 3-4 years ago, where I did not actually give the scammer any money but regrettably offered my ID as collateral. I'm guessing he's trying to get back at me and at the same time, make his scams more convincing.

Other instances of this has been well documented in the forums. My friends, as you have already read, can offer you secondary references on my innocence.

Thank you.

ForRubblish

I have been a victim of a similar scam 3-4 years ago, where I did not actually give the scammer any money but regrettably offered my ID as collateral. I'm guessing he's trying to get back at me and at the same time, make his scams more convincing.

Who was that person you gave your NRIC to? Did you made a police report against that person name?

purplepig

Fake Nicholas Ng is still around

I almost got cheated by this "Nicholas Ng" just this evening. Was on the way to Jurong Point to make a bank transfer for an iPad 2 and thank God I decided to google "Nicholas Ng" hoax and got led to this website.

Like the iPhone victim, he sent me an airway bill and a scanned ic. I thank my lucky stars that I was wise enough to google and double check.

nez

OMG, 3 months already & this cheating is still going on in HWZ? & the admin not doing anything to assist?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.