iRobot Scooba experience

sunsetbay

can yours work with tap water only? mine 5900 can't. :(

btw, you can charge for 72hrs to recondition the battery.

this is my first try, i used the clorox solution given. the instruction manual got said, it also work with plain water. :s22:

will let it charge for few days this time round. :(

sAxman_Returns

i supposed the hsn offer is not refurbished set hoh?

do you guys think the first 1kg free shipping from HSBC offer still valid? but i think hsn is not included leh...

thewiseone

No No... this is NiMh battery we r talking about, u dont charge it full and leave it off the charger for a full week before actual use. NiMh battery has a relatively high self discharge. Try charging it for a full 16hrs and use it immediately. Let me know how much runtime u can get out of it. If u r one who likes to have a battery fully charged and thereafter disconnect the charging and store it for a while b4 use, only Li-Ion battery can meet yr needs.

ya, i charged almost 18hrs, that was till last sunday. don't tell me the batt had drained off. :(

thewiseone

Mosmos, how long have u been using the particular Scooba b4 the tube tore? Mine seems to be ok till now, think u got to be a bit more gentle when inserting and removing the tube. U might also like to check the internal wall of the port for sharp edges IMO.

:( no, but my scooba tube spoilt easily.

mosmos

Mosmos, how long have u been using the particular Scooba b4 the tube tore? Mine seems to be ok till now, think u got to be a bit more gentle when inserting and removing the tube. U might also like to check the internal wall of the port for sharp edges IMO.

i think within 1mth of use already torn :(

I guess maybe caused by the tiles?

mosmos

hey mosmos, thanks a lot! USD20 is nothing lar......afterall it's a good price compared to somebody who are trying to milk me a 5800 for SGD$538 lol! Any idea how much would a transformer cost? So is vpost the cheapest way to ship this toy over? can I use a power adapter that support multiple voltage instead? something like this?

I dun have any pet at home except 1 or 2 lizards that seems MIA these few days (luckily no cockroach yet after I killed 1) and besides our hairs, the dust are mostly from the surroundings.....

If scooba can do the job well, I dun think I need a roomba, I have my dyson that's able to do the powerful vacuum-ing but no matter how I vacuum or mop, the floor is always sticky one :(

any idea what's the diff between this 335 and 350 model? both covers 500sqft per charge right? Sounds like a great deal leh.....may just go ahead over the weekend as I'm rushing for a project now :(

I thought the charging base is for it to go back to charge itself lol!

based on the comparison chart from irobot and hsn webby, 5800, 335, 350, 380 all can use clorox leh... http://www.irobot.com/sp.cfm?pageid=340
what do you mean by "can only use plain water only" ?
a 100w newstar transformer cost abt $25 at homefix. get a 100w & above transformer.
NF-100_l.jpg

comegateway would be slightly cheaper, but you need a certain type of credit cards to register. Else, vpost anyone also can register.

For sticky floors, i guess you need to mop the floor daily, so scooba will be better for you.

335 and 350 seems to be similar, but i think 350/380 maybe lighter in weight as it uses all plastic. 335 hinges is metal.

scooba still not as advance as roomba, it won't auto go back to recharge.

"can only use plain water only" means no need to add cleaning detergent inside. I use scooba everyday, so no need to add any detergent which maybe harmful to skin?

mosmos

this is my first try, i used the clorox solution given. the instruction manual got said, it also work with plain water. :s22:

will let it charge for few days this time round. :(

:( you are do lucky to get 5800.

mosmos

i supposed the hsn offer is not refurbished set hoh?

do you guys think the first 1kg free shipping from HSBC offer still valid? but i think hsn is not included leh...

:o hsn is selling brand new ones.

hsn only shipped domestic in usa, so you will need to send to vpostusa or comgateway usa address.

hsbc 1kg discount applies to the shipment between usa and sg. Not sure whether it's still valid.

for hsn.com billing address, i think you need some tricks, else payment by sg credit card will be rejected

sAxman_Returns

how's scooba 5900 compared to the 5800 and the new 335,350 and 380? siami ish comgateway?

for hsn.com billing address, i think you need some tricks, else payment by sg credit card will be rejected

what kind of trick?

"can only use plain water only" means no need to add cleaning detergent inside. I use scooba everyday, so no need to add any detergent which maybe harmful to skin?

oh i see, then maybe once every 2 weeks use a detergent lor, can use other brands I supposed? I'm wondering if I can use this scooba on my laminate flooring or not, with the laminate flooring cleaning agent...

if it doesn't go back itself, that means it will just stop when there is no more battery?

mosmos

how's scooba 5900 compared to the 5800 and the new 335,350 and 380? siami ish comgateway?
5900 is the oldest model follow by 5800 then 350/380. 5900 will need clorox, else it will flash blue lights and would not move.

comgateway function just like vpost.
what kind of trick?
Saw 1 mentioned before, Billing address put sg ones, including postal code in the address, state put oregon and zip code put vpost USA address one. :s22:

oh i see, then maybe once every 2 weeks use a detergent lor, can use other brands I supposed? I'm wondering if I can use this scooba on my laminate flooring or not, with the laminate flooring cleaning agent...
I am not so sure abt laminate flooring. Will wet mopping spoilt the laminate floor?

if it doesn't go back itself, that means it will just stop when there is no more battery?
yah, no battery will stop.

sAxman_Returns

thanks for the trick :D guess I will make the purchase end of this month. just in case better deal comes back hehe... is USA 12hr behind us?

Wet mopping will spoil laminate flooring for sure, you meant scooba dun suck it dry?

mosmos

thanks for the trick :D guess I will make the purchase end of this month. just in case better deal comes back hehe... is USA 12hr behind us?

Wet mopping will spoil laminate flooring for sure, you meant scooba dun suck it dry?

:s22: not so sure about usa timing, but woot.com & sellout.woot.com will change a new product for sale at 2pm sg time.

scooba is wetter than normal mopping. :crazy:

sAxman_Returns

haha, then the 335 should be just nice (500sqft battery right?) as all my 3 rooms are laminate flooring, that one I am having lesser headache....laminate flooring is easier to sweep and mop, just can't get wet for a long period of time....maybe I see how, use it to run first, then quickly use roman mop to suck dry the wet part....or turn on fan to blow lor.....

any diff between sellout.woot.com vs woot.com? yesterday's 199.95 offer was rumba or scooba?

mosmos

haha, then the 335 should be just nice (500sqft battery right?) as all my 3 rooms are laminate flooring, that one I am having lesser headache....laminate flooring is easier to sweep and mop, just can't get wet for a long period of time....maybe I see how, use it to run first, then quickly use roman mop to suck dry the wet part....or turn on fan to blow lor.....

any diff between sellout.woot.com vs woot.com? yesterday's 199.95 offer was rumba or scooba?

sellout.woot.com & woot.com are same company, they just sell different products per day.

then still got shirt.woot.com and wine.woot.com :s22:

yesterday one is roomba 510, 1 of the lastest model. :s22:

sAxman_Returns

oh, then never mind lar, i dun want to buy roomba, i want to buy scooba only....thought this thread was meant for scooba at the first place.

sAxman_Returns

hehe...... mosmos, you are the expert, maybe you can start a new thread and summarize what we discussed here lor.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.