iRobot Scooba experience

I am using the scooba 2 rooms at a time.. I stay in a 3 room flat. so i let it run in the master bedroom and kitchen. Most of the time i run it in the kitchen alone. Personally I don't find the scooba that great, maybe my expectations were too high hehe...

The maintenance of the scooba is much higher than the roomba. After each clean I have to clean the brushes and internals and the water tank, then leave it to dry before putting it back onto the scooba.

I find the roomba does most of the work, and most importantly I don't have to take care of it while its cleaning and the maintenance is must lower than the scooba :D

thewiseone

My thoughts exactly, this is whats putting me off from getting a Scooba... it needs too much attention unlike the Roomba. For all the hassle involved, i cant justify spending the $$$ for it. Look @ the Scooba 5800, cheapest of the Scooba series. It comes w/o a charging base nor a spare battery. Specified to cover only 250sqft for 1 battery cycle, it cannot even completely cover a typical sized apartment. You have to throw in more $$$ to buy charging base and battery. Taking into consideration the no. of times to refill and drain the clean and dirty tank respectively (as well as swapping battery in the midst) just to cover a typical sized apartment, it just seems to be too much hassle for me.

Well scooba still takes away the sweat out of mopping the floor, although it can still be a hassle to clean the scooba, its not as bad as it sounds. I guess I'm spoilt by the roomba since it is so automated hehe..

thewiseone

Its not so much of the cleaning of scooba that i'm concerned with but isnt getting 1 of such automated device is to free up yr time and effort for other things. In this case, i'll have to monitor where it has covered and where not, when the tank is empty/full b4 completion, when the battery is flat and needs to be swapped with another b4 completion, etc. just isnt fulfilling the purpose of getting one in the first place. The Roomba on the other hand, is much better. U dont need to monitor it (as long as wires, strings, etc. are out of the way). U only need to empty and clean it.

ktee

The scooba battery is lasting. the problem is the water. you hv to refill as the tank is small. i cld clean 2 bedrooms, 1 living room, 1 kitchen, 1 patio (the washing machine area) & the battery is still running ok but gotta refill many times! Oh, btw, mine is 380! :s7: :D

thewiseone

Yep. u've got the top of the line Scooba! Imagine covering the same areas with a Scooba 5800 :s22: Its battery replacements+fluid replacements :s31:

ktee said:
The scooba battery is lasting. the problem is the water. you hv to refill as the tank is small. i cld clean 2 bedrooms, 1 living room, 1 kitchen, 1 patio (the washing machine area) & the battery is still running ok but gotta refill many times! Oh, btw, mine is 380! :s7: :D

ktee

Ha... perhaps i can modify & put 2 large tanks on top... but then, my sooba cant get under my sofa or other furniture liao! or i can get the scooba to drag 2 tanks (like the army truck dragging the artiliary cannon)... but then, the scooba will run slow n the battery wont last! :super: Any more idea? Beside gettin a couple more scooba - vvvv tempting! =:p

mosmos

for vpost users, 10% discount for citibank card.

6bu1sok.jpg

:s22: finally my woot.com order had arrived at vpostusa.

cheap order + $5 shipping do really take long to arrive. :(

thewiseone

Have fun waiting! :s22: Its going to take u possibly 8-9 more days b4 u see yr Roomba here!!!

mosmos said:
for vpost users, 10% discount for citibank card.

6bu1sok.jpg

:s22: finally my woot.com order had arrived at vpostusa.

cheap order + $5 shipping do really take long to arrive. :(

Hi all,

I just got my roomba bumper guard. its actually some sticky foam material. The roomba is much more silent now when it bumps.

Took some pictures..

Naked bumper

After the add on

I also ordered a scheduler to add-on to my roomba. Couldn't resist getting some accesories hehe.. I've ordered an extra scheduler in case anyone in this forum wants one.

ktee

U buyin fr US huh? Can juz DIY here. get some foam (hobby shops, etc), put double-sided tape, & boleh tahan lah. :D

How much is the scheduler remote? Might get 1 for my disco. :)

ktee said:
U buyin fr US huh? Can juz DIY here. get some foam (hobby shops, etc), put double-sided tape, & boleh tahan lah. :D

How much is the scheduler remote? Might get 1 for my disco. :)

Hehe.. true also.. I just wanted to see what material is that.. I read about it in the forums.. but since i was gonna buy a scheduler remote anyway, I thought just try buy a bumper foamie. Bought two in case i get another roomba hehe. :D

I will sell it for $50, not earning any money. I just want to cover half of my postage, since whether I order one or two the postage still same price. If your interested I bought it from roombaexchange.com.

ktee

I will post somethin if i manage to DIY the bumper protector!

As for the scheduler, i hv bidded on eBay last nite... if you can get it there, they r v cheap (<us15). I hv a few items waiting at vpost, so add together loh! :D

thewiseone

If u dont mind a little bit of work, u can easily get A4 sized foam sheets from art shops (u can find them at Bras Basah, Plaza Sing, etc.). Cut to size & use ultra thin double sided tape to glue it on the bumper. Alternatively, u may also find those with self adhesive. For additional protection, u can even stick on those rubber strips (D channels) used for sealing windows, just make sure u get the thinner one as the thicker one will prevent Roomba from docking properly. For the even more KS, u can also use the weather strips (the furry kind) to protect the sides and rear of Roomba (its grey so it'll blend in well with the bottom section of Roomba). :)

yaf123

Seraphim13 said:
Fwah....almost the same as getting from iRobot direct + shipping. Very tempting
If I am not wrong, gkrobot only offer 1week warranty... :s22:

thewiseone

True but if u r getting it direct from US on yr own, u dont even have the 1 week LOCAL warranty. IMO, if u really must get the 380 now , then this seems like a pretty ok deal. Else, as with any newly launched products, wait a while for the price to settle.

yaf123 said:
If I am not wrong, gkrobot only offer 1week warranty... :s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.