iRobot Scooba experience

mosmos

Anyway, I think the Clorox solution is damn diluted. Just curious, those who are using magiclean and other solution one, do you actually use very little solution and mix with the water? Laminate flooring is not recommended leh....i saw the manual, but since somebody said he uses fan to blow, perhaps it's alright, but a bit troublesome....

clorox is best because very little or no bubbles are formed inside tank. Use too much the whole room smells of chlorine. :crazy:

Recently I tried with blue kiwi clean, because ntuc got sale $4+ only, but the bubbles formed inside tank is a lot and you can even hear it spray bubbles water. :s22:

sAxman_Returns

clorox is best because very little or no bubbles are formed inside tank. Use too much the whole room smells of chlorine. :crazy:

Recently I tried with blue kiwi clean, because ntuc got sale $4+ only, but the bubbles formed inside tank is a lot and you can even hear it spray bubbles water. :s22:

can't you use very diluted magiclean / kiwi clean?

bakasa2002

bakasa,
what scratches? Do u mean the roomba 400? What about scooba n roomba 500, do u know?I've got hardwood, marble n tiles flooring,is it OK to run the robots on them?I just tried to run my 2 scoobies on my marble floor, very confusing leh, they make a lot of terrible squeaking noise n pick up less than half a tank of dirty water, don't know what i did wrong.Also, the roomba 570 doesn't stop by itself one, took more than 1 hr to do 1 small room n kept going n going,how come it doesn't go back n rest one har?
Irobot is so un-dummies friendly ah.Would search this post to see if anyone had problems like this before....

hi maria, fr what i understand, it seems like both 400 n 500 series roomba will scratch marble floors. Scooba wise, I am not so sure. If you need to try, just try it in a small area n observe, b4 more damage is done to those precious stones. ;)

sAxman_Returns

based on my observation, Scooba shouldn't "scratch". But the way it bangs the surroundings is quite scary.....the bumper is full of scratches......

Guess what? iRobot provided me the manufacturing info. Based on the manufacturing date, the 340 is newer and sent to HSN for distribution at a date much closer to the ebay auction date. The 340 was manufactured in 29 Oct 2007. The 335 was manufactured in 12 September 2007. The auction? 23 December 2007.

That matches what I suspected. He got a 335, used it happily and realize he could have paid the same price to get a 340. So he bough it, happily swap the 335 with 340 and ship to me. Do you think he would actually keep the 335 for soooo long and then auction only after he got the 340 at much later date? really boh integrity man...this kind of person....

kidz_buzz

Just tested the two roombas, thank goodness they work fine, had been quite apprehensive about getting defective set, heard alot of horror stories leh.Frankly, they are quite terrifying to look at;they dash around going bang bang here n bang bang there,like gangster like that.My kids had a wild time 'driving' them though,ie with the remote. Would be onto the scoobas tomorrow, then the dirt dog day after ...

Hi! Maria,

We r somehow sailing on the same boat but at opposite direction. U r a Trilly user and subsequently a Roomba/Scooba user whereas I was a Roomba user and eventually switched to Trilobite. When I first run on the Trilly, it's so 'gentle' compared to the Roomba which is more 'chor lor' and I am somehow not used to coz it takes much longer, say, double the time to get the job done. Moreover, it doesn't clean as effective on the edges as the Roomba plus it cannot go under my Sofas and kickboards! After 2 weeks of 'bonding' with the Trilly, I began to get used to it as I realise it picks up micro dirt more effectively and most IMPORTANTLY, there is no cleaning n digging of stuck hair on the roller! I sold my Roomba coz the weekly cleaning on the dustbin and motor compartment made me go crazy as I am a sensitive dust allergen. Now that u hv so many Robots, enjoy yr cup of coffee while they 'sweat' themselves away! Btw, the Roomba will only dock itself when it runs out of battery. If u find that yr room's cleanliness is to yr satisfaction and the Roomba is still banging all the way, u may command it to dock manually.

mariatan

hi maria, fr what i understand, it seems like both 400 n 500 series roomba will scratch marble floors. Scooba wise, I am not so sure. If you need to try, just try it in a small area n observe, b4 more damage is done to those precious stones. ;)

AH, dead liao, i just tried both the roomba n scooba on the marble flooring this evening.Thanks for the warning, would exercise more caution tomorrow. However, i would be awfully disappointed if scooba scratches cos I bought them exclusively for the marble floorings; as for the roombas, i have to use them on the wood floorings leh, boh bian, cos i need the trilobite in our sleeping quarters.

BTW,sAxman, please refrain from using scooby on the wood cos even if u fan dry immediately afterwards, the excessive moisture would have long since soaked into the wood.Also, you seller from ebay does seem very wicked ah, in fact , he has quite a number of negative comments from past buyers, did u see that?

mariatan

Hi! Maria,

When I first run on the Trilly, it's so 'gentle' compared to the Roomba which is more 'chor lor' and I am somehow not used to coz it takes much longer, say, double the time to get the job done. Moreover, it doesn't clean as effective on the edges as the Roomba plus it cannot go under my Sofas and kickboards! After 2 weeks of 'bonding' with the Trilly, I began to get used to it as I realise it picks up micro dirt more effectively and most IMPORTANTLY, there is no cleaning n digging of stuck hair on the roller! I sold my Roomba coz the weekly cleaning on the dustbin and motor compartment made me go crazy as I am a sensitive dust allergen. Now that u hv so many Robots, enjoy yr cup of coffee while they 'sweat' themselves away! Btw, the Roomba will only dock itself when it runs out of battery. If u find that yr room's cleanliness is to yr satisfaction and the Roomba is still banging all the way, u may command it to dock manually.

Oh, so the roomba does not know when it is finished, no wonder! Yeah, u're right about the micro dust, if u look carefully at the trilly's bin, u would be even more impressed, the robot actually compact the dirt into layers, that way, when one empties, there would be less allergens flying around. Hah hah, join the club, i'm also super allergic, n so is my son. I would have LOVE to get one , or even two more trillies, but reality forbids!

Put the dirt dogs to run this evening, if the roombas were gangsters, then the dirt dogs are lunatics.They actually jumped over a bunch of electric cords!

sAxman_Returns

BTW,sAxman, please refrain from using scooby on the wood cos even if u fan dry immediately afterwards, the excessive moisture would have long since soaked into the wood.Also, you seller from ebay does seem very wicked ah, in fact , he has quite a number of negative comments from past buyers, did u see that?

yup I saw that, but i can't see most of the info. I think this gundoo has language problem, he often missed out important points in my email or misunderstood it for something else. I do not know if Paypal would allow this kind of excuse and let him go......

naxchua

bro naxchua, if u get to see this msg, do NOT run it on your marble flooring, it's scratches. My friend tested it on a small surface of his flooring and it .... so he passed it on to his gf. ;)

anyone interested in BN roomba 535 or scooba BN 5800, I am looking to let go of my set at $420 each. Cash & carry. kindly give PM me or call me at 94832705.

oh... i actually run it yesterday... i didn't notice whether there is significant scratches or not... later i will have a look on the floor... but all i would say, yesterday my roomba did a very good job in picking up the dusts... :)

thewiseone

For those who finds that their Roombas/Scoobas are scratching their floors:

These machines are not supposed to be scratching the floors, especially marble flooring. If u find that yr bot is doing so, very likely the culprit will be the front castor/fixed wheel. If its the older Roomba with the front fixed wheel, its possible that it will scratch laminate/wood flooring. In this case, IMO put a layer of felt on the surface of the wheel and change to a new piece when it wears out. For those with a swivel castor wheel, it SHOULD NOT be scratching yr floors. If it does, then CHECK the wheel for dirt, pitted or uneven wear. If its damaged, change it! Else, do your proper maintenance and make sure the wheel is cleaned regularly.

naxchua

For those who finds that their Roombas/Scoobas are scratching their floors:

These machines are not supposed to be scratching the floors, especially marble flooring. If u find that yr bot is doing so, very likely the culprit will be the front castor/fixed wheel. If its the older Roomba with the front fixed wheel, its possible that it will scratch laminate/wood flooring. In this case, IMO put a layer of felt on the surface of the wheel and change to a new piece when it wears out. For those with a swivel castor wheel, it SHOULD NOT be scratching yr floors. If it does, then CHECK the wheel for dirt, pitted or uneven wear. If its damaged, change it! Else, do your proper maintenance and make sure the wheel is cleaned regularly.

okay noted... will keep look out for scratches....

alanseah

Maybe you pour too much blue kiwi clean into it.

I only pour about coming to 1cm from the scooba cup and it run and feel the same like clorox no form/bubbles expect dont have the chlorine smell only.

mosmos

Maybe you pour too much blue kiwi clean into it.

I only pour about coming to 1cm from the scooba cup and it run and feel the same like clorox no form/bubbles expect dont have the chlorine smell only.

Same here too...using Magic Clean Blue. Pour just a bit and it runs ok too...

:s22: guess i need to use scooba cup to measure.

I normally just use the kiwi kleen cup and pour a few drops inside, maybe that few drops are more than 1 cm scooba cup. :s22:

mosmos

Contemplating on the 2 Scheduler offer...who interested ?

:s11: buy.com one?

that one is roomba discovery in blue colour. :o

34i4opi.jpg

sAxman_Returns

:s22: guess i need to use scooba cup to measure.

I normally just use the kiwi kleen cup and pour a few drops inside, maybe that few drops are more than 1 cm scooba cup. :s22:

walao, then you keep the scooba cup for what woh?:s22: So your scooba become like this?
inv_scooba.jpg

your A FEW DROPS damn BIG DROPS man.....

by the way, do you guys straight away charge the battery when it's flat or charge only when you are about to use it?

now I can see the battery is HOT during charging process....

mosmos

walao, then you keep the scooba cup for what woh?:s22: So your scooba become like this?
inv_scooba.jpg

your A FEW DROPS damn BIG DROPS man.....

by the way, do you guys straight away charge the battery when it's flat or charge only when you are about to use it?

now I can see the battery is HOT during charging process....
:o aiya, lazy to use another cup to pour mah.

much much lesser bubbles than that, but can feel the slipperiness and see tiny bubbles formed between tiles.

My scooba, i will use until battery flat then charge abt 1hr later, since battery is quite hot after use. I got a timer plug, so i set it to ON 1 hr later.

dankoo

:o aiya, lazy to use another cup to pour mah.

much much lesser bubbles than that, but can feel the slipperiness and see tiny bubbles formed between tiles.

My scooba, i will use until battery flat then charge abt 1hr later, since battery is quite hot after use. I got a timer plug, so i set it to ON 1 hr later.

Hmm...I tot Scooba also must be kept charged at all times?

Anyway, the one from Buy.com is not Scheduler? Sure looks exactly like mine...:s11:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.