iRobot Scooba experience

mariatan

if u have a smaller area to clean, u could:
1) fill in less water.
2) activate the drying mode when u deem the room clean enough, then, if by the end of the drying cycle, floor is still too wet, then, activate the drying mode again.I sometime dry twice before moving the scooby to another room.

mariatan

well, the manual only says that drying mode is for internal drying but i noticed air coming out from its backside n floor kinda dries up too, so use it to dry floor loh.BTW, for small parts, i am looking at local taiwanese web stores cos Vpost do not ship clorox, n if just for the caddie n brushes etc, local is not any more expensive if u add in the freight charge.eg,clorox is selling at NT1990 for 9 which is equivalent to SGD$10 each, n irobot selling at US$5 , plus frieght charge of say,$3, about same liao.

mariatan

some thoughts about using scooba

after 1 week of getting to know my scooba 380, here's some pointers i'd like to share:
1) the output versus input ie dirty/clean water ratio is roughly around 0.8. Of course, it varies according to the type of surface.Some vendors on the web would claim that clean water tank does not necessarily runs out after every complete cycle but i think they're wrong, at least, the tank should be almost empty, otherwise, something's blocked.Like wise, if the dirty tank is not substantially filled, then the suction duct is blocked too.Make sure u prime the solution valve properly after every use n shake the dirt tank really well so all the ducts are cleared for the next use.
2)it would be ideal to vacuum the floor first (prep it) before every scooba mission because the filter in scooba is of very small capacity n blocks up quite fast.Also, they're not efficient enough for dust pick up.As an allergic mum with an allergic kid, i've come to realise that without vacuuming first, the finer dust particle will stick to the wet floor during a roman mob n when the floor dries, the fine dirt stays; that is why if one mobs diligently without vacuuming, the floor tends to stay clean for a very short period of time only. I would prep my floor prior to letting the scooba free except for one area ,namely, the kitchen cos it is way too oily n wet for the good of a dry vacuum.
3)I suspect that the scooba would put down more water if i were to put in more clorox but that is theory only, cos i have only the two tiny bottles included in the box so don't dare to test too much ah.
4)scooba's sensor works on polarity ie by sensing the ion 'ratio' so distilled water would be a no no, best to use tap water.I also suspect that using warm water would bring a better efficiency but am yet to try out this theory cos it is winter over here n i do not want to damage my flooring with a temp difference.

iMbEst

Modifying power adapter from 110-120v to 220-240v....

hey guys, I know it's getting OT, since some of you guys are able to modify the power supply to support 220-240v input, can any of you help me on modifying this?

spa0147cb3.jpg

how can I make it become a 240v power supply? the PSU is on the right hand side, brown color PCB....

alanseah

this one is an old case when the 5xx series just came out and I believe still in beta version thus explain the problem shown in youtube.

For those of us who got it the issues had long resolve and it wont or should not find anything in your gearbox.

In fact if you got the chance to take the 5xx series apart you will find the beauty of the design. Where every part is indepent of itself unlike the4xx series which is connected together and messy to exchange any parts if fail.

mariatan

this one is an old case when the 5xx series just came out and I believe still in beta version thus explain the problem shown in youtube.

For those of us who got it the issues had long resolve and it wont or should not find anything in your gearbox.

In fact if you got the chance to take the 5xx series apart you will find the beauty of the design. Where every part is indepent of itself unlike the4xx series which is connected together and messy to exchange any parts if fail.

Does this means we don't have to shim our 500 series roomba liao? I'm still quite clueless as to the how about of shimming.

sAxman_Returns

hey guys, I'm wondering for Scooba, 1 single charge can last how many rounds.....my Scooba is running at its 3rd round (change of tank water) within a single charge by now...is it normal? I find that the water tank seems not "big" leh....but I thought it's standard for all? Is there any estimation for the area you can "mop" for single water tank? Is it the Scooba total capacity divided by 2?

mariatan

on a full charge, it sometimes run 2.5 tanks before going dead, but i've since taken the batteries off its charger after a 3hr's charge instead of putting it in the whole time cos the Nim bat seems to heat up easily,so the bat won't last for that long anymore, would usually last till 2 tanks only.Yes, cleaning capacity would be total divided by 2.But hor, i like to run first tank with the detergent, then another with plain water to 'clean up' the chemical.
btw, i just got my caddies n clorox from a local web store today, like the clorox because it takes the oil off quite efficiently n doesn't leave a sticky feeling after the job is done.

spitzcookie

Roomba

Hi

I'm new here. Would appreciate if you could advise where's the best place (cheap & reliable) to buy the Roomba 530 or 535? Irobot S'pore and Courts selling at $788! :s31: I've got the 1st generation Roomba but the battery went bonkers 4 years back and it's still lying in the closet. Couldn't bear to throw it away cos' cost me almost $600!

Thanks!

ralfale

I am looking at this lighthouse technology from the roomba.
It seems like Scooba does not comes with lighthouse technology? Can someone confirm this?

spitzcookie

20% discount coupon code for iRobot US

Have juz ordered a Roomba 570 and extra APS batt from iRobot US using a 20% discount coupon code: CES1708. Expiring 17/02/08. But no free shipping lor. Paid total of $444.27( inclu $19.95 shipping and $32.34 tax)

If use coupon code: loy10irbt, got 10% discount and comes with free shipping and handling. But I've calculated, the 20% coupon code is more worthwhile.

thewiseone

Lighthouse tech uses radio wave and its only for the latest generation of Roomba. Will not work with older Roombas and Scoobas. However, think i recalled seeing someone saying that it does work to a certain extent if its setup as a virtual wall instead.

I am looking at this lighthouse technology from the roomba.
It seems like Scooba does not comes with lighthouse technology? Can someone confirm this?

dankoo

Have juz ordered a Roomba 570 and extra APS batt from iRobot US using a 20% discount coupon code: CES1708. Expiring 17/02/08. But no free shipping lor. Paid total of $444.27( inclu $19.95 shipping and $32.34 tax)

If use coupon code: loy10irbt, got 10% discount and comes with free shipping and handling. But I've calculated, the 20% coupon code is more worthwhile.

Why dont try the li-ion batt from Roombaxchange?

ralfale

Lighthouse tech uses radio wave and its only for the latest generation of Roomba. Will not work with older Roombas and Scoobas. However, think i recalled seeing someone saying that it does work to a certain extent if its setup as a virtual wall instead.

The ideal situation is i just leave it running before i went to work, and when im home my house will be cleaned.

Thinking of scooba or roomba. But after seeing the lighthouse technology, seems like it suits my requirement better. Imagine no lighthouse tech, scooba will be running like crazy around my 3 rooms + big main hall. It will be so god damn inefficient! It will then take years to complete cleaning haha.

Strange, they dont incorporate lighthouse function into scooba?

ktee

goldlightup3.gif
Hey guys, there is a Woot Off now!
goldlightup3.gif
:s12: Please stay tune for a CHEAP roomba or Scooba! Hope to get a super deal on scooba! :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.