iRobot Scooba experience

koiphone

Dont go overboard with the claims, else it'll be really obvious. Why all the hassle of claiming for a side brush or parts? Just claim for the entire unit, minus battery. Battery can get it on your own. Getting the complete unit is more worth than just the battery.
The above is for the older series. For the newer ones, i'm not sure.

Oh, ok. Thanks for the information.

dankoo

Wanted to check our local "disty" before ordering the Scooba tyres...guess what? they will chop you $50++ for something that is retail for USD14.90....want to give them some business also cannot lah...

winwin72sg

HELP

Dear All,

I just got my roomba 530 from a friend who just came back from US.

Without reading the manuel i plug in the AC adaptor into the power socket and switch on and there is a big bang sound and also trip my circuit breaker.

NEED ALL YOUR EXPERT ADVISE???

Is there a shop in Sim Lim that sell the 230V AC Adaptor which can be use for my roomba 530??

How much will it cost??

Is there a shop in Sim Lim that can repair my 110V ac adaptor? How much will it cost?

Buy a step-down transformer if i can get my 110V ac adaptor repaired.

Which is better option that will not have problem down the road????

Thanks

sAxman_Returns

only the capacitor blown lar, just take it down to shunbian mod it to 240v one lor...should be fine. Or you unscrew the power adapter and see what are the parts actually went chaotar liaoz lol!

thewiseone, I can't deny that overall Scooba cleans slightly better compared to my Roman Mop. But if you haven't tried the Roman Mop b4, you will never know how powerful it is, even with recycle water. I decided to put my hope on the next generation Scooba because like tthsrml, I'm a lazy person, I can't afford to spend more time to mop the floor just to gain that 2% additional cleaniness. I can't afford to keep on monitoring or counting the next time I need to change water....it's just too troublesome.

Fortunately, Roomba really solved my problem. I just schedule it and bingo! back home with a fresh clean floor!

anyway, those who thought Roman mop is just a normal sponge base mop, you're WRONG. It's one of the most expensive sponge base mop yet the best I have used so far.....

thewiseone

Dankoo, i think the price is about there. If i'm not wrong, the 6 pk tires are US$14.99. Local shipping min is around US$9.95 within US. Assuming u use Vpost, another min base charge of S$13+ so all in together around S$50. Dont think u can get it any cheaper...

Wanted to check our local "disty" before ordering the Scooba tyres...guess what? they will chop you $50++ for something that is retail for USD14.90....want to give them some business also cannot lah...

thewiseone

Yeah i wish the next gen Scooba will be more automated and less hassle but its more like a design limitation. Unless Scooba can empty and refill on its own, the water change necessity will always be there. I suppose a bigger tank can be used but end result will be an overly large and heavy robot. Unless this water change hassle is resolved, having autodock and recharge will also be useless. Sigh....

only the capacitor blown lar, just take it down to shunbian mod it to 240v one lor...should be fine. Or you unscrew the power adapter and see what are the parts actually went chaotar liaoz lol!

thewiseone, I can't deny that overall Scooba cleans slightly better compared to my Roman Mop. But if you haven't tried the Roman Mop b4, you will never know how powerful it is, even with recycle water. I decided to put my hope on the next generation Scooba because like tthsrml, I'm a lazy person, I can't afford to spend more time to mop the floor just to gain that 2% additional cleaniness. I can't afford to keep on monitoring or counting the next time I need to change water....it's just too troublesome.

Fortunately, Roomba really solved my problem. I just schedule it and bingo! back home with a fresh clean floor!

anyway, those who thought Roman mop is just a normal sponge base mop, you're WRONG. It's one of the most expensive sponge base mop yet the best I have used so far.....

sAxman_Returns

well, just like washing machine way, the dock can exchange water by itself :D

but I dun think the next generation Scooba is able to achieve that.....

the tyre also quite funny, if you leave it lie there for long hour, the thin tyre become kemek.... :s22:

thewiseone

Dont suggest leaving a Scooba sitting on its tyres, else will end up having to buy lots of spare tyres! The foam tyres really are not lasting, especially if u have tires with gaps or grout lines.... i'll be running out of spare foam tyres soon. :s22:

but I dun think the next generation Scooba is able to achieve that.....

the tyre also quite funny, if you leave it lie there for long hour, the thin tyre become kemek.... :s22:

sAxman_Returns

knn.....my SUPER 80W transformers just burnt by itself and tripped the whole house circuit........

think I have to boycott this brand forever, 3rd one I burnt so far.....or shall I just mod the PSU?

arghh......Roomba not in action for the next 2-3 days!!!!

thewiseone

Sorry to hear of your bad experience with the transformer. 3 times is really freaky. Have u checked to make sure

1) The wall outlet that u connected the transformer to is ok?
2) Sufficient ventilation
3) U r not overloading the transformer

Perhaps get a different brand for the 4th one. Try Newstar 80W. If u luck out again, then its not the transformer.

No Roomba for 2-3 days???... *FAINT* :eek:

knn.....my SUPER 80W transformers just burnt by itself and tripped the whole house circuit........

think I have to boycott this brand forever, 3rd one I burnt so far.....or shall I just mod the PSU?

sAxman_Returns

no lar, the first 2 times was on the spot see sparks that type. I thought this one would be better coz didn't gave me sparks during the trial at the shop lol.

I only got 1 Roomba, can't be overloading. Getting a brand new transformers = modding.....so I'm thinking of getting it modded. So exactly which shops is the right one to go?

ktee

:s22:

Well, if a washing machine could move around your house! :D

My 380 is serving me well. Yes, u need to chg water. The reason is the battery is powerful and the tank is not big to handle the battery juice. Wat you need to do is let the scooba roams around, and you go do your own thing. When the water needs chg (ie clean water is empty), it beeps and you chg if you think the floor is not clean enough. Else, end of task. Perhaps 380 is superior to other 3xx or 5xxx. =:p, guess i made the right hoot.

jc777

yes, modding is good, i recommend it also.

sAxman_Returns

My 380 is serving me well. Yes, u need to chg water. The reason is the battery is powerful and the tank is not big to handle the battery juice. Wat you need to do is let the scooba roams around, and you go do your own thing. When the water needs chg (ie clean water is empty), it beeps and you chg if you think the floor is not clean enough. Else, end of task. Perhaps 380 is superior to other 3xx or 5xxx. =:p, guess i made the right hoot.

dude, i dun have the luxury for both the time and noise, yes, Scooba is d@mn noisy..... Roomba can do its job without me staying at home, so that would maximize my time. Scooba dun, unfortunately.....

you dun need a washing machine to move around lar. Just need a water base kind of thing, connect to the water pipe and have an water outlet to drain away the dirty water, exactly like washing machine design what? maybe an opening to store all the detergent inside. if Scooba can do this and charge itself + exchange water with the water base, it will be great!

sAxman_Returns

bought myself a direct plug in transformers from NEWSTAR. Was still thinking if I shall get SUPER again but the 3 very bad experienced made me pulled the handbrake. The girl who was selling the transformers told mem SUPER actually is slightly better......:s22:

anyway, this burnt cost me $18.50 to replace a new one....

something funny happened just now, I purposely took the Roomba away from the homebase, I guess the schedule still triggered and it couldn't find it's home base and stopped.....not sure if I hit the empty battery mode :( I thought once the Roomba is not connected to the home base, it would bypass the schedule?

btw, chaotah SUPER80W transformers....dun think I can recover anything :(
spa0057xb1.jpg

ktee

dude, i dun have the luxury for both the time and noise, yes, Scooba is d@mn noisy..... Roomba can do its job without me staying at home, so that would maximize my time. Scooba dun, unfortunately.....

you dun need a washing machine to move around lar. Just need a water base kind of thing, connect to the water pipe and have an water outlet to drain away the dirty water, exactly like washing machine design what? maybe an opening to store all the detergent inside. if Scooba can do this and charge itself + exchange water with the water base, it will be great!

Alternatively, you can prepare the Scooba at night. Before you go out the next day, switch it on and let it makes 1 run. It shld cover your living room and more...

If the Scooba is fitted with extra water tankS (for both clean and dirty water), it wld be too heavy. The scooba wld be at least twice its size to accomplish the task. Well, hope that the ppl at iRobot wld be able to improvish and give us the near to perfect Scooba. :D

thewiseone

5800, 5900, 350 and 380s are all basically similar in working. Just that some have longer running batteries and the 380 is quicker. Its basically quicker ONLY when doing the criss cross. Yes, u can leave the machine to run the entire area without segmenting. Problem is: There will be uneven coverage. Segmenting it into areas will provide more consistent cleaning.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.