iRobot Scooba experience

thewiseone

Saxman, this burnt out experience for the 3 transformers, did it happen while the same Roomba power supply is connected to it? Just wondering...

bought myself a direct plug in transformers from NEWSTAR. Was still thinking if I shall get SUPER again but the 3 very bad experienced made me pulled the handbrake. The girl who was selling the transformers told mem SUPER actually is slightly better......:s22:

anyway, this burnt cost me $18.50 to replace a new one....

something funny happened just now, I purposely took the Roomba away from the homebase, I guess the schedule still triggered and it couldn't find it's home base and stopped.....not sure if I hit the empty battery mode :( I thought once the Roomba is not connected to the home base, it would bypass the schedule?

btw, chaotah SUPER80W transformers....dun think I can recover anything :(
spa0057xb1.jpg

mosmos

5800, 5900, 350 and 380s are all basically similar in working. Just that some have longer running batteries and the 380 is quicker. Its basically quicker ONLY when doing the criss cross. Yes, u can leave the machine to run the entire area without segmenting. Problem is: There will be uneven coverage. Segmenting it into areas will provide more consistent cleaning.

:o you can just get 2 scooba, divide hse into 2 parts by virtual wall and set 2 scooba to go in the morning.

Come back home at the evening all mopping done, except balcony + kitchen. :s7:

Before you go for bath, set scooba to clean balacony, another scooba in kitchen. Then whole hse all done.

ktee

:o you can just get 2 scooba, divide hse into 2 parts by virtual wall and set 2 scooba to go in the morning.

Come back home at the evening all mopping done, except balcony + kitchen. :s7:

Before you go for bath, set scooba to clean balacony, another scooba in kitchen. Then whole hse all done.

Yup, it all boils down to planning and gettin 2 scoobas. - as a standby too.

That's why we are all waiting to get anothe cheap scooba fr woot... Damn, being many days since scooba appears there.

As for the noise issue, i think roomba makes similar noise too. Any data fr iRobot?

mosmos

That's why we are all waiting to get anothe cheap scooba fr woot... Damn, being many days since scooba appears there.

As for the noise issue, i think roomba makes similar noise too. Any data fr iRobot?

scooba was selling during wootoff end of last mth and roomba discovery was selling in sellout.woot.com this mth, I guess chances of having a scooba/roomba appear today will be very small.

Guess have to wait again end of next mth liao. :(

sAxman_Returns

Saxman, this burnt out experience for the 3 transformers, did it happen while the same Roomba power supply is connected to it? Just wondering...

first one was, in the shop OK, bring home not responding, so they told me burnt, but no burnt smell. I demanded for a refund but they want to exchange one for me, so I asked him to turn it on, *bomb* on the spot can see sparks, first one no sparks...that's for the Scooba...

then the 3rd one is Roomba, after 3 days of 24/7 operation, 1 fine evening it just *bomb* and tripped the whole house circuit......so I decided to open it up and saw the burnt mark lor.:s22:

thewiseone

Have been waiting and waiting until i'm tired... sometimes timing just simply sucks :(

scooba was selling during wootoff end of last mth and roomba discovery was selling in sellout.woot.com this mth, I guess chances of having a scooba/roomba appear today will be very small.

Guess have to wait again end of next mth liao. :(

thewiseone

Yeah, its always prudent to have an extra Roomba/Scooba! :)

As for noise issue, they are different kind of noise. Roomba is more mechanical sounding and in general, i find Scooba to be louder though not necessarily more disturbing. The newer Roombas are supposedly quieter. Even my 4260 is already much quieter than my Red.

thewiseone

ic, well guess u just have to keep yr fingers crossed on the 4th one! :)

first one was, in the shop OK, bring home not responding, so they told me burnt, but no burnt smell. I demanded for a refund but they want to exchange one for me, so I asked him to turn it on, *bomb* on the spot can see sparks, first one no sparks...that's for the Scooba...

then the 3rd one is Roomba, after 3 days of 24/7 operation, 1 fine evening it just *bomb* and tripped the whole house circuit......so I decided to open it up and saw the burnt mark lor.:s22:

koiphone

:s22: he mention it's 80w mah.

better buy 100w and above one.
Oh, wah all try 80w. So it seems 80w still not enough. I think to be on the super safe side, i will go n buy the 230w newstar as it has built in fuse protection.

sAxman_Returns

Alternatively, you can prepare the Scooba at night. Before you go out the next day, switch it on and let it makes 1 run. It shld cover your living room and more...

If the Scooba is fitted with extra water tankS (for both clean and dirty water), it wld be too heavy. The scooba wld be at least twice its size to accomplish the task. Well, hope that the ppl at iRobot wld be able to improvish and give us the near to perfect Scooba. :D

got a few problem lar, the water you prepare, if left overnight, may have germs grown inside and make it smelly.....

There is no need to fit with extra tanks, what they need is to make it more efficient with the same amount of water. Or eventually produce a water base station for water refill, water exchange and battery recharge. There should be auto cleaning too as it's a water base machine, unlike Roomba.

Roomba 550 and above is very quiet. I was using Scooba 335 and it's really very noisy.....

mosmos

why would it be a problem when it only draws 34-36W max during recharge? FYI, when it's blown, it's running at 4-6W during idling.....

:s22: not very sure, but it seems like those past users using 80w one have this burnt problem.

maybe super brand max load was less than 50% advertised? :s11:

jc777

why would it be a problem when it only draws 34-36W max during recharge? FYI, when it's blown, it's running at 4-6W during idling.....
it could be due to heating issues. electronic components are very sensitive towards heat. if the ventilation is insufficient, it could heat up the transformer considerably.

XxDrAg0nxX

got a few problem lar, the water you prepare, if left overnight, may have germs grown inside and make it smelly.....

There is no need to fit with extra tanks, what they need is to make it more efficient with the same amount of water. Or eventually produce a water base station for water refill, water exchange and battery recharge. There should be auto cleaning too as it's a water base machine, unlike Roomba.

Roomba 550 and above is very quiet. I was using Scooba 335 and it's really very noisy.....

Secarley next one got onboard water treatment system where they filter and treat the black water and reuse it again :eek:

koiphone

Secarley next one got onboard water treatment system where they filter and treat the black water and reuse it again :eek:
Possible. However from business point of view, they will release new generations slowly, so they can suck consumer money.

Another thing i went to courts tampines, saw the 560 there. They were seems to be manufactured in 2006. Also saw the scooba ( i think is 5900 series). 1.3k, almost faint looking at the price.

mosmos

:s22: might as well ask hyflux to design one to make water from air, then no need to refill water ever again.

wism_chan

Appreciate if any kind soul would enlighten me on the following:

1. Is there any shop in singapore that selling irobot roomba or scooba?
2. How is the pricing compare to buy direct from US?
3. Steps to buy from US....

Thanks in advanced..

cheers,
wism

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.