iRobot Scooba experience

dankoo

i've opened up the PSU and nothing looks broken or burnt. i suppose getting new PSU or the charging base is something to try but will try to avoid this cost if possible.

somehow i have a hunch its not a PSU problem.. i've read scooba's battery has a bad history in oversea forum...

anyway the best is if someone experienced similiar symptom? i dun suppose any scooba owner here can offer some personal time and i bring my scooba over to test with your charger? ;)

I was wondering sis you charge it for 16hrs first time?

vroomba

Does this transformer work?

Hi XxDrAg0nxX ... Does this transformer work for you? Was just about to buy this exact same one that you have in the picture until the store salesperson told me it won't work for roombas.

Really hope it works as i had tripped my entire house with a crappy 80W converter. Many thanks.

YAY finally bought the transformer!

Super heavy mans... tot u all say weigh like a brick... i think a brick is lighter lor :D

100W only powerpac brand, got 2 holes, got an extra hole in case i buy scooba? :D

255ky00.jpg

13zpheg.jpg

XxDrAg0nxX

Hi XxDrAg0nxX ... Does this transformer work for you? Was just about to buy this exact same one that you have in the picture until the store salesperson told me it won't work for roombas.

Really hope it works as i had tripped my entire house with a crappy 80W converter. Many thanks.

Dun scare me leh...

Its been working for the past 1 week with no problems leh, havent turned it off yet.... :D

BTW i bought 100w not 80w... so maybe thats what he ment?

vroomba

Don't worry, the one i bought is a cheapo looking one (called newstar i think), not a heavy brick like the one in the picture. I think it's also a converter not a transformer ... there was an earlier post about what the diff is.

XxDrAg0nxX

Don't worry, the one i bought is a cheapo looking one (called newstar i think), not a heavy brick like the one in the picture. I think it's also a converter not a transformer ... there was an earlier post about what the diff is.

It was because of the earlier post that i bought the transformer instead of the converter... :D

vroomba

560?

Forgot to ask ... which model do you have? Mine's the 560 ... if not the same hopefully it uses the same power.

thewiseone

This is a step down/ step up TRANSFORMER. I dont know whats the wattage rating but as long as its above 100W, this SHOULD WORK for Roomba.

vroomba

Awesome thanks. Am so excited ... my roomba has been sitting around doing nothing for 3 weeks ... will go get one now!

This is a step down/ step up TRANSFORMER. I dont know whats the wattage rating but as long as its above 100W, this SHOULD WORK for Roomba.

thewiseone

A word of caution when using this transformer, see the voltage output, dont connect the Roomba power supply to the wrong one!!! :s22:

Awesome thanks. Am so excited ... my roomba has been sitting around doing nothing for 3 weeks ... will go get one now!

mosmos

thewiseone

I suspect its more than that, those with a 4260 will notice its a lot more quiet than the other Discovery series. Dont know why, also my 4260 is slightly quicker than my red, despite having a heavier intellibin. :s22:

this one is discovery, no scheduler function. :o

hansolo76sg

juz an update.

i opened up the PSU agn and noticed the replaced capacitor is touching the part which i think generates heat. i pushed it apart and my scooba is happily feeding now. i've attached photos of the PSU and the case with the support that caused this

2456720612_5f901b2ca8.jpg

2455891491_a4e2fb36a0.jpg

2456720734_2981137389.jpg

now i juz gota figure out how to get rid of the plastic support.

thewiseone

PLUS NO POSSIBILITY of UPGRADING for scheduling. Not a wise choice IMO unless u are certain u dont need the rest of the functionality.

this one no docking station, no remote control, no scheduler function.

discovery still has docking station + remote control. :o

XxDrAg0nxX

I suspect its more than that, those with a 4260 will notice its a lot more quiet than the other Discovery series. Dont know why, also my 4260 is slightly quicker than my red, despite having a heavier intellibin. :s22:

Wah like that call more quiet ah? :eek:

I find it very noisy leh :D

When if finally stops suddenly like so peaceful :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.